We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent mountain get away”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Double Eagle Resort and Spa
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in June Lake
Certificate of Excellence
Idyllwild, California
Level Contributor
50 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Excellent mountain get away”
Reviewed July 22, 2014 via mobile

They allowed me to check in a little early. Setting is in the woods, on a creek and quiet. The pond is a nice touch. Outdoor fire pit was very nice too. Didn't eat at the restaurant, but the menu looked great. The spa is amazing and all the staff was very friendly. We had a small cabin (#119) and it was cozy but roomy. A little pricey overall but well worth it and to spoil yourself. Definately THE place to stay near June Lake.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mtcowboy1011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doubleeagle11, Director of Sales at Double Eagle Resort and Spa, responded to this review, July 30, 2014
Thank you for the feedback! We are glad to hear we are your choice of places to stay here in June Lake!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

339 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    189
    82
    34
    16
    18
See reviews for
113
135
6
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Currumbin, Australia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2014

Very quaint cottages - in a bushy setting with a towering rocky outcrop in the background.Just what you would expect to stay in at this location. Restaurant was also a great experience.The food was enjoyed by all in our party.

Room Tip: The 2 bedroom cabins are roomy and cosy
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Heshian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doubleeagle11, Director of Sales at Double Eagle Resort and Spa, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
Thank you for the beautiful description of this great area! We are so happy you enjoyed your stay! See you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlsbad, California
1 review
Reviewed July 9, 2014

The view outside the balcony was beautiful. The beauty of cliffs, craggy rocks, trees, and a pond with trout all awaited us on our balcony each evening. The service at the restaurant and spa were excellent. The salmon was cooked to perfection, the filet melted in your mouth, and the ribs pulled off the bone. Even the bloody Mary's were spicy and a treat. We wanted to watch the World Cup and they opened the Bar so that we could watch it. The couples massage was decadent and the value was very high for the cost of it. The two ladies sure knew their craft. My only criticism was that our AAA book says they honor a AAA discount and they told us that doesn't apply to the summer. Other than that surprise, we had a great time surrounded by beauty and treated to amazing service.

Room Tip: Choose the upstairs. Our room on he upstairs creaked a little which bothered the people below us.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bpletka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doubleeagle11, Director of Sales at Double Eagle Resort and Spa, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
Thank you for the feedback - we are always trying to meet the needs of our guests in the restaurant, spa and lodging departments, so this is great to hear! Glad you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saluzzo, Italia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2014

We stayed at Double Eagle during our honeymoon, for 2 nights in June.
The resort is absolutely fantastic, located around a small pond and surrounded by mountains. The view you get when you wake up is awesome!

There is an excellent gym and spa facility with complymentary access: you MUST try the swimming pool and the jacuzzi with hot water facing the mountains!
The spa facility is great, providing everything you need for a nice stay, from bathrobe to shaving foam. Massages prices are a little big high, at

We had a beatiful room facing the pond, with TV, balcony, kitchenette, walk-in shower and jacuzzi!

The restaurant is beautiful, food is fine and there's a friendly staff, even if a little bit slow while serving breakfast.

You can park you car right outside the lodge, just avoid to let food inside as it is plenty of animals around!

I would highly recommend staying here, it is definitely a romantic spot!

Room Tip: Rooms around the pond!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Simone D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doubleeagle11, Director of Sales at Double Eagle Resort and Spa, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
Isn't the hot tub facing the mountains just the best?! We love it, and we are so happy you had the experience that you did! Thank you for the helpful feedback on restaurant service and spa prices! See you next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bern, Switzerland
Level Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2014

This resort is beautifully located in June Lake with several cabins scattered around a pond. Excellent gym and spa facilities as well as a restaurant are located on the premises. Spa prices (massages) are a bit high, but access to gym and spa are complimentary. The restaurant, named "Eagle's Landing" has very thoughtful and friendly staff and a versatile menu catering to all budgets. We loved the restaurant so much, we went there the whole time for delicious dinners and hearty breakfasts. Negative aspects for us was the choppy wi-fi coverage. At times we could not connect at all and the service was slow. Also, we were on the ground floor of a cabin with four units. The walls and floors were so thin that we heard the upstairs guests walking around all day. It didnt bother us that much since we spent most of the time outdoors but this could be a deal breaker considering the pricey nightly rate. Would definitely come here again though but maybe in a single cabin.

Room Tip: If you get a unit in a shared cabin, don't get it on the ground floor since you'll hear gues...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DeuxJardins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doubleeagle11, Director of Sales at Double Eagle Resort and Spa, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
Thank you so much for your feedback. We are glad you would return, and suggest a cabin or possibly request an upstairs room to reduce the noise (our staff is happy to help with requests like that if rooms are available!). We hope to see you on your next trip to the Sierra!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worthing, West Sussex
Level Contributor
36 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2014

We stayed here for one night on our way to Vegas after being in Yosemite National Park. The surroundings are absolutely beautiful. We stayed on the top floor of one of the cabins surrounding the pond with views of the pond and mountains from the balcony and a waterfall cascading down the mountain behind. You can park you car right outside the lodge. The lodge had two double beds, a fire which we didn't need as it wasn't cold, a small kitchenette area with a fridge and sink. There was a TV in the room and the beds were very comfortable and everything was clean. The bathroom was huge with a basin, walk in shower, and spa bath. The pool and spa treatments are included in the cost of the stay but unfortunately we did not have time to use any of the facilities. We had an evening meal in the restaurant (this is an extra cost); the food and service were good but a little pricey. I would highly recommend staying here even if it's just for the surroundings and views.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Afternoongirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doubleeagle11, Director of Sales at Double Eagle Resort and Spa, responded to this review, June 16, 2014
Thank you for the feedback! We wish you could have stayed longer as well. See you on your next stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berryville, Virginia
Level Contributor
201 reviews
96 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2014

We stayed 2 days, 1 night and the room had a few issues. Gas fireplace was hot in a warm room but they shut it off and it got cool that night. The bathroom pocket door was off the tracks and would not shut. Beds were comfy and the place is Heaven on earth..TV worked good and decent internet. Huge bath tub and nice soap. The spa was great and breakfast was wonderful. The staff worked so hard at the wedding we attended and it was an amazing weekend. If something went wrong we didn't see it. Great service and amazing views.
Wonderful place for a wedding or getaway.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ron M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doubleeagle11, Director of Sales at Double Eagle Resort and Spa, responded to this review, June 11, 2014
Thank you for the great review! We always love feedback, and it's nice to hear you enjoyed the wedding!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near June Lake
10.6 mi away
The Village Lodge
The Village Lodge
#1 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
787 reviews
11.7 mi away
Sierra Nevada Resort & Spa
Sierra Nevada Resort & Spa
#5 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
807 reviews
2.5 mi away
June Lake Pines
June Lake Pines
#6 of 7 in June Lake
38 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.8 mi away
Sierra Park Villas
Sierra Park Villas
#17 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
26 reviews
1.1 mi away
Heidelberg Inn
Heidelberg Inn
#3 of 7 in June Lake
102 reviews
8.9 mi away
Mammoth Mountain Inn
Mammoth Mountain Inn
#7 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
1,322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Double Eagle Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Double Eagle Resort and Spa

Property: Double Eagle Resort and Spa
Address: 5587 Hwy 158, June Lake, CA 93529
Location: United States > California > June Lake
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in June Lake
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Double Eagle Resort and Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HRS so you can book your Double Eagle Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Double Eagle Hotel June Lake
Double Eagle Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing