We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! You come to us for reviews — now you can book your hotel right here on TripAdvisor.

“This is one of my favorite B and B's” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mountain High Bed and Breakfast

Mountain High Bed and Breakfast
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Julian
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Mountain High Bed and Breakfast
Save
You added Mountain High Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
Ranked #7 of 14 Julian B&B and Inns
Westminster
Level Contributor
98 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“This is one of my favorite B and B's”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2009

We actually had our honeymoon here in the Woods Room back in Nov of 1999 when Carol and Mirko owned the B and B. Unfortunately Mirko's health was failing and the property was sold to Scott and his wife. I'm happy to say that Scott is carrying on the fine customer service tradition that Carol provided.

Wonderful breakfasts. Wonderful hosts. The Woods Room is the most romantic room I've ever been in. We have probably stayed there at least 7 times in the past 10 years. I'm only sorry that due to the economy, they are only open for guests twice a month. Makes it difficult to obtain a booking.

  • Stayed December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DianaWestminster_CA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
Families
0
1
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Orange, CA
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2008

We stayed in the Woods Room at the Mountain High B & B, which had a cozy fireplace and a private breakfast served in the room. Robes were supplied for the private jazucci located just outside our room, but our favorite amenity was the observatory! The roof rolls back on this special little building housing the computer and telescope. We all had plenty of chances to view the telescope and our host gave a laser-guided talk to go with our astronomy tour. I would definately go there again!

Helpful?
Thank luvmaui14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
56 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2008

Our only regret about Mountain High B&B is that we stayed for just one night. Scott & Martha have a lovely property just a stone's thrown from Julian that boasts gorgeous flowers, sunsets, and lots of friendly creatures. Bird-watching in the morning while eating the delicious breakfast served in-room was a luxurious joy. Scott built a small observatory, and his excellent "sky tour" was a lot of fun. WIth room for only two sets of guests, you'll feel truly away-from-it-all. We also loved being able to enjoy the moon while soaking in the outdoor, covered hot tub. Prices are very reasonable, and if you're there to celebrate a special occasion, they'll even home-bake you a cake for free! We can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed March 2008
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank hadashi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, CA
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2004

My wife and I stayed there for one night in March 2004, and had a wonderful time. Julian itself is a fairly small and isolated town, and the B+B is even more isolated, a few miles away. The great things about this B+B included being able to pet and feed their horses, the jacuzzi, the fact that there are only two rooms so privacy is maximized, and of course their hospitality. Will definitely recommend to friends.

Helpful?
1 Thank helper94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2003

We visited Julian for 3 nights as part of our honeymoon and found it very peaceful and romantic. We stayed in the Mountain High bed and breakfast. They let out two rooms for couples only. We had the detached Quail Cottage, which consisted of a living room, kitchen and bedroom with a porch on each side of the building, so you can sit in the sun whatever time of day. Breakfast arrived every morning at 9am to our door, so we could sit outside or in. Dressing gowns provided so you don't even have to get dressed. It was nice and secluded and the owners Carol and Mirko are very friendly and leave you alone to get on with your stay.I was fascinated by the local history and most of the buildings reflect the period and you can just imagine the gold rush and it all happening.

Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Julian
18.0 mi away
Ayres Lodge Alpine
Ayres Lodge Alpine
#1 of 2 in Alpine
4.5 of 5 stars 692 reviews
19.1 mi away
La Casa del Zorro
La Casa del Zorro
#1 of 3 in Borrego Springs
4.5 of 5 stars 374 reviews
1.3 mi away
Tucker Peak Lodge
Tucker Peak Lodge
#10 of 14 in Julian
4.0 of 5 stars 74 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Apple Tree Inn
Apple Tree Inn
#3 of 4 in Julian
3.5 of 5 stars 38 reviews
1.6 mi away
Oak Hill Inn
Oak Hill Inn
#6 of 14 in Julian
4.5 of 5 stars 23 reviews
1.6 mi away
Julian Country Inn
Julian Country Inn
#9 of 14 in Julian
4.0 of 5 stars 8 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mountain High Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mountain High Bed and Breakfast

Property: Mountain High Bed and Breakfast
Address: 4110 Deer Lake Park Road, Julian, CA
Location: United States > California > Julian
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Julian
Number of rooms: 18
Also Known As:
Mountain High b&b
Mountain High Hotel Julian

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing