We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Excelent, the best in The Sonoma Valley” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kenwood Inn and Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Kenwood Inn and Spa
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kenwood
Certificate of Excellence
Cozumel, Mexico
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Excelent, the best in The Sonoma Valley”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2012

We really enjeyed this hotel last February, this week we traveled and stayed in different hotels in Napa and Sonoma Valley. We enjoyed our stay in all of them, but in the overall, Kenwood Inn was the nicest of all. Room were very nice, elegant, comfortable. Very nice grounds, pools, jacuzzis. Breakfast was very nice, and we heard very good comments about the dining experience there. We will stay again for sure.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GustavoOrtegaJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

610 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    478
    67
    35
    19
    11
See reviews for
25
477
7
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (156)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
MN
Level Contributor
89 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2012

The moment you lay your eyes upon this beautiful Mediterranean-style inn, you’ll know that you've made the right choice. Upon entering you’re graciously greeted, offered a chilled beverage and smoothly checked in. Winding your way through the grounds you easily get lost in the beauty… cobblestone paths, persimmons trellised and hanging from their vines, trickling fountains, an abundance of foliage, iron adornments…all so picturesque! The intimate atmosphere makes you feel as though you're staying at a friend's home in Tuscany.

Our room, number five, was located in the pool courtyard; we found this area to be the most beautiful. It’s the largest of the three courtyards, and all rooms overlook the Roman-style pool. Our junior suite offered 3 separate rooms; a sitting room with two comfy, over-sized chairs, a desk, credenza, and beautiful fireplace; the bathing room offered a large and exceptionally deep jetted tub, an antique dresser fashioned into a vanity, a very large separate shower, a closet, and a door leading to a private patio with two loungers and a sun umbrella; the bedroom was nicely appointed with 2 chairs, a large 4-drawer antique dresser with a mirror, and a very comfortable king bed.

Service was exceptional; Brittany and Elisa at the front desk were so kind, knowledgeable and helpful. The bar, dining, and housekeeping staff were excellent as well. The breakfast, which is included, was so good. They offer 4 prepared-to-order gourmet choices, or you can simply step into the dining room, pour yourself a cup of coffee and pick up a pastry. We were very, very pleased with the appetizers, wines, dinners and desserts! Cibo delizioso!

Although this was a “wine country” vacation for us, we truly couldn’t wait to get back to the sumptuous Kenwood Inn each day for romance and relaxation!

Room Tip: I don't think that you could go wrong with any of the rooms, however, if privacy is a priority...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChelleAnn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
50 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2012

I loved this cozy spot. My husband and I spent three nights here, enjoying the Napa and Sonoma area. I loved the intimate feel of the hotel, the roaring fire places at breakfast, the over the top room with a canopy bed, candles, chocolates...the entire atmosphere is warm and inviting. It was a perfect spot to unwind, the pool is calm, and the grounds breathtaking. We drove to Solage for dinner one evening, and it has a very different feel...Kenwood is elegant, the staff is warm, and you feel like you are in a private chateau...can't get much better than this. The staff's presence is minimal however, so if you like to be overly pampered, this is not the place (we carried our own luggage up to our room, as we checked in late in the evening). Note: there is not much to do in Sonoma - the plaza is totally underwhelming, focus your activities in other parts of the area. My husband would have preferred a more modern accommodation, with a nice gym.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LadyBren85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Kansas
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2012

The Kenwood provided all of the luxury and relaxation we could have imagined with the feeling of staying in a small private Italian village. The food was amazing at night and the hot breakfast included was sensational. The staff was phenomenal and exceeded our expectations in service, especially Michael who met every request. The attention to detail was over the top! We can't wait to return someday!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank J R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2012

My husband and I just stayed at the Kenwood Inn for our honeymoon, and it was the highlight of our trip. The service was top-notch as was the room we stayed in. The spa was also outstanding The concierge booked restaurant reservations and tastings for us and made us feel totally welcome to call him at any time for other bookings. I really cannot say enough about our experience at Kenwood Inn. We'll be back for an anniversary!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kelly G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

My wife and I stayed four days at the Kenwood and enjoyed every second. We did visit most of the local wineries but could'nt wait to get back to the Kenwood to relax and enjoy the beautiful spanish style Inn. It felt like we were in a small town in spain. The restaurant serves an amazing breakfast in the main curtyard that's surrounded by foliage. The chef waited in the morning for a delivery of fresh farm eggs from the local farm. At night you can also visit the bar but it seems more like a quaint wine room. I could gurantee this is a beatiful place. I always travel with my HOTEL INSPECTOR UV STAIN FINDER to check the cleansiness of the hotels. If you travel often, you should get one these. Check it out at hotelinspector.biz

Room Tip: second level units have a nice view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gilda b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Level Contributor
83 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2012

Kenwood is a beautiful property, but needs some upkeep and is tired. The grounds have a rustic look and feel, and really are beautiful, but it looks like they haven't done anything to the rooms for at LEAST 5 years. We had one of the nicer suites, and there were wires sticking out of the bookcase that looked like they had been used for a thermostat, there was blood splattered on two walls (looked like someone had squished flies or mosquitos), and the area above the fireplace was pushed in and cracked. All simple fixes, but ignored. Probably the worst things was the bed - it was like sleeping in a teacup! Mattresses DO wear out!

I must give accolades for the concierge, Erik, who was simply fantastic. The property better make the needed fixes or they will lose him!

Room Tip: The walls are thin - be careful on where they put you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dukester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMKIS, General Manager at Kenwood Inn and Spa, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Dear Valued Guest, Dukester:

Thank you for your review of Kenwood Inn and Spa. We appreciate feedback from all of our guests.

I am so happy to hear that our concierge exceeded your expectations. We strive to make everyone’s experience at Kenwood Inn and Spa exceptional. However, I am sorry to hear that you were disappointed with your suite. I have addressed your concerns with our team but would very much appreciate the opportunity to speak with you further. At your convenience, please feel free to contact me directly at 707-833-1293 or hpacchetti@kenwoodinn.com.

Sincerely,
Heike Pacchetti
General Manager
Kenwood Inn and Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kenwood
9.4 mi away
MacArthur Place - Sonoma's Historic Inn & Spa
2.6 mi away
Olea Hotel
Olea Hotel
#1 of 2 in Glen Ellen
5.0 of 5 bubbles 433 reviews
13.5 mi away
Vintners Inn
Vintners Inn
#1 of 25 in Santa Rosa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 546 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.9 mi away
Hotel Yountville
Hotel Yountville
#2 of 6 in Yountville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 961 reviews
19.6 mi away
Farmhouse Inn & Restaurant
Farmhouse Inn & Restaurant
#1 of 2 in Forestville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 663 reviews
23.6 mi away
Honor Mansion, A Wine Country Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kenwood Inn and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kenwood Inn and Spa

Property: Kenwood Inn and Spa
Address: 10400 Sonoma Hwy, Kenwood, CA 95452-8015
Location: United States > California > Sonoma County > Kenwood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kenwood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Kenwood Inn and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of Sonoma County, the Kenwood Inn and Spa is the premier destination for visitors seeking gracious treatment, lush surroundings, and luxurious accommodations. Designed with hand-crafted artistry, the Inn has the allure of a Mediterranean villa enticing guests along walkways that meander from courtyard to terrace, from patio to spa to create the ultimate escape.A small, peaceful hideaway, the Inn offers 29 dreamy rooms and suites, each appointed with fireplaces, featherbeds, Italian linens for bed and bath, complimentary breakfast each morning, luxurious robes for lounging and twice daily housekeeping service.The intimate hideaway offers a dining room and wine bar exclusively for guests of the Inn, spa featuring results-oriented products and vinotherapy treatments, one outdoor heated pool and two hot tubs, and sunning terraces. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Odigeo, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and Jetsetter so you can book your Kenwood Inn and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kenwood Hotel Kenwood
Kenwood Inn Spa
Kenwood Inn And Spa Sonoma County

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing