We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome Place”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Double Eagle Resort and Spa
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in June Lake
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 18, 2012

The staff, especially Carol, the owner were wonderful, friendly, helpful, compassionate and capable. My brother a heart patient, had a little problem with the altitude, and Carol, an RN checked him out, recommended calling the paramedics, but they were already there, working out at the spa. They gave him oxygen, did an ekg and too great care of him.
Hopefully, you won't have a crisis like we did, but i bet you will experience the concern and responsiveness and genuine kindness of everyone there.Oh yeah and it's beautiful, the spa is great and the food is yummy too.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TobiLa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (369)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

232 - 238 of 369 reviews

Reviewed June 11, 2012

The setting for the Double Eagle is special-between two steep mountains and alongside a trout pond.The rooms were well-appointed and extremely comfortable; the food good and the staff helpful and friendly. Spa facilities were excellent and the indoor pool terrific.Throughout the resort are wonderful country antiques, which add an immeasurable element of charm. Even the hot tub feels like its part of a gold mine! And the nearby town of June Lake is postcard perfect!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Judy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2012

My husband and I spent two nights in one of the deluxe rooms at the Double Eagle and wish we had made arrangements to spend an extra night or two. Our room was very nice and comfortable with a deck overlooking the pond and the canyon walls surrounding this resort. The room and bath suite were large, giving us ample space to feel at home. We made use of the spa and gym which was an exceptional addition to our stay. The weak offering in what Double Eagle provides is their restaurant and the service in the restaurant. If you are going to bother having a restaurant, you should care enough to run it well. The Double Eagle Restaurant really needs a manager. The food was alright but the service is spotty and at times bad.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jeanne707
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2012

Our family enjoyed the setting, quality of the lodging, the food in the restaurant, and the overall excellent service of the staff. The 2 bedroom cabin was perfect for our small family get-together. We enjoyed a fire every night in our comfortable living room. The bedrooms were comfortable and spacious and the kitchen well appointed. The bonus of the health spa was "the frosting on the cake." It is an outstanding facility that added a "touch of class" to our high country getaway. Oh, I forgot to mention that our 3 year old grandson loved feeding the ducks and counting the many times the fish jumped in the trout pond.

Room Tip: The single story cabin next to the spa was perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jripple1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2012

This is a beautiful location outside of JUne Lake with a waterfall view. Feels like the Alps.
Very nice resort rooms with mountain cabin decor. Good sized room and bath. Overlooks a fish pond. A wonderful spa is part of the resort and has very nice women's accomodations.
The restaurant is OK - not much good eating around June Lake. Better to drive to Mammoth Lakes to eat. This is quiet location and great for a relaxing summer getaway.

Room Tip: All the resort room face the pond but we liked being in the end cabin
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank hyknski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2012

I really like this place. I've stayed in both the cabins and in the 'luxury suites'. The cabins are OK. If you want a kitchen, fireplace and a two bedroom suite style cabin, then this will probably work for you. The luxury rooms are nice. They are not 'high end' rooms, but the beds are comfortable and the rooms are decent. I've never thought much of the restaurant. The menu is uninspired. The wine selections are decent. I stayed here over New Years and the special event $90 per person meal was sub par. My wires lobster was undercooked and both of our medium rare filets were well done. Disappointing. We might stay here again when visiting June Lake but will either steer clear of the restaurant of just lower our expectations.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank scarletsrun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2011

We have gone to the Double Eagle for about 5 years in a row. If your in the luxury rooms it very nice. Don't get a cabin, it's fifty, hasn't had any up keep or remodeling in many years. Full of spider webs in the cabin, carpets are so dirty, the couch that makes in to a double was broken. And for the price for 2 days was $700.00 with tax. You would not believe the towels, they where as hard as sand paper and at my house I would of used them for rag's they where all worn and ragged, the bedding was so old and worn I would have use it for my dogs bedding. We love the restaurant and the grounds. It's losing it charm when you have to pay for those kind of prices and again for the cabin to be so run down. I have sent a letter to the owner, but of course I never received anything back from them. LOVE June Lake, but sorry Double Eagle your loss.

Room Tip: Stay away from the cabins they are in need of remodeling and CLEANING.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank LovetotravelReno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near June Lake
10.6 mi away
The Village Lodge
The Village Lodge
#1 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
862 reviews
25 mi away
The Majestic Yosemite Hotel
The Majestic Yosemite Hotel
#1 of 3 in Yosemite National Park
2,688 reviews
8.9 mi away
Mammoth Mountain Inn
Mammoth Mountain Inn
#7 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
1,497 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Heidelberg Inn
Heidelberg Inn
#4 of 7 in June Lake
106 reviews
10.7 mi away
Westin Monache Resort Mammoth
Westin Monache Resort Mammoth
#3 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
1,185 reviews
0.2 mi away
Whispering Pines Motel
Whispering Pines Motel
#7 of 7 in June Lake
92 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Double Eagle Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Double Eagle Resort and Spa

Address: 5587 Hwy 158, June Lake, CA 93529
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > June Lake
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in June Lake
Price Range: $132 - $278 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Double Eagle Resort and Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets and Travelocity so you can book your Double Eagle Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Double Eagle Hotel June Lake
Double Eagle Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing