We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't Miss This Chance”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Julian
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Butterfield Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #5 of 11 Julian B&B and Inns
Reviewed May 4, 2010

I wanted to get my husband away for some R&R. The only thing we found missing at The Black Oak Cabin were cookie sheets, so that I could bake my husband his favorite oatmeal cookies. The cabin now has even that, as we purchased them and left them for others that visit and for our own use when we return. And, we do intend to return. We were so at home in the cabin that we didn't want to leave. There were seven sitting areas outside alone for the use of the cabin guests. Everything we needed or wanted to make our stay comfortable was right there, right down to the mountain sage herbal soap. The Inn Keepers (Ed and Dawn) are wonderful. While touring one of the area wineries we ran into them and got to enjoy a chat, brie cheese and wine with them. We have always loved Julian. We now have another reason to go, the Black Oak Cabin, Ed & Dawn. We are already talking about our next stay there. We have told everyone we know about the place. It is truly a home away from home, and I'm one that loves home.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 2RestUp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (117)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

62 - 68 of 117 reviews

Reviewed March 25, 2010

We stayed here recently in order to visit Anza Borrego. Julian is located in the mountains about 40 minutes away from the headquarters of Anza Borrego. I would highly recommend staying at this B&B. The hosts are super friendly and the breakfasts were great! We stayed in the small room in the downstairs of the main house and I would like to stay in another room if we ever go back. It was a little noisy in that room from the guests upstairs.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dopeschool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2010

Very good and clean accommodations. The rooms were appointed nicely and not overdone. The breakfasts were very artistic, delicious, and of a reasonable size. Cookies in the cookie jar were always a treat. The Apple Sweet room with the real wood fireplace was a delight to have during the cool March nights.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WIBirdwatchers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2010

First time at a b&b, and after some searching around for the right one, we stayed here in the Apple Sweet room in early November. It was a great time to go to Julian, and everything about the stay was impeccable! It seems they thought of everything! I was really impressed by the amount of detail and thought that went into everything. My first impression of of the living and dining areas were great, everything was dressed up for Thanksgiving and it felt so festive and warm! We LOVED having a fireplace in the room! It was all around a great weekend and an excellent choice!

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jwmj101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2009

A most wonderful place to get away from the city! Gorgeous setting, beautiful grounds, and most gracious hosts. Had a wonderful stay in the Country Corner, complete with rubber duckies in the bathtub. The breakfasts were absolutely scrumptuous as were the desserts in the afternoon. Wishing I could have stayed longer, but I left with a happy and relaxed heart and mind. Looking forward to my next trip!!!!

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cjire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2009

Butterfield Bed & Breakfast is the perfect stay for a cozy, relaxing trip. The rooms were clean and comfortable. The owners were extremely hospitable and welcoming. The food delicious, and the atmosphere so calm, so relaxing, it made me want to come back and spend Christmas there. They also were very sure to make our room as appropriate for our stay as possible. We have a small child and then brought in a diaper pail, crib, put outlet covers on all the outlets, etc. Definitely recommend this place, for anyone.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank blackcm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2009

Thanks, Dawn and Ed, for a great mid-week getaway. The accommodations were lovely, we especially enjoyed the comfort of the living room to lounge and peruse your fantastic book collection, as well as the wide assortment of movies to choose from. The Back Porch was a real treat, especially when we got a craving for something to drink and snack on before bedtime. Your gourmet breakfast was so awesome we weren't hungry until dinner time! The rustic homey setting of Julian and the rural mountain surroundings offered fun side trips and some antique shopping. We had a great time, and plan a return visit!
K & J, Long Beach, CA

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Joey555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Julian hotels
0.8 mi away
Julian Lodge
Julian Lodge
#1 of 4 in Julian
133 reviews
0.8 mi away
Julian Gold Rush Hotel
Julian Gold Rush Hotel
#2 of 11 in Julian
267 reviews
0.7 mi away
Eaglenest Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Apple Tree Inn
Apple Tree Inn
#3 of 4 in Julian
47 reviews
0.6 mi away
Wikiup Bed and Breakfast
2.7 mi away
Tucker Peak Lodge
Tucker Peak Lodge
#10 of 11 in Julian
86 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Butterfield Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Butterfield Bed and Breakfast

Address: 2284 Sunset Dr, P.O. Box 1115, Julian, CA 92036-9447
Location: United States > California > Julian
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Julian
Price Range: $135 - $185 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Butterfield B & B is located in the Whispering Pines neighborhood of Julian on a three-acre wooded hillside approximately one mile from the downtown area. We have five guest rooms, a parlor, and guest pantry. Amenities include private in-room bathrooms, free WiFi, cable TV, VCR, DVD, CD players, extensive video library, books, games, and fireplaces in three of the rooms. A full two-course breakfast is also included and we are able to work with your special dietary needs. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Butterfield Hotel Julian
Butterfield b&b

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing