We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best meal we've had in many months”

Salt and Stone Restaurant
Ranked #3 of 9 Restaurants in Kenwood
Certificate of Excellence
Restaurant details
Reviewed April 29, 2018

This place is a hour away from where we live, but it has been several years since we were here, so we came back. What a joy! Last time we sat on the patio, but this time was chilly so we got a table in the back room. Sort of dark but who cares. The service was superb. I had Cioppino and my wife had Crab Melt with fries. Food was excellent and the servers were very attentive. We eat out a lot and this was an extremely enjoyable experience. We couldn't stop talking about it.

Date of visit: April 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Johnamcc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (130)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

90 - 94 of 130 reviews

Reviewed April 26, 2018 via mobile

Always looking for a new adventure we decided to give S and S a try for lunch.
Nice welcome as we entered and our reservation was ready but the table area in the rear was quite glumly for a nice sunny day. Most guests didn’t seem to mind.
Lots of items to choose from including a lunch special; three small pork tostadas on our visit.
We had the special and salmon. Good portions and presentation but nothing compelling to order again. When you make a destination drive you hope for an outstanding meal at the end of the trail.
Next time, we will stop for happy hour and drinks out in the patio area.

Date of visit: April 2018
Thank BoulderNut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2018

On way to Tomatomania event, we stopped in for an early lunch "on the beaten path" of Hwy 12, but away from the "maddening crowds". We were warmly greeted by all staff from person preparing fresh flowers for tables, bar keep, hostess & server. The menu was varied & reasonably priced. We shared cioppino and dungeness crab melt = both delicious. We will return, but if the inappropriate bar music is blaring again, we'll speak up.

Date of visit: April 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank V K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2018 via mobile

Recommended by Kenwood Spa and Inn this fabulous local restaurant was hopping!

Knowledgeable server Eli helped direct our food and wine choices

Warm French onion soup and pasta dish for me - highly rated and hubby really enjoyed his ‘fish soup with lots to eat ‘

Thanks and good luck. You will need an even larger parking lot during the summer

Make reservations to ensure a spot for dinner

Date of visit: April 2018
Thank ElaineTO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2018

Vibrant place with huge windows and outdoor space overlooking the stunning Kunde Vineyard. Cheap happy hour drinks and snacks with a great crowd on a Tuesday. Friendly bartenders, calamari was crisp and fresh, mussels were delicious. We walked over after tasting at Kunde, got a Lyft back to Sonoma Plaza with no problem.

Date of visit: April 2018
Thank GetOutTheMap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Salt and Stone Restaurant also viewed

Kenwood, Sonoma County
 
Kenwood, Sonoma County
 
Glen Ellen, Sonoma County
Glen Ellen, Sonoma County
 

Been to Salt and Stone Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing