We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Double Eagle Resort and Spa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Double Eagle Resort and Spa
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in June Lake
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Amazing”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2014 via mobile

This resort was even better than I expected gauging by the pictures I saw online. And they were great pictures! The entire property feels safe yet surrounded by the majestic scenery and local friendliness by the employees. The cabins I rented was in front of a clean pond with ducks and catfish. My dog appreciated the serenity. I addition to clean rooms with upscale beds and amenities, I enjoyed my morning coffee on the balcony listening to subtle new age music playing from the Spa building close by. This place is a treat and the restaurant is the best in town according to the locals I talked with. I loved all the meals I ate there.

Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank Stacia N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doubleeagle11, Director of Sales at Double Eagle Resort and Spa, responded to this review, April 19, 2014
Glad you liked our photos online - we always TRY to get them to reflect the beauty of this place, but it's hard! We are happy to hear your dog enjoy his/her mountain time as well. We love seeing dogs and their owners exploring June Lake together.

See you on your next trip!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

322 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    180
    77
    32
    15
    18
See reviews for
107
128
5
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Barbara, California
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2014 via mobile

We came to June Lake to visit our friends and so my husband could ski. We stayed in the cabins at the Double Eagle Resort. The cabins are cozy, and very clean. The staff is friendly and helpful. Great restaurant... Delicious food, and fair places. We had great service. Beautiful views from the inside. The spa was fabulous!! They have everything you need. Very clean, and my massage was wonderful! Beautiful indoor pool and jacuzzi!! We will definitely come back!!

Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank Toni M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doubleeagle11, Director of Sales at Double Eagle Resort and Spa, responded to this review, March 4, 2014
We are so happy you enjoyed your stay (and had fresh snow to ski!). We'll see you again on your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, CA
Level Contributor
124 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2014 via mobile

Second visit. Simple service. Nice people. Not lavish but isn't supposed to be. Sweet inside. Nice price point. Facial was a bit different - had the oxygen one. Not sure Id recommend if you're looking for a typical facial. Otherwise fine. Will be back.

Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank upintheairmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doubleeagle11, Director of Sales at Double Eagle Resort and Spa, responded to this review, February 11, 2014
Thank you for your repeat visit! I appreciate the feedback on the facial as well. See you on your next trip to June Lake!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2014 via mobile

I arrived with my family at 01:30 am without reservation and call the emergency number. 15 minutes after, a very supportive young lady arrived and provide us a cabin to spend our first night at June Lake area.

Thank you very much for your assistance. Next time wi will be hosted at Double Eagle for sure !!!!!

Ruben Cruz and family

Stayed December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Ruben C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Juan Capistrano, California, United States
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 4, 2013

We only spent one night but it was a great place. Room and bath were large and comfortable, and a jetted tub and separate shower. Ate appetizers at the bar; wonderful baked Brie and fresh fruit.
Will consider returning in the summer!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephanie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doubleeagle11, Director of Sales at Double Eagle Resort and Spa, responded to this review, December 10, 2013
Glad you enjoyed your short time here! Summers are a great time to visit June Lake - fishing, hiking, biking and water sports abound!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington Beach, California
Level Contributor
42 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 30, 2013

We were very happy with our downstairs resort room. It was spacious, well appointed, and comfortable. The rooms all face a small, scenic pond with a dog friendly walking trail along its shore - perfect for taking the dog out for that first walk of the morning and final walk at night before bed. We also saw lots of deer in the woods close up and personal on the parking side of our room, which was great.

We'd read the reviews complaining about the noisiness of the upstairs rooms on the downstairs guests, and we were spared that all but our last night. Once we did experience it we understood: the sounds of our "neighbors" going up & down the steps was distracting but tolerable; the sound of the in-room jacuzzi tub was like the pelting of rain against a tin roof (it was really that loud). In our case we had 2 quiet nights followed by 1 noisy, so it wasn't too bad for us. We'd happily return. But if you'll be there over the weekend when it's busiest, book an upstairs room (and then be kind to your downstairs neighbor!).

The spa facilities were a great bonus, especially the free access to the pool and oversized hot tub. We headed straight there each afternoon after hiking and exploring locally. It was wonderful.

We ate in the on-site restaurant on our arrival night, and never again. The food was marginal - actually, my grilled Salmon was raw inside and I sent it back - and our server was so surprisingly un-attentive we felt the whole meal was a waste of money (things we requested were never delivered, like a dinner fork, ground pepper, and soft drink refill). Given the undercooked fish you'd think some extra care would've been coming, but you'd be wrong. The dining options off-property are not plentiful, nor do they get good reviews, so we were sorry to have to skip the onsite restaurant. But we made it work and will likely try eating there again if we return (in the hopes the chef and server have turned over by then). We'll also be prepared for the same underwhelming experience and have alternate options lined up in advance.

But we do recommend the place, especially if you want a nice getaway and travel with a dog. It's not luxury, but it is quaint, cozy, and a good value for the money.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ticket2RideToday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doubleeagle11, Director of Sales at Double Eagle Resort and Spa, responded to this review, December 10, 2013
Thank you for posting a review about your stay. We are pleased you enjoyed the area and the spa! In regard to your restaurant experience, please accept our apology for your less-than-exceptional dinner. Please know that we are taking every measure possible to ensure this does not happen again. I'd encourage you to please try us again so we can show you the Eagle's Landing evening you deserve.

Again, thank you for your valuable feedback!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Pedro, Calif
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2013

This is the best place ever to stay. Beautiful dining room with outstanding views of waterfalls and mountains. Great menu selections, delicious food and friendly bar. Our room overlooked the pond. The room was spacious, clean and had a large spa tub plus a good sized balcony. The spa gym is also a delight. Sara gave me one of the best massages I have ever had. June Lake is a beautiful place to stay. Everyone was so friendly. This is much better than Mammoth Lakes and Double Eagle Lodge is THE place to stay. We were there in November for the first time and we can't wait to go back. We already made a reservation for next May.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank melindaed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doubleeagle11, Director of Sales at Double Eagle Resort and Spa, responded to this review, December 10, 2013
Thanks for choosing to stay with us over all of your other options in the area! We are pleased you had a great experience! See you on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near June Lake
11.7 mi away
Sierra Nevada Resort & Spa
Sierra Nevada Resort & Spa
#5 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 781 reviews
2.5 mi away
June Lake Pines
June Lake Pines
#6 of 7 in June Lake
4.0 of 5 bubbles 38 reviews
10.6 mi away
The Village Lodge
The Village Lodge
#1 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
4.0 of 5 bubbles 767 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Heidelberg Inn
Heidelberg Inn
#4 of 7 in June Lake
4.0 of 5 bubbles 100 reviews
11.8 mi away
Sierra Park Villas
Sierra Park Villas
#15 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 24 reviews
2.5 mi away
June Lake Villager
June Lake Villager
#3 of 7 in June Lake
4.0 of 5 bubbles 138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Double Eagle Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Double Eagle Resort and Spa

Property: Double Eagle Resort and Spa
Address: 5587 Hwy 158, June Lake, CA 93529
Location: United States > California > June Lake
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in June Lake
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Double Eagle Resort and Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Double Eagle Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Double Eagle Hotel June Lake
Double Eagle Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing