We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Delightful Little Lodge in the Sierra Mountains!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Heidelberg Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Heidelberg Inn
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in June Lake
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Palm Beach Gardens, Florida
Level Contributor
275 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
“Delightful Little Lodge in the Sierra Mountains!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2013

This is an out of the way place to visit. It's perfect for relaxing or fishing or being in the mountains. The four-sided fireplace is warm and inviting. And huge! It takes up much of the common area space. One thing I really liked is how small the place was, less than 50 units. That gave you a warmer and more personal home like feel.

These are two room units with a kitchen and dining and living are in one room and a bedroom with a queen size bed. The sofa is a pull out and four people could stay together, but it would be cozy. The kitchen has burners, but no oven. Other than an oven, it pretty much has every needed that you might have in your own kitchen. But it's tiny.

There are plenty of thing to see in the area, but you will need a vehicle. For example, there's Mono Lake, Devils Postpile Monument, Bodie Ghost Town (Gold Rush from the 1880's), Yosemite National Park (although the entrance is only 30 minutes away, the village is a two hour plus drive) and Kings Canyon National Park is two hour drive to the south.

Room Tip: 1. This is not about the room, but he altitude here is 7,500+ feet. Beware of altitude sickness. Pre...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank William L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
karen_okeefe, General Manager at Heidelberg Inn, responded to this review, January 11, 2014
Our rooms are on the smaller side, about 460 sf in the one bedroom units and about 610 sf in the two bedroom units. If you will be using the sofa bed, then the living/dining area is reduced quite a bit. The kitchens do lack a conventional oven, however, a two burner range and microwave are provided. The front office can also provide a crock pot, electric skillet or toaster over for your use. There are also two BBQs located on our deck, great for cooking your catch of the day, even if it's chicken and burgers.

Thank you for responding, and we are glad you enjoyed your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    47
    37
    7
    7
    3
See reviews for
43
36
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Whistler
Level Contributor
54 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2013

This hotel is at 8000 ft which can cause altitude dizziness for some people, me included. Rooms are small suites with kitchens. Well equipped with nice bathrooms. Queen size bed which is a negative for us. Good value as the walkin rate with tax was $110.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MargiMC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
karen_okeefe, General Manager at Heidelberg Inn, responded to this review, January 11, 2014
The altitude is certainly a factor in your experience with us. Some folks feel it immediately, while others feel no effect at all. If you do feel it, it's not fun, like having the flu. We recommend drinking water before and during your visit, and giving yourself time to acclimate by stopping in Bishop or one of the other towns on your way along Highway 395 for lunch or shopping. Our beds are no larger than queen size, due to the size of our rooms, so things may get cozier than you prefer.

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
72 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2013

Nice staff, clean rooms, breathtaking views from #15, 1-br, large fireplace in grand lobby. Walk to bars, restaurants, laundry (free wash and dry) laundry soap if you forget to bring your own is $1 each.

vending on site
weekly ice cream social half hour 7:00-7:30 Thursday evening

Drive the whole loop, see the waterfalls and come back to your home away from home.

Close to Mammoth Mountain and Mono Lake. Lots of sight seeing.

Be sure to hike Obsidian - the trail is to the right of the parking lot, just keep going, like a corkscrew up the side of the dome. It is like another world up there.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
Helpful?
4 Thank Mrs426
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
karen_okeefe, General Manager at Heidelberg Inn, responded to this review, January 11, 2014
Sounds like you had a wonderful time and enjoyed the amenities we had to offer. Ice cream night is still the most popular weekly activity that we offer, even in the winter!

Thank for for taking the time to respond.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
105 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2012

It is a very nice, homey place. The small size lent to making it all feel like extended family. There small evening social events were not flashy and perfect for the place. We felt very comfortable hanging out in the lobby in the evenings playing games, watching movies and enjoying the fireplace. As for the rooms, I appreciate that they weren't so shoved full of furniture that you couldn't move. Some things to note, we didn't get a full kitchen- there was no oven. I must have read my confirmation wrong. There is so much to do in the surrounding areas in any season, we hope to make it back in the summer.

Room Tip: Only a very few rooms have balconies. None on the second floor. That would definitely add to the e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Maura E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
karen_okeefe, General Manager at Heidelberg Inn, responded to this review, January 11, 2014
For liability reasons, the second floor units do not have balconies, although I agree, it would be an added bonus. You are correct in advising others to request a room looking at the lake, although we cannot grant that request to everyone, or the building would be too heavy on that side and possibly tip over. Just kidding, we try our best to please everyone, but someone has to stay in the rooms overlooking the parking lot, and that may be you at some point. Enjoy yourself on our deck or take a walk around the village to find the best view for you.

Thanks for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level Contributor
134 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2012

We stayed here in late September to early October and the place is a charming place to stay.The building is an interesting one, having been an old lodge converted into its current arrangement. I have to say the great hall is by far one of the most impressive ones I have seen recently with 2 long and rustic staircases at either end. The staff are extremely friendly and helpful and help to contribute to the charm and comfort of the place.

If you are looking to fish then I would say this is a ideal spot, we were using the Inn as a base to explore further so again couldn't really fault it. If you are self catering i would recommend that you either bring your own food or visit the stores in Mammoth Lakes which is about 20 mins down the road - the local produce is very pricey. Also there are no ovens - just rings and a microwave in the rooms so come supper time the BBQ's (there are only two grills) can get very busy.

There are 2 negative thing I would say about the place and either one has nothing to do with the Inn mind you. The first one is there is nothing to do in the evening so you have to drive to Mammoth Lakes. to entertain yourselves.although we did go to a very good restaurant down the road which has Hawaiian BBQ ribs and these were so good. The second one and this must be considered by some folks is that the Inn is located some 7250 feet above sea level and as such if you are affected by altitude differences you may find yourself breathless very easily and have to compensate for it.

Room Tip: If you can, request a room facing the lake and secondly, as there is no elevator you may prefer to b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ratty1741
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
karen_okeefe, General Manager at Heidelberg Inn, responded to this review, January 11, 2014
If you are looking for peaceful, calm and quiet, then you have come to the right place. If an active nightlife is more your speed, then yes, down the road 20 miles to Mammoth Lakes you will go. The town of June Lake, more of a village actually, buttons up fairly early. By 9pm, the streets are empty, the businesses are closed, and you may get lucky and catch the last meal to be served at one of the handful of restaurants available.

Knowing that, you can plan accordingly for your stay with us. It is often that we find a late arrival making dinner out of our vending machine selections. Thank you for your response.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san Diego
Level Contributor
156 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2012

Our stay at the Heidelberg Inn was a dream come true.Snow capped mountains surrounded us as we soaked in the jacuzzi 6ft from our room.The staff was welcoming and didnt hestitate to make our stay wonderful.We had a full kitchen and were able to Bbq everynight from our balconey.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sanDiegoTrippy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
karen_okeefe, General Manager at Heidelberg Inn, responded to this review, January 11, 2014
Short and sweet and to the point - thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2012

I just went there for a few days. Great hotel. I am a teenage girl and went with a friend and my parents. The staff was VERY nice.
The hotel is very homey. It is very old fashion with real keys, two floors, and no elevator. Everyone staying in the hotel was very nice and friendly. Don't have to worry about leaving the door open, no crime.
Hotel lobby had a bunch of couches for everyone to sit and mingle. Movie night and activities daily. There are two georgeous hot tubs with a great view. There is also a dry sauna and a rec. room complete with a tv, ping pong, pool, and video games, some of which are free. Very fun and social!
The rooms are very nice and big. Beds are comfy. Full kitchen. Even though the hotel is rustic, the rooms are updated.
Overall, the hotel was great! Loved it and will definitely go back!!!!!!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jp3192
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
karen_okeefe, General Manager at Heidelberg Inn, responded to this review, January 11, 2014
Thank you so much - you teenagers can be hard to please sometimes and it is nice to hear that we were able to do that for you. There is no shopping mall, video arcade or other hangout for you, and unless you enjoy the outdoors and temperamental internet service, you may find yourself a little, well, bored. We hope that you will visit us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near June Lake
13.2 mi away
Lake View Lodge
Lake View Lodge
#2 of 4 in Lee Vining
3.5 of 5 bubbles 566 reviews
8.6 mi away
Mammoth Mountain Inn
Mammoth Mountain Inn
#7 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,293 reviews
1.5 mi away
June Lake Pines
June Lake Pines
#6 of 7 in June Lake
4.0 of 5 bubbles 38 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.0 mi away
The Village Lodge
The Village Lodge
#1 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
4.0 of 5 bubbles 774 reviews
1.1 mi away
Double Eagle Resort and Spa
1.6 mi away
June Lake Villager
June Lake Villager
#2 of 7 in June Lake
4.0 of 5 bubbles 139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Heidelberg Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heidelberg Inn

Property: Heidelberg Inn
Address: 85 Boulder-Lake View, June Lake, CA 93529
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > June Lake
Amenities:
Kitchenette Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in June Lake
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Heidelberg Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, TravelClick, HotelQuickly and Agoda so you can book your Heidelberg Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Heidelberg Hotel June Lake
Heidelberg June Lake

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing