We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice retreat for our anniversary”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Julian
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Orchard Hill Country Inn
Ranked #1 of 11 Julian B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 2, 2013

We wanted some place close by for our anniversary and chose the Orchard Hill Country Inn, in Julian, which is just an hour away. The grounds of the Inn are lovely and provided a nice quite area to walk and/or sit. Although our room was quite small, it was very clean and well maintained. Chocolates by the bed were great! We enjoyed the wine and hors d'oeuvres and talking with the other guests in the afternoon. We had reservations at the Inn for dinner and it was very good. I was a little disappointed that we were seated at a small table next to the entrance wall when other tables were available and remained that way throughout our dinner. The owner said those were reserved for returning guests. Since this was our first visit, we could not be seated there. Breakfast on the veranda in the morning was wonderful with many choices. The owner was a very attractive, fun person and we enjoyed her friendly banter. We look forward to returning so that we can be seated next to a window for dinner.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank loisjoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (284)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

155 - 161 of 284 reviews

Reviewed August 29, 2013

We loved the warm hospitality of the staff and the owners were wonderful. We would like to o back every year! The food was great!!! Do no miss the breakfast or dinner. Make reservations for dinner. They hav the dinners on certain nights so make sure to ask. The view from the dining area is wonderfully relaxing.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Opensky3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2013

We've periodically visited Julian for the last 25 years and usually stay at the Orchard Hill Inn for three nights. We've stayed at the inn during winter, summer and spring and all worked although we did have snow one winter. The cottages are excellent and spacious. I think some room redecorating has been done. The owners are around to greet, chat and help. The inn recognizes previous customers and those celebrating special occasions. Food is excellent. We plan to return for a 6th? visit.

Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank packcal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2013

Just spent a great Saturday afternoon and Sunday morning here. Everyone was caring and attentive, and the grounds are well cared for and nicely rural. Get there before 4:00 to take advantage of the wine, cheese, and other hor d'oeuvres. The wine is locally made and excellent. The dinner was outstanding; I highly recommend the beef dishes. The Inn gets their beef from a small cattle rancher in the Imperial Valley, so it's very fresh and is of the highest quality. Keep in mind that dinner service is business informal, so bring a nice shirt, trousers, etc. No tie needed, tho.

The Inn is a short walk away from downtown Julian, which is a nice way to spend a few hours. The Inn is also far enough away that traffic noise is not a problem, even outside of the rooms. The Inn also has it's own, man-made, creek and pool with chairs, tables and a hammock, perfect for enjoying the evenings.

The cottages are very nice, most seem to have three double rooms each. When we were there, the Inn wasn't crowded, so we were the only occupants of our cottage. The rooms are excellent, very clean and well maintained. Each room has a Jacuzzi tub, and a DVD/VHS player, and the Inn maintains a library of tapes and DVD's to loan to the guests.

Contrary to TripAdvisor's rating system, there is no swimming pool or fitness center. They should have an N/A rating available.

In general, I highly recommend this as a place for a "get away from it all" vacation, a nice place to spend some nice quiet time away from noise and crowds.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kenneth G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2013 via mobile

We purchased a two night stay on Living Social to celebrate my husband's birthday.. Our time here was perfect in every way.. We met the owners and the staff was excellent! Great happy hour and breakfast... Beautifully decorated and comfortable room... Cookies in the room:-)

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rboydinlb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2013

My husband and I met Pat and Darrell, the gracious and kind owners, Saturday evening before dinner. There were, they said, "All about couples." We say they absolutely got it right!

To be clear, if you are seeking true peace and quiet, you will get it here. The well tended grounds were beautifully tucked away above the "main drag" of Julian. We enjoyed an abundance of lovely wildflowers and native trees and bushes as we hiked the little path to the man-made pond. In the afternoon, we sat sipping our (complimentary) white wine on a comfortable bench beneath the shade of a pine tree and watched birds bathe and drink from the pond. The moment we sat down, our bodies gave out a collective sigh of relief. We marveled at the hawks soaring overhead, listened to a symphony of birds calling from the tree tops and watched a pair of quail hunt about for food beneath the manzanitas. We knew instantly that the purpose of this inn was relaxation.

Our cute little cottage room was warmly decorated and very comfortable. We slept well in our extremely soft bed, enjoyed the sunset on the porch, and relaxed in the huge Jacuzzi tub. Everything was spit-spot clean. We had plenty of towels, coffee, pillows, and blankets. We enjoyed the air-conditioning when it grew hotter than we expected one afternoon and the ceiling fan later when we needed only a little cooling off.

They served a perfect variety of food for breakfast. One could enjoy granola, cereal, yogurt, fresh fruit, bacon, sausage, scrambled eggs, potatoes, fresh bread/toast, fresh scones, apple cider, orange juice, coffee and tea.

Dinner on Saturday night was wonderful. Susan, who checked us in to the inn and showed us our accommodations also served us our meal. She was very attentive and gracious. The gazpacho was tasty, the salad was delightful and I was very happy with my swordfish. My husband loved the tri-tip and the bread pudding dessert with lemon sauce.

I would highly recommend a stay to anyone who needs a serious get-away. We would not recommend a stay for those who seek fast-paced, exciting night-life or a party spot. That's what Vegas is for! ;-) And honestly, Julian is just an hour away from San Diego and Temecula! Stay here for the peace, quiet, comfort and relaxation and enjoy your day happily romping about San Diego or Temecula!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CSterling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2013

We didn't search long to find this gem! A welcome greeting, personal service, all the amenities we hoped for. the food was so delicious and well-presented. Star-gazing at night with a glass of wine in our private verandah and such a quaint and wonderful little town just a stones throw away.
The fireplace in the room, the jacuzzi tub and the utter quiet when we wanted it... relaxing, romantic and renewing.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bonnieriver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Julian hotels
0.3 mi away
Julian Lodge
Julian Lodge
#1 of 4 in Julian
133 reviews
0.2 mi away
Julian Gold Rush Hotel
Julian Gold Rush Hotel
#2 of 11 in Julian
267 reviews
0.8 mi away
Wikiup Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Apple Tree Inn
Apple Tree Inn
#3 of 4 in Julian
47 reviews
0.4 mi away
Julian Country Inn
Julian Country Inn
#8 of 11 in Julian
12 reviews
0.3 mi away
Eaglenest Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Orchard Hill Country Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Orchard Hill Country Inn

Address: 2502 Washington Street, PO Box 2410, Julian, CA 92036
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Julian
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Julian
Price Range: $288 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Orchard Hill Country Inn is a AAA Four Diamond inn located in historic Julian, California. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Orchard Hill Country Hotel Julian
Country Inn Julian
Julian Country Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing