We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quaint and romantic”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Julian Gold Rush Hotel
Ranked #2 of 11 Julian B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 16, 2013

We stayed here for three nights in November. Our room was very petite, but charming and I loved the high bed and curling up under all of the covers. The bathroom was clean and the shower nice and powerful.
Breakfast was plentiful and tasty. Afternoon tea and games a quaint experience.
The staff were very friendly and helpful, they helped us to find places to walk in the local area - we enjoyed Mount Vulcan, Hesse Park and the Anza Borrego desert which were all within an hours drive.
My only negative was the piped music in all of the public areas. It was only November and they were playing Christmas carols on a continuous loop. We were staying for 3 nights and things close early in Julian so we ended up spending a lot of time sitting on our bed because the public areas were a bit too Christmassy!
Julian itself is a tourist trap but barely open in November. We enjoyed the Apple pie, but most of the shops are full of tourist trap nonsense and not really worth a visit. There is a lovely art and craft gallery though.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VLP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Radne H, Owner at Julian Gold Rush Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 30, 2014

Thank you for staying with us during the Holidays. We are disappointed to hear you found most stores not to your liking. However glad to hear you found good hiking trails. The trails around Julian, Cuyamaca and Borrego are real treats. If you are interested in things besides the shops Julian does have horseback riding, wineries, gold mines, wolf preserve, craft shows ect. We do have a list on our website. Yes, during the holidays we do have decorations in our lobby and parlour, however the guest rooms are not decorated during those times. We try to play music that reflects the era of the hotel and sometimes we cant control what may be offered on our favorite stations. However we are always available to hear your concerns and do the best we can to change what is being played to suit most guests desires.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (258)
There are newer reviews for Julian Gold Rush Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

154 - 160 of 258 reviews

Reviewed November 30, 2013

Charming B&B, nothing more to say really. The rooms are very cutely decorated, even if a little on the small side. The breakfasts are hearty and tasty and the afternoon tea in the parlour is welcome after a day of exploring (and eating apple pie). More that anything, the staff were super helpful, really going out of their way to help us out with tracking down some packages we had delivered there. Julian is the kind of place where you probably don't need more than a couple of days , but for those couple of days, this is where you want to stay.

Room Tip: They actually let you look round all the open rooms when you check in!
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Naranje
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Radne H, Owner at Julian Gold Rush Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 30, 2014

Thank you for the nice review. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your experience. Yes, rooms on the second floor are quaint due to being part of the original structure. However through out the property larger rooms are available. We look forward to seeing you again for another relaxing getaway.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2013 via mobile

As with any original hotel built during the late 1880s the rooms are going to be a little on the small side but they are rather quaint.

Like many other reviews the breakfast here are very good. They have fresh fruit and we had a nice spinach omelette and then the second morning was a French toast. In addition you also get some of their home mixed granola cereal which is really good. If you want hot chocolate with your breakfast be sure to ask for it.

The afternoon teatime is a combination of small breads and cakes along with coffee. The tea is packaged and there's a selection of around six different types.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Palm_Canyon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Radne H, Owner at Julian Gold Rush Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 30, 2014

We are pleased to hear you enjoyed the history of the hotel and your stay. Yes, the rooms on the second floor are quaint due to being part of the original structure of the hotel. However if size is a concern we do have large rooms available through out the property. We look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2013

We had a great stay at this Bed and Breakfast in the heart of Julian, close to everything.The room was nice, we had our own bathroom, and everyone was very friendly and accommodating. The breakfast of Granola, yogurt, fruit and Eggs Florentine was delightful

Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank cljsharon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Radne H, Owner at Julian Gold Rush Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 30, 2014

We are glad to hear you enjoyed your experience of the hotel. We look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2013

What a delightful and relaxing way to spend a few days away from the hustle and hassle of the city. Quiet, comfortable and charming with a great breakfast and just feet away from the shops and cafes in Julian. Can't wait to go back....again.

Room Tip: Take room 10...our favorite.
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Donster2147
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Radne H, Owner at Julian Gold Rush Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 30, 2014

Thank you for the nice review. We are very glad you enjoyed your stay and look forward to seeing you back in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2013

We stayed at this cute B&B Sunday night after a busy Sunday in the streets full of bikers, visitors, locals, kids, ...you name it. Side note: plan ahead for your lunch since the shortest given wait time was 40 minutes on a Sunday.
Back to the B&B. We were let know that we could check in before 3 since it was ready. As other reviewers said the rooms are small, but immaculate, lovely furnished with antiques and quilts.Each corner something well put together. We took #7 (the Nimitz room) which is on the northwest corner, so had two windows combined with #6 for my mother and my sister. Comfortable beds, small bathrooms but adequate enough. Free WiFi. There is AC/heater, but the weather was great so just kept the windows opened. No TV on the room, loved it.

At check in we were let know that at 5pm they serve tea. Pleasant surprise to walk into the smell of freshly baked scones. They also served a cute combination of muffins, cookies (loved Dudley's raspberry cream filled cookies) and biscotti's. Hot and cold tea, cider and hot coffee. Played games and socialized with other guests. They close the parlor at 9PM but we left before that for a great flaming cider drink at the Julian Grill (cinnamon whisky with apple cider).

Breakfast was served in the parlor from 8-9AM. Had the famous granola (of which we purchased bags upon check out), OJ plus eggs Florentine, fresh fruit, yogurt, and some toasted Dudley's Bakery bread. Tables for four, which were not offered for sharing, so we had to wait but not much and the greeter was very nice and friendly.

All in all it was a very pleasant stay at this historic B&B, and we plan to return.

Room Tip: Room 6 and 7 in the second floor are really good for a family where 7 is a bit bigger than 6.
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kristina062
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Radne H, Owner at Julian Gold Rush Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 30, 2014

We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your experience at the hotel and enjoyed all the town and hotel has to offer. We look forward to seeing you in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2013

My husband and I came up to get away from all the hustle and bustle in LA and this was the perfect place to stay! We stayed upstairs and it felt like you stepped back in time! What an awesome place. We had a great night sleep after a long day of walking around the town and visiting the local wineries. The had an afternoon time which was perfect to break up the day and the next morning we had a wonderful breakfast in the dining room. The staff was very helpful and very freindly. I hope we can steal a week end again and stay at the Julian Gold Rush Hotel again.

Room Tip: We chose a back room becuase we did not want to have to listen to the cars on the main street...thou...
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Frances G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Radne H, Owner at Julian Gold Rush Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 30, 2014

We are very pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay and relaxed away from busy life. We hope to see you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Julian
18.2 mi away
La Casa del Zorro Resort & Spa
La Casa del Zorro Resort & Spa
#1 of 3 in Borrego Springs
482 reviews
2.8 mi away
Apple Tree Inn
Apple Tree Inn
#3 of 4 in Julian
47 reviews
2.0 mi away
Tucker Peak Lodge
Tucker Peak Lodge
#10 of 11 in Julian
85 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Wikiup Bed and Breakfast
0.1 mi away
Eaglenest Bed and Breakfast
0.3 mi away
Oak Hill Inn
Oak Hill Inn
#7 of 11 in Julian
26 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Julian Gold Rush Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Julian Gold Rush Hotel

Address: 2032 Main St., Julian, CA 92036
Location: United States > California > Julian
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Julian
Price Range: $112 - $145 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Julian Gold Rush Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing