We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing large pools in the desert”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Julian
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Agua Caliente County Park Campground
Ranked #2 of 13 Specialty Lodging in Julian
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Amazing large pools in the desert”
Reviewed December 28, 2013 via mobile

Great spot to stop on a drive or camp overnight. Coyotes walk right through your camp. Beware with your small dogs. Great hike around park and guided tours on the weekend. The two large pools have an age minimum, which is nice. Lots of birds and cactus. Bring ear plugs for the frogs at night and snoring people camping on the weekend. Go during the weekday if you want peace and quiet.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank Natalie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

19 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    9
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
9
5
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
49 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed November 25, 2013 via mobile

The sky's gorgeous as the sunsets over the cliffs behind the pools. Great camp ground, tents, full RV hook ups, no cable, and great bathroom facilities. There are 3 pools there, however all close to children at 5:30pm. The jacuzzi temperatured mineral pool is open till 9-9:30, depending on when they come kick you out, and is full of many different orientation of people, race, religion, ethnic and, probably sexual...however I never saw anything inappropriate going on while I was there. Some great tanning areas in the spring and fall, maybe too hot in the summer to be out there, but I'm sure there are many that still do! They do have a small store and luckily a pay phone, there's absolutely no cell service or internet service what so ever out there...make sure you let someone know where you are going and when you leave and when you intend to return. The desert floor is incredible and alive, there is a lot of place to home and explore, the kids can take their bicycles to ride and definitely close toed shoes and sunscreen are necessary always when exploring. Bonfires are allowed till 11 p.m., so bring wood, there are even grills supplied so you can put it on the fire and cook! Definitely a good family place to be and enjoy multi night camping or day use, be sure to call and make reservations ahead of time!

Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
5 Thank eamai71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tijuana, Mexico
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2013

We've been going there on Easter weekend for a few years now and it's been great for all ages! the hiking trails, pools and just all around scenery makes it a great trip everytime! The rangers are super friendly as well, they'll even show you animals they catch/rescue and let the kids get up close.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank luzaleport
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2012 via mobile

Planning: booked online. The website has pictures of the individual sites. Pay online. It is in the desert so it is Hot. Water & shade are key to an enjoyable time. Bring your own firewood for camp fire cooking. Dogs allowed!!

Execution: stayed at campsite 117, which was a good size with a decent amount of shade. Reasonably private & spacious. There were some better (more private & more shade) sites but only marginally so. Hiked Moonlight Trail. The cacti spurs got stuck in my wife's leg but other than that it was fairly simple in terms of difficulty.

Amenities: three spring fed pools, showers, toilets, potable water (free), fire rings, picnic tables & trash dumpsters. They even provide free dog Pooh baggie!

All-round great camping. Remember it's hot so find shade & bring water.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
4 Thank Tinkerry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, CA
Level Contributor
28 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2012

I have camped at this campground every spring at least the last 4 years. They keep making improvements to the facilities and have even added another pool. This is desert camping, so there isn't a lot of shade, but the bushes and small trees can help if you have some at your site. You can make your reservation online and pick out the site you want and see a photo of the site. There are fire rings with grills that flip over the fire, but no separate BBQ's at the site.

There are 3 hot spring fed pools, two outdoor and one indoor. The large outdoor pool is usually full of children, but the indoor pool is heated to hot tub temps and is usually a little calmer. There are several bathrooms with showers. Some of the showers are free and others are pay showers, so bring quarters if you don't want to walk to the free showers.

I highly recommend the moonlight trail hike that leaves from the campground. It is a great hike that allows you to see a variety of desert landscapes. In the spring during wildflower season, it is just amazing. At the end of the hike you walk through a wash area that is basically an ocotillo forest.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Vacationgirl_0707
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Springs, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 6, 2012

Great and relaxing campground, with a spring water fed therapy pool that is kept at 100 degrees.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Koke79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Julian
17.6 mi away
La Casa del Zorro
La Casa del Zorro
#1 of 3 in Borrego Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 461 reviews
21.5 mi away
Palm Canyon Hotel & RV Resort
Palm Canyon Hotel & RV Resort
#3 of 3 in Borrego Springs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 183 reviews
10.2 mi away
Stagecoach Trails RV Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.3 mi away
Borrego Valley Inn
Borrego Valley Inn
#1 of 7 in Borrego Springs
5.0 of 5 bubbles 396 reviews
19.7 mi away
Borrego Springs Resort & Golf Club, BW Premier Collection
Borrego Springs Resort & Golf Cl...
#2 of 3 in Borrego Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 74 reviews
21.8 mi away
The Springs at Borrego RV Resort and Golf Course
The Springs at Borrego RV Resort...
#1 of 2 in Borrego Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 49 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Agua Caliente County Park Campground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Agua Caliente County Park Campground

Property: Agua Caliente County Park Campground
Address: 39555 Great South Stage Route of 1849, Julian, CA
Location: United States > California > Julian
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 13 Specialty Lodging in Julian
Number of rooms: 140

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing