We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“unspoiled park on the lake”

Clear Lake State Park
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Located on the shores of California's largest freshwater lake, this park features a variety of water recreation including swimming, boating and water-skiing.
Nice, California
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“unspoiled park on the lake”
Reviewed April 5, 2012

If you love painting or a lovely walk or picnic in a charming old fashioned ,unspoiled setting this is your place, bring a kayak and really give yourself a treat

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
Thank Barbara L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    14
    7
    2
    7
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mendocino, California
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Marsh land park”
Reviewed March 17, 2012

I enjoyed the park, but the mosquitoes were horrendous. It's a marshy area near the lake, and the mosquitoes were merciless. Take spray!

Helpful?
Thank Mondra R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cobb, California, United States
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A BEAUTIFUL AND HISTORIC PLACE TO VISIT”
Reviewed March 7, 2012

I went camping here for my 30th birthday and we had a wonderful time. The campsites and restrooms were clean and spacious. The wildlife was abundant, but no bears or mountain lions.
The nature trails were absolutly facinating and the views were spectacular. You could even walk right through ancient Indian villages where their homes and sweat houses used to be. Even the mortars where they used to grind their acorns were still present.
The lake was still clear but I know it gets really green mid summer to late fall do to its ecosystem. A lot of people dont realize how old clearlake really is, scientists estimate it to be over 1.3 million years!! It sits on a large stone bottom which causes the sediment to build up.
I know the algea is unpleasent in certain spots but it is completly harmless and absolutly safe to swim in.
Park staff was very friendly and informative about the history and area. I think the rangers were doing great job about keeping noise levels down with a respectful and proffessional attitude. The last thing we wanted to hear was loud parties and drunk people at night.
I would definitly recommend camping here for families with children as well as nature lovers. There is a general store with kayaks and canoes for rent, as well as newly built cabins.
If you were to book your sites, do so in early spring or early summer. I will definitly be comming back this year and many after!!!

Visited April 2011
Helpful?
2 Thank Dana P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
k-ville,CA
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Beautiful Sunrise”
Reviewed February 12, 2012

I guess I should have given this park a better rating than average. I prefer ocean camping so that was the reason for this rating. Have family members who love camping here. Good fishing in creek, boat launch and swimming beach. Love the beach to watch the sunrise. Great nature center and guided walks.

Helpful?
1 Thank ktmaui
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sonora, California
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Need to spend time here!”
Reviewed January 21, 2012

We did a quick drive through on our exploration of Clear Lake. Wooden bridge spans over creek (river?) flowing into the lake. Would like to go back and rent a boat and spend time on the lake.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank Honeystravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Clear Lake State Park also viewed

Clearlake, Lake County
Pine Grove, Lake County
 

Been to Clear Lake State Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing