We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Charming!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Fajita Grill - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Fajita Grill
Cuisines: Mexican
Dining options: Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Waitstaff
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
48 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Charming!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2013

We enjoyed a lunch at this little cafe one afternoon while we were visiting the Julian area. It's a very cozy, very "local" sort of place. The food was good, the portions huge, the service friendly and efficient. It was a nice, relaxing lunch in Julian.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Stephanie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

9 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2
    4
    2
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Eugene, Oregon
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Crazy Portions But....”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2013

We were a group of 7. The inside is festively decorated but very small and cramped, so instead we sat out on the open deck which is pretty basic and laid-back in style: scuffed-up plastic patio chairs/tables, no table cloths, etc..
The food was fresh, good, and as far as food portions, they ranged from good to crazy huge. Dishes, utensils, and cloth napkins were clean.
But....
No utensils were given to us when seated, nor when handed menus, nor when ordering food, nor after our food was brought to the table - sitting with plates of food, I finally got up and went inside looking for utensils and napkins for us all, when there were none to be found, I waited at the kitchen door/counter area for someone to ask for them.
Our drink order was forgotten.
We had two different waitresses bringing us our order, the younger was not unpleasant, she was just emotionless: no smile, no greeting, didn't tell us anything about the menu, didn't ask us if we had any questions about the menu, she just didn't say much of anything at all. The other waitress was more pleasant, she chatted a bit, answered some questions we had and made food recommendations.
Two things were somewhat disconcerting however: first, both waitresses had brown discolored fingernails and skin on their fingertips. I'm not saying that waitresses and waiters have to have hands that look like hand models, but if you are placing a plate of food in front of someone and your fingertips/nails are brown, raggedy and only 1/2 inch away from the food, you might put a tad bit of effort into making them not so dirty looking.
The second thing that bothered us was that the employee smoking/break area was right around the corner of the patio area, and just outside the backdoor of the kitchen. Not all customers want to smell cigarette smoke while eating, and not all want it wafting into the kitchen where their food is being cooked.
For the portion sizes and freshness of the food the price was great. But the atmosphere and service was a bit lacking.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JaneAustenFan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
32 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“My dog & I enjoyed it!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2012

We sat on the patio and our service & food was great..,,they even cared about our dog!! Will go back :-)

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Laurat111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
42 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Good Mex style food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2012

The upstairs patio is very cute, looks over main street, and is Pet friendly, the food is excellent but a little spicy so if your a wimp like I am just tell them little or no spice.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank dchick_2012_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san diego
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“gross”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2011

Oh heavens, this food was horrible. We arrived late and got our order to go because they were about to close. The employees were very nice and accommodating. My husband ordered the fish burrito and I had the carne asada burrito. The fish was tasteless and they poured this gross red (not enchilada) sauce on the outside of the burrito. The only thing on the inside was the sauce, chunks of fish and a few chunks of bell peppers. Neither one of us could eat more than a bite of it. The rice and beans were not memorable. I ordered the carne asade because the server said that is what the restaurant is famous for and I hope she was joking. It was OK, but nothing more than that. A gross flavor and nothing exciting. Since no one would touch the fish, we split the carne asada, but didn't finish it because it tasted so bad. The chips were tasty, but very cold, like they had been refridgerated. Most of the town closes about 8pm and we really wished we had stopped at another place before heading into town. They also serve breakfast, but I wouldn't chance it. Would not eat here again.

  • Visited February 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank aimeejoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fajita Grill also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing