We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“RV Weekend”

William Heise County Park
Ranked #3 of 38 things to do in Julian
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Chula Vista, California
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
“RV Weekend”
Reviewed June 16, 2012

This park has great hiking trails. I enjoyed bird watching and found a spotted owl last year. This year spotted acorn woodpeckers, dark-eyed juncos, wild turkeys, blue jays. We usually stay friday through Sunday. Beautiful park.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank caustin565
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    44
    24
    4
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, Arizona
Level 5 Contributor
42 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great camp sites”
Reviewed May 30, 2012

Beautiful camping spots, wildlife everywhere. They supply firewood.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank dchick_2012_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Escondido, California
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great campsie”
Reviewed May 20, 2012

The campground had many great activities for the kids. Everyone had a great time.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Joanie760
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Park City, Utah
Level 6 Contributor
153 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 150 helpful votes
“Great hiking trails & wild turkeys, too!”
Reviewed March 9, 2012

We needed to get out of the car and stretch our feet..so we were told Heise was the place to go. Entry was $3. The trails were well marked. We chose the Desert View Trail..which combined with a piece of the Canyon View Trail was about 3 miles rdtrip. It was a great workout as it climbed to the top of the ridge. Views were awesome from the top. As we drove through the campgrounds (which were lovely) we saw a bunch of deer and a large flock of gorgeous beautiful turkeys!!

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank loveitoutdoors
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Steep trails, awesome views”
Reviewed November 29, 2011

We thought the trails here were going to be closer to the mellow easy ones at Mission Trail Park. Our bad for not doing our homework. We hoofed it up the Desert View Trail with our infant daughter in a baby carrier and her Bob stroller. Quite a full body workout for us both lugging the stroller up steep slopes. But the view at the top was worth it. Spectacular views of the ocean and Salton Sea from Glenn's View point.

Helpful?
1 Thank HobgoblinMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed William Heise County Park also viewed

 

Been to William Heise County Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing