We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Hike in Julian”

Volcan Mountain Wilderness Preserve
Ranked #6 of 38 things to do in Julian
Attraction details
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good Hike in Julian”
Reviewed November 2, 2013

We found out from the Hotel we stayed in, that there were 2 trails to the summit. The first (lower, you make a right off the mail trail at the marker)) trail isn't straight up the hill, like the main trail, but a series of switchbacks to make it a bit easier to get up the mountain. It is still quite a climb to the Summit though. Bring water and wear sturdy shoes or hiking boots. The trail has a lot of rocks and loose ground on it. The only really bad thing, was the bugs that kept buzzing around my head. The scenery and views were amazing. Go early! It gets hot!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank cljsharon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    12
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
San Diego
Level Contributor
129 reviews
40 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“Great hike”
Reviewed June 12, 2013

Bring water and a lunch and enjoy the views from the top. It's a very nice, diverse hike. Difficulty (1-10 scale) is about a 7.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Albizia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
261 reviews
107 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 205 helpful votes
“Lovely hike! You must go!”
Reviewed October 21, 2012

This was gorgeous-a short 4 mile drive from lovely Julian-this place is not to be missed. On our drive over we saw wild turkeys, vibrant fall colors, and vineyards. We felt so far away from San Diego in the best possible way. The preserve opens at 9am. We got there right at the beginning. We thought the trails would be crowded, but we had it all to ourselves until the last ten minutes coming back. Five Oaks Trail is great-you get sweeping views of the vineyards, hills, and farms. There are signs describing the various vegetation. They do warn of the rattlesnakes and mountain lions. Alas, we did not see any of that. Signs also tell of the fires that happened several years ago. Five Oaks Trail does have quite a few switchbacks, but let the views take your mind off of that. There were a few areas with benches.
They say to bring water and sunscreen. It wasn't so bad in the fall.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Williwillinui
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
31 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Beautiful hike with amazing views”
Reviewed October 12, 2012

We hiked both Volcan Mountain and the Desert View Trail in William Heise. This one was our favorite though. We took the 5 oaks trail up and the regular trail back down. The 5 oaks trail is nicely shaded and has some good flat spots for you to have a little break. We hiked to the summit and did not regret it. From mid summit to summit was probably the easier part of the hike, though I am sure it would be far too hot in the middle of summer and I think it is closed in the winter, but if it is open, then go for it! Once at the top, the views were simply incredible. The marine layer had rolled in to San Diego, so we could not see the pacific, but we were able to see the desert on the other side. The entrance to the hike is really close to all the wineries in Julian, so I would highly recommend the combo of a morning hike, followed by a wine tasting.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank kforstot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Level Contributor
85 reviews
42 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Perfect picnic location”
Reviewed July 3, 2012

Great location to explore, bring a picnic for the top and eat at the bench provided with great views!

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank MaryAnnLens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Volcan Mountain Wilderness Preserve also viewed

 

Been to Volcan Mountain Wilderness Preserve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing