We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Make sure you tour the wine caves.”

Kunde Family Winery
Ranked #1 of 5 Tours in Kenwood
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: We welcome you to visit our majestic fifth-generation, sustainably farmed estate in the heart of Sonoma County’s famed Valley of the Moon. Taste through our diverse portfolio of 100% estate produced wines surrounded by over a century of winemaking history, dramatic amphitheater of vineyards, relaxing shaded groves of Valley Oaks, and a serene reflection pool.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
103 reviews
52 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Make sure you tour the wine caves.”
Reviewed April 25, 2012

Kunde family estate is a beautiful vineyard with a lively tasting room. The staff were very friendly and knowledgeable about the winery. I highly recommend the tour of the cave, it really isn't that long of a tour, plus it's really neat to see all the barrels of wine they store inside. The tour is insightful and gives a little background history on the Kunde family as well.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank thumbelina89316
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

406 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    293
    74
    21
    10
    8
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
boston, ma
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautifull grounds, great staff, cave tour”
Reviewed April 25, 2012

I really enjoyed the free 20min cave tour of this winery, they also explain all their eco friendly and sustainable efforts. The wine is tasty too :)

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank witchydog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
66 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Great wine - fascinating tour”
Reviewed April 21, 2012

If you don't know much about the wine-making process, this is one way to find out. Their wine tasting includes a tour of their wine caves. It was really interesting to hear about the way the wine is stored and what a difference it makes - and the caves are impressively big, with a huge quantity of wine in! The servers at the tasting bar are really informative and tell you about the different wines. We didn't know much about wine tasting, so it was great to be able to ask lots of questions and find out how it should be done. A really lovely experience - and the only place we bought a bottle (the Zinfandel - yum!).

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank Gemsybob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kunde4thGen, Owner at Kunde Family Winery, responded to this review, April 23, 2012
Dear Gemsybob - Thank you so much for the excellent review. I do hope your travels bring you back our way again from London. And when they do, I would love to offer you a complimentary Mountain Top tasting for 2. It's an incredible way to see the beautiful Sonoma Valley while tasting our estate grown wines.

Best Regards,
Marcia Kunde Mickelson
4th Generation Winegrower
Kunde Family Estate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenwood, California
Level Contributor
211 reviews
67 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Mountain top tasting is a must!”
Reviewed April 12, 2012

The wines are divine, the mountain top tasting overlooking the vineyards is fabulous. The tastings are at 10:30, 12:30 and 2:30

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank Kris132
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
122 reviews
55 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Beautiful winery”
Reviewed April 9, 2012

Arrived too late for caves tour or top of the mountain wine tasting, but enjoyed the friendly staff and good wines nonetheless.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank svtex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kunde Family Winery also viewed

Kenwood, Sonoma County
Kenwood, Sonoma County
 
Glen Ellen, Sonoma County
 

Been to Kunde Family Winery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing