We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cannot wait to come back!”
Review of Black Oak Cabin

Black Oak Cabin
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Julian
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Black Oak Cabin
Ranked #5 of 13 Specialty Lodging in Julian
Los Angeles, California
1 review
“Cannot wait to come back!”
Reviewed February 20, 2014

We just returned from a wonderful weekend in Julian; made all the better by staying in the Black Oak Cabin. It was immaculate and .stocked with everything that one might need.
Dawn and Ed were most hospitable and helpful, it is really like staying in someones delightful home with really great neighbors.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christine D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

10 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
5
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Washington Dc, District Of Columbia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 12, 2013

My husband and I stay at private cabins quite a bit when we travel, because we like the privacy and ability to prepare your own meals. BOC has pretty much the best array of cooking gadgets, utensils, and necessities we've seen to date anywhere we've stayed. We have come not to even expect a wine bottle or can opener, but we couldn't think of a single item we were missing. It was wonderful to be able to cook whatever we wanted.

The cabin is also really cozy. We enjoyed using the pot belly stove to have a fire every night (we were there in early January). We definitely would like to return.

The ad says it's in walking distance to downtown, but this is not so in the winter when the days are shorter, since there are no lights on the roads.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KHWilson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cedar Glen, California
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2012

I booked the Black Oak Cabin at the last minute for an impromptu getaway with my husband. It's a little pricier than I would have liked but it was truly a wonderful little place to stay. Ed and Dawn were wonderful, thoughtful and helpful but not obtrusive, and the cabin was just wonderfully cozy and comfortable. Very, very clean and appointed with everything you need to be comfy. The bed was wonderful. (Just a hint: If you're planning on making any of your own meals, bring your food with you as the nearest decent grocery store is 22 miles away, although there are a couple of markets in Julian that have the essentials.) The decor is homey and comfy (altho the couches in the living room have sloping issues -- one tends to slope toward the front and the other toward the back, but they weren't uncomfortable by any means), and the wood stove is a really nice touch. Even though it wasn't cold when we visited, we lit a fire anyway for the ambience (and then opened the slider!). The back neck is wonderful, complete with a very nice barbecue; the outside swings are nice, and the hammock is a great touch. Beautiful, woodsy, contained-but-wild landscaping with herbs and irises galore. Perfect place if you (a) want privacy and (b) don't mind making your own bed. No housekeeping services but that just made it feel more like "our" place for the weekend. Definitely would go there again.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sue-Bill H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Forest, CA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 29, 2010

We celebrated our 32nd anniversary by staying 3 nights at the Black Oak. It's a little pricer than some of the cabins, but worth it. We've been coming to Julian annually for 25 years and we have stayed in many cabins/homes. I have to say this one is the cleanest and has everything that you need for a pleasant stay. They have coffee, tea, hot cider and hot chocolate available and also some microwave popcorn to enjoy along with your favorite movie (they have a nice selection of movies). The cabin is nicely decorated and the bed is quite comfortable. There is lovely patio furniture (and a hammock) available for relaxing outside.

We also enjoy that it's close enough to town to walk in (only about a mile). We need to walk to help burn the costly calories of the fabulous chocolate malts that we get at the Julian Drug Store & Miner Diner. Yum!

The owners, Ed and Dawn, are delightful. This was our 3rd stay at the Black Oak and we'll be back again.

Sue & Don Butler

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SueDonB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chula Vista CA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 21, 2009

My daughter and I stayed here Sept 18, 19 and left on the 20th .. This cabin is so cozy, warm and homey. The folks Dawn and her husband were so friendly and helpful just like visiting family. The cabin is fully furnished and soooo clean . they have everything but your food and clothes there. It's just like visiting with family. They even have a guitar there that my daughter (she is special needs) played morning , noon and evening and I was a little worried but dawn said to let her go ahead and play with it.. it is air-conditioned and has wood burning stove and regular heat so was cool, and pleasant at night .. I also want to thank them for the wild turkeys acrossed the street on Sunday am :O)

thank you both again for a wonderful weekend Pauline & Breann

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank roxprin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange County
2 reviews
Reviewed May 11, 2007

If you value your getaway time and appreciate sincere, genuine hospitality, the Black Oak Cabin is an experience you will treasure. Owners Ed and Dawn have bent over backwards to ensure that nothing has been overlooked to ensure your stay is spent in down-home comfort and serenity.

This charming cabin possesses all that you'll ever need, from the spacious front porch complete with swing, an ample dining-living room, completely equipped bathroom and comfortable bedroom. The view of the trees,visits by birdlife unique to the mountains at 4000 ft., and frog concerts at night made the return to the city a dreary prospect. Every room is equipped with everything one would ever need for a relaxing trip.

If tranquility, peace, and natural beauty are valuable to you, the Black Oak Cabin is just the ticket. It is one of Julian's best kept secrets. Owners Ed and Dawn have poured their hearts, souls, and lots of blood and sweat in the small touches that will make the Black Oak Cabin a lifelong memory for all those who make their stay here.

Paul & Susan

  • Liked — peaceful and serene
  • Disliked — going home
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Paul92656
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2007

We stayed at Black Oak Cabin for a girls getaway. The facilities were well-equipped, with everything anyone could ever need in the kitchen. The wood burning stove was wonderful. The selection of movies, DVDs and games was great. The cabin owners were kind and welcoming.

Stayed February 2007
Helpful?
Thank lanavan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Julian hotels
2.7 mi away
Tucker Peak Lodge
Tucker Peak Lodge
#9 of 11 in Julian
84 reviews
0.6 mi away
Wikiup Bed and Breakfast
0.8 mi away
Julian Gold Rush Hotel
Julian Gold Rush Hotel
#2 of 11 in Julian
245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Oak Hill Inn
Oak Hill Inn
#6 of 11 in Julian
25 reviews
1.1 mi away
Julian Country Inn
Julian Country Inn
#8 of 11 in Julian
12 reviews
3.5 mi away
Apple Tree Inn
Apple Tree Inn
#3 of 4 in Julian
46 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Black Oak Cabin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Black Oak Cabin

Property: Black Oak Cabin
Address: 2284 Sunset Dr, P.O. Box 517, Julian, CA 92036-9447
Location: United States > California > Julian
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 13 Specialty Lodging in Julian
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 1
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Black Oak Cabin is a one-bedroom/one-bath cabin located in the Whispering Pines neighborhood approximately one-half mile from downtown Julian on a half-acre gently sloping wooded hillside. It has a fully equipped kitchen, wood burning stove, propane BBQ, queen bed in the master bedroom and a full size sleeper sofa in the living room and can sleep up to four people. Amenities include linens, cookware, dishes, coffee, popcorn, firewood, bathrobes, hairdryer, cable TV, VCR, DVD, CD player, extensive video library available, free WiFi, books, games, guitar, and offstreet parking. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Black Oak Cabin Hotel Julian

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing