We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful skiing” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of June Mountain

June Mountain
Ranked #1 of 12 things to do in June Lake
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A resort offering great skiing, snowboarding and other snow play recreation in this quiet nook of the High Sierra.
California
Level Contributor
30 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Wonderful skiing”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2014

June Mountain has re-opened this year. Unfortunately there hasn't been as much snow as hoped for, but enough to have a good ski day. The mountain isn't as huge as Mammoth Mountain, but the runs are fun, and the lift lines are small. Many Owens Valley locals go here. This year children under 12 ski for free. And a lot of elders ski here, too, like me because it's not as overwhelming as Mammoth, but there are still challenging runs for more advanced folks. It's got amazing views from the lodge where you can eat your lunch while seeing Gull, June, and Mono Lakes. There are 2 mountains at this resort- Rainbow Mountain and June Mountain. From the top of June Mountain you can even see Boundary Peak in Nevada. Love this place.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank californiapam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    43
    15
    2
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brighton
Level Contributor
138 reviews
47 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Hidden Away”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2014

We were toying June Lake and stumbled across this resort. Fancying a cup of tea and coffee, we stopped off. We were directed to the mountain top. $10 each but we got our money back if we returned in 2 hours. Never been on anything to do with skiing, so we bit the bullet for the experience.

We jumped on this seating device and dangled at times whilst it stopped; then slowly moved up the top. Fearing that Bridget Jones experience, we both managed to topple off at the right time.

Great views and enthusiastic staff. Drinks were fine also.

Stayed there in the blazing sun, enjoyed the thrill of the venture then fearfully returned to the base of the mountain on the dangling chair thingy. Reclaimed our $20 and bought the T Shirt as a souvenir!!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank tourerBrighton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Thin Snow but Opening day was fun”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 15, 2013

They need more snow. Opening day had only one run open. But we were happy to be back! The wagons in the parking lot make it REALLY easy to move the gear for an entire family. We have 7 year old twins. Loved the wagons!

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank BobDinOc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san Diego
Level Contributor
156 reviews
54 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Heaven”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2012

Driving around the lake and taking in the majestic mountains was heavenly.The small town was perfect for a relaxing getaway

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank sanDiegoTrippy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coarsegold, California
Level Contributor
53 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Nice Skiing”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2012

TIred of the lines at Mammoth? Drive north a lil ways and ski here. To get to the main lodge you have to take a ski lift.. then go thru the lodge and get onto the lifts you wish to ski.

Helpful?
2 Thank YosemiteJane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed June Mountain also viewed

 

Been to June Mountain? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing