We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Wonderful B&B in the heart of Downtown Julian"”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Julian Gold Rush Hotel
Ranked #2 of 11 Julian B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 30, 2010

For my wife's birthday, she just wanted to get away from town - away from phones, computers, TVs, work... but luckily not me. We got a great price for a Sunday night and arriving early, had our pick of 4 upstairs rooms. We chose the US Grant Room #3 because we liked the corner location with windows on two walls. Overlooking busy Main St (weekends are very crowded with tourists) be aware that Julian is a top destination for Harley-Davidson riders. I personally enjoyed the "potato potato" sound - my wife not so much. This room was very tiny with a split bathroom - shower and toilet at one corner, and the sink on the opposite corner. Passing each other was like negotiating an airplane aisle, but it just added to the coziness. The bed was quite comfortable and overall, the room was perfect for a quick romantic getaway. Afternoon tea at 5pm was a nice touch, but my South African-born wife stated that a "proper" tea starts between 3 and 4 pm. And despite the lack of any electronic devices in the room, the hotel offers WiFi for the truly addicted. When we need another break from our routine, Julian Gold Rush will be our first call.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank aeropapa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (261)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

233 - 239 of 261 reviews

Reviewed March 29, 2010

My husband whisked me away one weekend from San Diego up to Julian when we first started dating. From the flowers the staff had placed in our room at my husband's request, to the lovely breakfasts we had, I knew that weekend that this was the man I was going to marry. We've been married 4 years now and returned to the B&B on our first anniversary before we moved away from San Diego, but I guarantee that if we ever get back to Julian, the Gold Rush is the only place we will stay!

Stayed: February 2007, traveled as a couple
1  Thank NicholeP1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2010

After reading an article in the paper a couple of weeks ago we decided to take a trip to Julian, we had not been there in over 15 years. The Julian Gold Rush Hotel was a very good choice. The historical hotel is right in the center of town on Main street so once you check in you can walk everywhere. Everyone at the reception was super friendly, both the afternoon tea and the breakfast were tasty. We initially reserved one of the less expensive rooms upstairs in the main building but after looking at the different options decided to up-grade. The rooms in the second floor in the main building are TINY, most of them have the queen size beds against one wall and no night stands. For an extra $10 a night we chose a room downstairs with a private entrance. The room was still small but acceptable, bathroom is tiny but the shower was great. Julian is a sleepy town, there is not much to do and mid week the town shuts down by 7:30PM. If you are looking for a place to rest and get away from it all than Julian is right for you.
Also, if you want to have some really good apple pie, skip the long lines at Mom's or The Julian pie company and instead head to a small place away from main street called The Candied Apple. Their chef uses real butter and the pie is delicious.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Claucat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2010

It's easy to see why this is the highest rated inn in Julian. This is such a quaint, calm place that feels warm and cozy. With no TV or phones, relax and play a board game in the parlor. Or pick a book from the many available in the lobby or parlor. Your room will be small, but you won't want to spend too much time there anyway. Afternoon tea was pleasant, and breakfast was tasty, plentiful, and nutritious.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DavidLou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2010

We decided to stay for one night at the Julian hotel for my wife's bday. We arrived around 230pm. This was perfect because we had our choice of four different rooms on the second floor. We choose room 9 because it had the biggest bathroom. The room was small but perfect for a romantic getaway. The bathroom was clean and bright. Afternoon tea was great with hot tea, coffee, and apple cider. There was also treats to eat. The entire day was raining and very windy. The hotel had many board games, puzzles, and old books to look through.
The location was awesome walking distance to everything in town. The power went off for about 20 mins during the storm, was scary but fun. We ate dinner at Ramanos Dodge House right across the street.
The queen size bed in our room was comfortable and the room was very quiet.
The breakfast the next morning was awesome. We were served a bowl of granola to start. Then we received french toast with apples ontop, acompanied with vanilla sauce and fresh fruit.
Overall we had a great time and would love to come back to the Julian Gold Rush Hotel.

    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank norm2h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2009

It was a last minute idea, a weekend getaway for two. I booked the room the same day we arrived. Since it was in Oct the room was $95 per night for a second floor room. We got our pick of the available rooms and although small they were perfect. We arrived for tea time, awesome! Also the next morning we got an delicious breakfast. There are no T.Vs in the rooms but no problem for us. It was afterall a chance to getaway.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ismarylinares
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2009

Julian really thrives on its "old-time" feel and the Gold Rush Hotel complements this brilliantly with the building style and decor. However the amenities and service are right up to date. I had one of the first-floor rooms, not big by current standards and would have been cosy for 2 people but perfectly adequate for one with lots of space for clothes and luggage. The shower room was well-designed and equipped.
The welcome was warm and the afternoon tea was a treat. Breakfast both days was very good with imagnative variations on the more standard breakfast fare often served in these places. Special requests were catered for without fuss.
Overall a great place to stay in this part of Southern California.
Julian itself is busy at weekends but the weekdays are quieter so be prepared for some restaurants to be closed and if wine/beer is important with your dinner, best to check carefully if the place is licensed.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank allesca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Julian
18.2 mi away
La Casa del Zorro Resort & Spa
La Casa del Zorro Resort & Spa
#1 of 3 in Borrego Springs
487 reviews
0.1 mi away
Eaglenest Bed and Breakfast
2.8 mi away
Apple Tree Inn
Apple Tree Inn
#3 of 4 in Julian
47 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Tucker Peak Lodge
Tucker Peak Lodge
#10 of 11 in Julian
85 reviews
0.9 mi away
Wikiup Bed and Breakfast
0.4 mi away
Julian Country Inn
Julian Country Inn
#8 of 11 in Julian
12 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Julian Gold Rush Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Julian Gold Rush Hotel

Address: 2032 Main St., Julian, CA 92036
Location: United States > California > Julian
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Julian
Price Range: $101 - $145 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Julian Gold Rush Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Priceline so you can book your Julian Gold Rush Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing