We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Learned quite a bit with lots to see and experience.”

Eagle and High Peak Mine
Ranked #1 of 38 things to do in Julian
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Oak View, California
Level Contributor
38 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Learned quite a bit with lots to see and experience.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2012

My wife and I asked locals about which Mine Tour to do and they said to head to the Eagle Mine just up C Street there in Julian. We took the tour with another 20 something couple and guided by Carl. His grandparents had bought the mine in the 60's and Carl grew up in Julian. Nice temperature change from outside. Carl took us into the mine with stops along the way to explain different points and techniques and answer our questions. It was quite enlightening. We headed out another mine which had purposefully met the Eagle. Well worth the money. Carl certainly knew all about the hill and catacombs of mines. We recommend it for probably 10+. Not sure what family member some visitors had run into, but Carl was excellent.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank BrianFA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

160 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    103
    45
    6
    2
    4
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oceanside, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Educational”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2012

We made a last minute decision to take the mine tour and we are glad we did. It was within walking distance of our bed and breakfast (if you're ok with a couple hills and dirt roads). The tour guide is part of the family that owns the land and mine, which made it very authentic. He was full of historical details that I never knew. Make sure you aren't claustrophobic, because you go in about 1000 ft and there are narrow tunnels and passageways that may freak you out. All in all it was quite interesting and very educational. Highly recommend for families of elementary kids especially.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank 918Nana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sequim, WA
Level Contributor
31 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great Little Tour!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2012

Found this to be a very informative tour. The gentleman guiding the tour had more than adequate info about period mining. Worth speding the money for.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank laurildebaun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fun!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2012

This was a great way to spend a few hours. Fun, informative tour!

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank Carrie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Temecula, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Once is enough”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 30, 2011

We trekked up to the mine a couple of weeks back. I think it was $10 each to tour. Nothing spectacular about the tour. Staff was nice.

They allow you to try your hand at panning for gold, but do not let you keep what you find. This was a bit of a disappointment. You can be pretty sure there's never going to be enough gold in their trough to amount to much.

If you've never visited a hard rock gold mine, go, it is worth it. If you have, skip it, there's plenty else in Julian to do.

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank Cuthahotha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Eagle and High Peak Mine also viewed

 

Been to Eagle and High Peak Mine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing