We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would recommend to all!”
Review of Apple Tree Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Apple Tree Inn
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Julian
Reviewed June 21, 2008

We stayed at the Apple Tree for 2 nights and would rate this an excellent facility for the money. Charlie is the owner/proprietor and was most helpful and did everything possible to make our stay enjoyable. Room was large, very clean, comfortable beds, great shower/bath combo with plenty of hot water! Swimming pool is small, but clean and sparkling.
The new restuarant next door is Jeremy's....fantastic!!! There were 6 of us; all ordered something different and everybody was happy with both the food, the friendly service, ambience, etc. The presentation of the food is way beyond what you would expect in this "out of the way" location.

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dorjoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (50)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

43 - 49 of 50 reviews

Reviewed June 21, 2008

Great place to get away for the week-end! Nice pool and shady areas for those hot days of summer. Rooms were quaint with beamed ceilings and country quilts. Bathrooms were clean and functional. Great location. 2 restaurants , one next door and 1 across street with nice variety of foods; antique store, Chocolate Factory and Winery within walking distance. Lots of hiking trails nearby with 2 lakes for fishing. Management very friendly and helpful. I definately will go back.

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank SanDiegoWaterbaby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2008

Older but nice clean,recently remodeled rooms.
Quiet, good parking & great new restaurant next door.

Can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed: April 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank girlpoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 19, 2007

I dont get the other reviews of this motel...did we stay at the same place???
The lady at checkin seemed nice enough, however thats where any similarities end. I didnt expect much, but to be totally honest this motel was probably the most basic, tired, outdated hotel we have ever stayed in across the USA. Admittedly it was the only property still available for a last minute booking as we wanted to experience the Julian Tree Lighting ceremony (which by the way, was quite nice but certainly not recommended to overseas guests or people travelling way out of their way). Our room was so old fashioned but not in a quaint way. The bed was really uncomfortable and lined with some sort of plastic cover underneath the fitted sheet that made you sweat all night (and it was a cold night). The bathroom had cracked tiles and walls that had been "patched up"with two inch thick polyfill. We wouldnt recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed: November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank Tarshie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2007

This is a drive up motel style inn about 4 miles outside of Julian. At first I was a little worried, but check in and room entry proved my first perception totally wrong. The hosts are very kind and the room was exceptionally clean with a very comfortable king bed. We had the end room #17 that has a little deck on the side we hung out on with friends who were also staying there. It is right on the highway, but we didn't find our room noisy at night and we were the closest ones to the road. We ate at the pizza place across the road and they had a live sax player - it was great! Closest store we could find was Santa Isabel or Julian, so stock up as you pass those towns with what you need. There is a small winery close by driving toward Santa Isabel - it may be nice to do some taste testing there. We thought the BBQ place near the cemetary in Julian was really good for lunch. We also had a fantastic Sunday brunch at the Pine Hill Lodge which is off Pine Hill road - a right turn half way from Apple Tree to Julian.

  • Stayed: October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Syzygy2992
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2006

Actually the Inn is in the small country village of Wynola which is two miles from Julian.
We had stayed here many years ago and were not overly impressed. This stay was wonderful. The new owners have completely refinished, painted, tiled and decorated the rooms.
When we arrived we were quite early. Our room was ready so we were allowed to check in early which was grand since we were tired and were able to set up and get a nap before we started our day. There was no odor of chemicals or sprays hiding anything. A very fresh comfortable feeling. Our room was totally redone. There is a table and chairs, a separate dressing table with chair, a large four drawer dresser and a large recliner with ottoman. Our room was non-smoking with a king sized bed that was very comfortable. There is also a TV and telephone in the room. Plenty of light in the dressing area and the bathroom also. In room coffee that is replenished as often as you wish. A clean and attractive swimming pool, air and heater round out the comforts.
The only negative was the rooms are a bit pricey. This was a weekend and I neglected to check weekday prices so they may differ.
Would reccomend this hotel for a nice quiet weekend or longer stay. Very friendly staff and the owner is always on prem and available.

  • Stayed: September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank Francis S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Victorville, California
14
Reviewed September 17, 2005

This place is truly wonderful! My boyfriend and I visited in December of 2004 for the holidays and even though we didn't take advantage of the spa/pool we had an awesome time. We were treated very kindly and the service was great, no, not just great but also excellent. I will never forget this place since my boyfriend became my fiance there. We are most definitely coming back!

  • Stayed: December 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Julian
3.1 mi away
Julian Lodge
Julian Lodge
#1 of 3 in Julian
140 reviews
20 mi away
La Casa del Zorro Resort & Spa
La Casa del Zorro Resort & Spa
#1 of 3 in Borrego Springs
529 reviews
2.8 mi away
Julian Country Inn
Julian Country Inn
#8 of 11 in Julian
12 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10 mi away
Riviera Oaks Resorts
Riviera Oaks Resorts
#1 of 3 in Ramona
142 reviews
3 mi away
Julian Gold Rush Hotel
Julian Gold Rush Hotel
#2 of 11 in Julian
278 reviews
19.6 mi away
Borrego Springs Resort & Golf Club, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apple Tree Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apple Tree Inn

Address: 4360 Highway 78, Julian, CA 92036-9623
Location: United States > California > Julian
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Julian
Price Range: $76 - $198 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Apple Tree Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, getaroom.com, Orbitz, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Apple Tree Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apple Tree Hotel Julian
Apple Tree Motel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing