We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Night in Paradise”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Double Eagle Resort and Spa
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in June Lake
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 27, 2013

My only complaint about my stay at Double Eagles is that I was there for just one night! Our room was spacious and well equipped. The bathroom was enormous - completely wheelchair accessible - shower included. The restaurant has a wonderful view. We had take out dinner (a salad to big to finish in one sitting) and breakfast in the restaurant by the fire, looking up the mountain at various waterfalls. The setting is idyllic: pond, wood cabins, towering mountains, nestles in the pines. It is a perfect base from which to explore tha natural beauty of the area - but stay at least a couple of days!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ewparker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (370)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

219 - 225 of 370 reviews

Reviewed May 26, 2013

Such a beautiful setting with the back ground of huge mountains complete with waterfalls, lovely small trout lake on the property, wonderful country/mining decor in the restaurant and spa. The indoor swimming pool was a great spot just to sit and read even if you did not chose to go for a swim or jacuzzi. Chris at the front desk makes a terrific cappacino. The staff was very friendly. It is a very restful spot--a perfect get away from the business of the city. The food was excellent. We even saw wildlife (deer) as we looked out our cabin window. We shall certainly recommend it to our friends!!

Room Tip: We had cabin 114 which looked out over the whole grounds.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nancy w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2013

What a beautiful inspiring mountain resort near Mammoth and Yosemite. We enjoyed vistas of mountain tops, high waterfalls, rushing streams. You can see the waterfalls from the spa. The resort dining room has tall windows offering views of mountain peaks and trees. The cabins are set pleasantly close to the mountains much like the Ahwanee in Yosemite. Our cabin 114 was next to a creek and we enjoyed the rushing spring waters.

This was a girlfriend getaway and we headed to the spa shortly after our arrival to book massages and treatments. The resort's spa has won a 10 Best in the World Spa award and offers a large choice of treatments, has a gorgeous swimming pool and well-equipped fitness rooms. We stayed 2 days but could see the advantage of booking at least a week. We had the best conversations, great walks and want to come back with our books.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Deborah E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2013

We had a very unfortunate visit that seems to be getting more unpleasant: Our car was essentially totalled by a bear; management was indifferent and the young blonde woman at the front desk seemed to be smirking about our misfortune.

The shortest version is that we are aware that bears can be a problem IN YOSEMITE-- but had no idea that the problem was as extensive or had spread well beyond park boundaries.

One window was ripped out and all four doors had to be replaced.

The maintainance crew was great, helping us patch our car together to get back over the mountain but also told us that the bears at this time of year were voracious, fattening up prior to hibernation and had damaged another car the week prior.

Thanks for the heads up--NOT!

There was a sign--about 8x10--that was NOT especially noticeable. (Could they maybe make it smaller?)

The owners reaction--days later 'the other people who's cars were damaged took responsibility'. . . .to which I responded 'other people, why didn't your staff warn us of the imminent danger?" --her response was essentially "Tough luck" (and --hey--thanks for the timely call back).

Upon my request she did commit to 'making a better effort of warning customers of severity of the bear problem in the area'

We won't ever be back nor will we encourage our friends to visit.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank reinrag5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2013

June Lake is a beautiful part of California and worth a stay if you are skiing Mammoth or on the way to Lake Tahoe. We stayed in January and received a discount on their normal and busy Summer rates. Guests enjoy free use of the indoor pool and gym. The restaurant is brilliant and if you are staying at the resort an easy choice. Prices are reasonable and even better if you eat on "locals night". There is also a happy hour at the bar. Great chalets with incredible views, all ashort drive from June Lake township.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Svensky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2013

For the price we paid per night (approximately $250), we felt the room could be a little bit better appointed. We stayed in room #15 (I believe) back in September 2012. I couldn't for the life of me figure out how to operate the overhead fan and light combo unit. Either it was working, 'cause none of the switches made it turn, or the switch is located at an unconventional area. Either way, we made use of the desk lamps and they provided sufficient lighting for our comfort. The rooms are nice and spacious, but nothing spectacular. Besides the annoyance with the overhead lighting/fan unit not working, other minor attention to details are overlooked by the staff. For example, the toilet paper holder is loose and jiggles upon contact. For a room that commands $250/night, this should not have been an issue.

Annoyances aside, the resort is beautiful and sits at the foothill of mountainous peaks. It is located at the western-most side of June Lake, secluded from touristy noise and attractions. The room is appointed with a gratuitous walk-in shower followed by a nice jacuzzi. You pay more for the prime tranquil location than for the accommodation, in my opinion, but the upgraded amenities in the bathroom in itself is worth the premium in my opinion (especially after a long day's hike up Yost or Fern Lake, or a drive up to Bodie). The rooms are built around a path that wraps around Ron's Pond, a small pond with trouts that you can try your angling skills with (but must release). For our stay, we received two $8.00 coupon good towards breakfast at the Eagle's Landing Restaurant right at the front of the property. Dinner was okay to say the least but breakfast was spectacular. I had the Mountain Man's Steak & Egg cooked medium rare with sunny side up eggs. Best cheap steak I've ever eaten - truly! We'll definitely return for more Eastern Sierra adventure.

BTW, since the resort is surrounded by wilderness, be sure to close your car's windows at night. The place is laden with raccoons and other wildlife (deers, bears). I saw paw prints all over my car from coons in an attempt to reach inside my slightly open car windows.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank oo63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2012

I stayed here llast September, just for one night. It is in a fantastic location and generally the hotel is very good. The room that i had could do with some updating but it was clean. Food was very good and the service was excellent.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MisterJames
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near June Lake
25 mi away
The Majestic Yosemite Hotel
The Majestic Yosemite Hotel
#1 of 3 in Yosemite National Park
2,705 reviews
10.6 mi away
The Village Lodge
The Village Lodge
#1 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
872 reviews
1.1 mi away
Heidelberg Inn
Heidelberg Inn
#4 of 7 in June Lake
107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.9 mi away
Mammoth Mountain Inn
Mammoth Mountain Inn
#5 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
1,527 reviews
0.2 mi away
Whispering Pines Motel
Whispering Pines Motel
#7 of 7 in June Lake
92 reviews
10.7 mi away
Westin Monache Resort Mammoth
Westin Monache Resort Mammoth
#3 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
1,192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Double Eagle Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Double Eagle Resort and Spa

Address: 5587 Hwy 158, June Lake, CA 93529
Location: United States > California > June Lake
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in June Lake
Price Range: $220 - $278 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Double Eagle Resort and Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Double Eagle Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Double Eagle Hotel June Lake
Double Eagle Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing