We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Everything was fine”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Heidelberg Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Heidelberg Inn
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in June Lake
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
home
Level Contributor
170 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
“Everything was fine”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2008

My wife and I stayed here for a week using a timeshare swap. The Heidelberg was very good. June Lake is very small so if you are looking for services, restuarants, etc. this is not the place for you.

The Heidelberg provided large clean rooms, friendly service and a great historic atmosphere. The were activities almost every night. It's located 27 miles from the East entrance to Yosemite. Highly recommended.

  • Liked — Historic Atmosphere
  • Disliked — Please wash the windows in the rooms.
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tampabobl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
karen_okeefe, Resort General Manager at Heidelberg Inn, responded to this review, January 28, 2009
Glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Yes, the town's amenities are limited, especially during certain times of the year, however, Mammoth Lakes is only a 20 minute drive away, where you'll find more services. We appreciate your recommendation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    47
    37
    7
    7
    3
See reviews for
43
36
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Hermosa Beach, CA
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2008

We stayed 3 nights at the Heidelberg Inn. I expected an average hotel/inn. Jeez, was I pleasantly surprised! The staff was extremely helpful and friendly. We arrived at 6pm on a Thursday night and were invited to an ice cream social/movie in the lobby. So fun. Everyone was really nice. We didn't feel any pressure to attend, but wanted to. Our unit had a bedroom, bathroom, living area and half kitchenette (which was just like a full kitchen, but for an oven). The tub/shower had a jacuzzi in it. The bed was uber comfortable and there wasn't any noise at night...or during the day - we took naps. Most importantly, this place was immaculate; can't believe how clean it was. Really. The location is great, too. We fished, hiked, visited Mono and Bodie Ghost Town. For those of you who like a little taste of the locals, the Tiger Bar is stumbling distance from the Inn. There is no downside to this place. I can't imagine staying anywhere else in June Lake. Kudos to the Heidelberg Inn for maintaining a beautiful property and a high level of customer service!

  • Liked — Cleanliness
  • Disliked — That it's so far from Los Angeles
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank roxatbeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
karen_okeefe, Resort General Manager at Heidelberg Inn, responded to this review, January 28, 2009
What a great response - thanks for letting us know what a wonerful time you had. See you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Napa Valley, California
Level Contributor
29 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2008

Our goal was Yosemite and we initially thought "who care where we stay". How wrong we were! This small, quaint resort is in a great location and it was so quite and relaxing. We stayed 3 days and are planning on going back in the fall season. Perfect stay...thanks

  • Liked — Location and Staff
  • Disliked — Nothing!
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank Xharliefun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
karen_okeefe, Resort General Manager at Heidelberg Inn, responded to this review, January 28, 2009
We care where you stay! And thank you for staying with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
patrickfinley
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2008

June Lake is a great little hidden gem of a town. Development over the past 20 years has passed right by this quaint town.

The Heidelberg Inn is probably the 2nd best hotel in town following the much more expensive Double Eagle resort. The Heidelberg must have been a truly amazing lodge back in the 30's and 40's, but a renovation done some time during the 70's-90's has damaged it's rustic charm with cheap paneling and wood trim. The Inn still shows off it's crowning feature a very grand four way fireplace. It is one of the most impressive fireplaces I have ever scene. Unfortunately this grand fireplace only burns fake logs.

The hotel rooms are very nice with living rooms, kitchens and Jacuzzi tubs. Our room however had a musty smell and a broken heater on the first night which was repaired for the 2nd night.

We would certainly stay here again, but feel sorry that such a grand hotel is not treated the way that it deserves to be treated.

  • Stayed January 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank patrickfinley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
karen_okeefe, Resort General Manager at Heidelberg Inn, responded to this review, January 28, 2009
Yes, the Heidelberg Inn was and still is a truly amazing 80 year old lodge with plenty of rustic charm and original architecture remaining, and yes, a little mustiness when a room has been closed up for some time.

The wood burning fireplace was converted to gas many years ago when electric heaters were in stalled in the guest units. How ironic that yours needed repair! We're glad that we were able to provide a quick response to your minor problem. Also, the amount of wood that would be required to fuel the fireplace would not go well with our Company's efforts to go green. Hence, fake fire, fake logs.

Thank you for your response. We were happy to have you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2007

We stayed at the Heidelberg Inn during the week of July 4th. Our room was comfortable with 2 adults and 2 kids staying in a one bedroom. They've been upgraded recently and the sleeping accommodations and bathroom were good. My main complaint is that the hotel does not have air conditioning and does not have good air flow. Since it was 90+ degrees when we were there this had a big impact on our time there. We ditched out of our room by 9 AM each morning and tried to stay gone as late as we could. Our room was at the front of the hotel so had a lovely view of the lake with 2 windows. However, the only way to get the air into your room was to keep the door open. Imagine a hotel where everyone is keeping their door open to try to cool off. Because the hotel was built in the 1930s and primarily to keep out the cold, it is virtually impossible to get air into the lobby either. They prop open the doors and everyone is given a box fan to try to move air but it was hot, hot, hot. On top of that, because you have to keep the windows open, you're very conscious of the outside noise. There's a restaurant/bar directly in the front of the hotel which is a good place to eat, however at 1-2 AM I really wanted the loud drunks standing on the sidewalk to just go home. I complained to the staff at the front desk of the Heidelberg and said I was going to call the manager the next night to let her handle it and she said her manager didn't want to be waken up in the middle of the night. Well, neither did I! Calling the bar didn't help because it was so loud they couldn't hear the phone. The next day I spoke with the manager and she was sympathic but I had to call the bar each night to ask them to quiet down. It affects the entire front of the hotel which is also the view side. The quieter back side faces an alley/street. The hot tub was 115 degrees so no one used them when we were there. We relaxed on the patio for one evening but a huge family was staying in one of the 2 rooms that adjoins the patio, so they monopolized the patio as if it was their private patio. The town of June Lake is very small. You can walk it all in about 5 minutes! We pulled our boat over and there's not much hotel parking either. Only 2 of the lakes allow you to go over 15 mph so we spent our entire time criss crossing one of the lakes. The water is very cold and refreshing when it is hot. On the plus side, crawfishing at 10 PM around the docks was fun for the kids. They're easy to scoop up. Pack food because the restaurants are limited and very expensive at the local market. Mammoth is about 20 minutes away so we basically slept at June Lake but spent almost every waking moment away from there. Yosemite was a highlight but extremely hot in July. Winter is probably a different experience, but next time I'll stay in Mammoth.

  • Liked — Comfortable bed
  • Disliked — No air conditioning
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelingFamily44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2007

We stayed here one night for our 2-day Yosemite trip. The location was quite convenient for the planning of the trip: we arrived at Yosemite from San Francisco area around noon, looked around the Yosemite valley and the Glacier point on the first day. Then we drove to June Lake and slept at Heidelberg inn. On the second day, we saw June Lake, Mono Lake, Tioga lake and all the nice vista points along the Tioga pass. Nice alternative to other Yosemite lodgings, which are usually expensive and hard to find. We just felt sorry that we didn't plan enough time for June Lake, as we didn't know beforehand the area was that beautiful.

The rooms are quite roomy and tidy. The sofa bed was quite comfortable. The exterior of the hotel doesn't look that superb, but the interior is warm, classic, and cozy. They provide free welcome package, which includes some energy bars, coffee, tea, etc. They seem to hold special fun events on select days, although we were not there on a right day.

The only complaint we had was with ExtraHolidays, which takes care of reservations here. We initially asked for a 2-bedroom unit, but they changed it to two 1-bedroom units. This change itself didn't upset or surprise us, because this is not a usual hotel but vacation house rooms temporarily available for non-owners. But ExtraHolidays didn't notify or ask us in the change process at all. They should have consulted us before making the change, because the change involves change of number of admissable people and also the room charge. They made the change about a month before the trip. But they told only when I called them for a final confirmation a few days before the trip, and the operator guy sounded quite snobbish, as if he was doing a big favor when he was notifying me of the change.

Except the complaint about Extraholidays, we liked Heidelberg Inn a lot. Nice place to stay for a trip to Yosemite, or maybe June Lake itself.

  • Stayed June 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank fly2thesun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
karen_okeefe, General Manager at Heidelberg Inn, responded to this review, January 21, 2014
Thank you for your review. I'm glad to hear that a minor inconvenience with the rental booking agent did not ruin your trip. Although the Heidelberg Inn is a time share resort and our time share owners are our priority, we are always willing to assist with issues arising from our outside booking agencies. We hope to see you back here again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2007

This was the second time we've stayed here. The staff is always pleasant - even when my children went up to the front desk 4, 5, 6 or more times a day to request different items. (They keep a stock of games, crayons, VCRs, etc. that families can check out.)

The scenery is lovely. Our room had a small deck that we sat out on to watch the world go by. There's also a large deck with BBQs to cook any fish you catch. My husband tried out the hot tub and sauna and found them to be in good working condition. There's a HUGE fireplace in the center of the lodge. The big screen TV next to it is open for anyone to pop in a family-friendly movie.

The Manager was very knowledgeable on the local attractions (fishing holes, tourist attractions, etc.) and also had literature that we could rummage through.

The entire place is very clean. The bedrooms in the units are a little on the small side but we don't spend much time in the rooms anyways. Really, the only complaint we have is the beds which are terribly HARD. Not very comfortable to us. The huge tub was wonderful to soak in. The only complaint my teenagers had was the TVs - not big enough and not enough selections. As parents this is a plus to us. Just forces them to find something to do outside.

There's a couple of restaurants within walking distance. However, at this altitude it's quite a walk! The candy shop is always a plus with our kids. The little local grocery store is over priced so major shopping should be done in Mammoth or another town nearby.

We are a family of five and definitely have a hard time finding a place that we ALL enjoy. Heidelberg Inn definitely fits our bill pretty well. There is SO much to do and all of the locals are SO helpful. The little movie store (again within walking distance) has a gal running it who knows TONS of places to visit that are off the beaten track. Just ask...

  • Liked — location - scenery
  • Disliked — beds
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank pest003s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
karsie37, Resort General Manager at Heidelberg Inn, responded to this review, May 19, 2007
Thank you for such a terrific review. I agree with your attitude regarding the televisions. It frustrates me to no end to hear guests complain about cell phones and internet when there is so much to do and see! Put technology aside for a week and really relax in the great outdoors! Glad we could provide something for everyone and your family had a memorable experience with us. You have provided us with one of the greatest compliments by coming back. As far as the beds being too hard, some like it hard, some like it soft - everyone has their own preference, and, for every too hard comment I have a too soft comment to match it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near June Lake
13.2 mi away
Lake View Lodge
Lake View Lodge
#2 of 4 in Lee Vining
3.5 of 5 bubbles 566 reviews
8.6 mi away
Mammoth Mountain Inn
Mammoth Mountain Inn
#7 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,296 reviews
1.5 mi away
June Lake Pines
June Lake Pines
#6 of 7 in June Lake
4.0 of 5 bubbles 38 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.0 mi away
The Village Lodge
The Village Lodge
#1 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
4.0 of 5 bubbles 777 reviews
1.1 mi away
Double Eagle Resort and Spa
1.6 mi away
June Lake Villager
June Lake Villager
#3 of 7 in June Lake
4.0 of 5 bubbles 139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Heidelberg Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heidelberg Inn

Property: Heidelberg Inn
Address: 85 Boulder-Lake View, June Lake, CA 93529
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > June Lake
Amenities:
Kitchenette Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in June Lake
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Heidelberg Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and TravelClick so you can book your Heidelberg Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Heidelberg Hotel June Lake
Heidelberg June Lake

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing