We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Out of this world breakfast!!!”

The Silver Lake Cafe
Ranked #2 of 10 Restaurants in June Lake
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
Description: across the road from silver lake where the general store and cabins are.
Restaurant details
Description: across the road from silver lake where the general store and cabins are.
Lake Charles, Louisiana, United States
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Out of this world breakfast!!!”
Reviewed May 28, 2014

While staying at June Lake, we ate here every morning for breakfast. It was amazing. The locals told us about this place, so we were glad to try it out. The dining area is small, but we lucked out and hit it at a great time every morning. We loved everything we tried (and we tried LOTS of things). The plate-sized pancakes were delicious (I had the apple cinnamon pancakes one morning). Would highly recommend this restaurant if you are staying in the area.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank LynnFailsDent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    61
    23
    5
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Glendale, California
2 reviews
“We love this place. Excellent veggie sandwich. Great Breakfast.”
Reviewed September 12, 2013

Not only great food but lots of action to watch. Busy but very organized. The view to the Lake is beautiful.
Fun to people watch.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Labtime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California, United States
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great for breakfast”
Reviewed August 9, 2013

Great for breakfast and I wish they’d be open for dinner.
Most items are large, good for two, especially if you add a couple of pancakes to an order of scrambled eggs or omelet.
Taste is excellent, one of the best breakfasts I had.
The only downside is a long wait to be seated due to a small size of the cafe, half of an hour is not unusual even on weekdays in the summer.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Alexei K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, AZ
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Tiny, but great home style food”
Reviewed August 8, 2013

The food here was fantastic, and the service was prompt and efficient. We didn't get to try the pie - but it smelled pretty good. Unfortunately, this place is super TINY, and with limited hours there is almost always a very long wait. There isn't much space to wait in, so you end up sort of milling about a trinket shop and getting in each other's way. Leave plenty of extra time if you're eating here!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank wrae_lo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
saratoga, california
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“So nice to have very good far from home”
Reviewed August 1, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Silver Lake Cabins and ate at their Cafe. Good, good food, and the service was excellent. We enjoyed having breakfast there for 2 mornings. I had their french toast and my husband had a combo with french toast, ham, 1 egg. The water for hot tea was actually hot, not luke warm as in several places. The next day I had the veggie omlet, very large, you could split the dish and my husband had a mexican style omelet with jalapenos, cheese, bacon and other goodies. Very friendly, very clean, organized and timely service. We would definitely go back again for their food.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sposa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Silver Lake Cafe also viewed

 

Been to The Silver Lake Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing