We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“EXCELLENT STAY! LOVED IT!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tucker Peak Lodge

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Tucker Peak Lodge
Ranked #9 of 11 Julian B&B and Inns
San Diego, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“EXCELLENT STAY! LOVED IT!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2012

My wife and I stayed at this sweet lodge and loved every minute of it!! Outside the weather
was cold and rainy, inside we were snug as a bug in a rug! We walked up the steps and into a vintage Victorian style room with a comforter on the bed, plush puffed up pillows, and a log ready to go in the fireplace! There were little touches everywhere; antique sewing machine desk with new cable television, postcards and brochures of things to do in Julian, and plenty of warm towels and free bath toiletries. It was so much fun! We loved it!

Mayann helped us with the accommodations and was so friendly and helpful! The next morning the sun came out and we couldn't get over the gorgeous view! The best B & B!

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Eric F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    12
    6
    8
    10
See reviews for
20
42
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 12, 2012

I booked a room and had an extended conversation with the gal that booked me. I was asked to call ahead to see if I could do an early check in at 2pm... and when I called on Thanksgiving morning... I was told that there was no reservation. Unbelievable. I have no idea if this property is nice, as I was unable to stay there. You better double, triple check if you take a chance and book this place.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank eddiepickle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport Beach, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2012

My family of four visited the lodge over Thanksgiving weekend, and we loved it! It has a beautiful view of Julian. It is close to the main street. Wild turkeys and deer abound. The staff couldn't be more nice, and accomodating. Linda, the inn keeper, is quick to answer any question and to provide a warm welcoming stay. We had a fire by the large screen TV and played pool. The kitchen and dining area is stunning, very country. I would return!!!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kimberly W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rancho Santa Fe, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2012

This B & B is perfect. Linda was so nice and helpful. The views are incredible, the place is nice and clean and the rooms are very nicely decorated! It is in a very peaceful location but a close drive to the cute town of Julian. We would definitely go back!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank nancytab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, CA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2012

Absolutely WONDERFUL! Have stayed here various times. All the rooms are great...especially love Rosewood and Tranquility. The view from the deck is great for having morning coffee to watch nature wake up and to watch sunset and the stars at night. Definitely a great week or weekend getaway. The peace and quiet is so refreshing you almost hate to have to leave and drive back down the mountain to the city. The Innkeeper is lovely and makes you feel so welcome. Overall truly a great experience. Will definitely be headed up again soon.

Room Tip: Tranquility has a great huge tub. Room is located off of the observation deck.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rose P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2012

We booked this B&B after considering the great reviews and online descriptions of the property. We booked Rosewood after being told it had its own private balcony. We were told that we could arrive early to check in before a wedding. It was very hot that day and were told after calling early for updates to check in time that the room would be ready about 2 hours before check in time. That was wonderful. We were told that the air would be turned on. After arriving we were shown the room at the top of the stairs between the garage and lodge. It was steaming hot! Took 2 hrs to begin to cool. Very annoying getting ready for the wedding while dripping in sweat. My husband is 6'4" and was unable to stand to use the toilet. Only a swinging door to toilet and shower. This room is a converted attic space. There is a nice fireplace but did not use, ha ha. There was no closet. There was one very small window to the parking lot and one at knee level to the view. Could not see out even sitting in the chair. When we went out to sit on the "private deck" the lights came on and they would not go out. No chance to see a star . The deck was the entry deck with a small metal loveseat. Not comfortable. The toiletries were used. The towels were musty. Did not shower because of this. The breakfast was to be coffee and pastries and we were told that we could have a brunch at Pine Hills Lodge. My husband was furious that this room was this expensive and we were misled. We have traveled a lot and have stayed at many different places but this was unexpected. I would have stayed elsewhere if I had known the size and quality of this room. I am sure the other rooms have much better value. Will not visit again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank K B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2012

Linda and her husband were really nice. We were given access to our room before the check-in time. My wife and I really liked their very friendly conversational nature. The lodge itself is beautiful. The room that we had was one of the smaller ones because we booked at the last minute. It really wasn't small but very clean and decorated nicely. Plenty large enough for the two of us and located where there was almost no noise from outside of the room. There was a small deck for us to sit and view the surrounding countryside. Our first night was cold but we were glad to have a fire place in the room as every room does. The lodge is located about 1 3/4 miles from downtown Julian with virtually no traffic.The only noise that we could hear was from the local wildlife. This stay was everything that we expected. I can't wait till we return. I wholeheartedly recommend Tucker Peak Lodge to anyone. That is rare coming from me.

Room Tip: All of the rooms are uniquely different. Ask about them before you book.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SDJohn60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Julian
20.1 mi away
La Casa del Zorro
La Casa del Zorro
#1 of 3 in Borrego Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 439 reviews
17.4 mi away
Ayres Lodge Alpine
Ayres Lodge Alpine
#1 of 2 in Alpine
4.5 of 5 bubbles 760 reviews
3.0 mi away
Apple Tree Inn
Apple Tree Inn
#3 of 4 in Julian
3.5 of 5 bubbles 45 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.0 mi away
Borrego Springs Resort & Golf Club, BW Premier Collection
Borrego Springs Resort & Golf Cl...
#3 of 3 in Borrego Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 52 reviews
2.9 mi away
Wikiup Bed and Breakfast
1.8 mi away
Oak Hill Inn
Oak Hill Inn
#6 of 11 in Julian
4.0 of 5 bubbles 25 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tucker Peak Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tucker Peak Lodge

Property: Tucker Peak Lodge
Address: 3975 Eagle Peak Road, Julian, CA 92036
Location: United States > California > Julian
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Julian
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Tucker Peak Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucker Peak Lodge, A California Hideaway Whether you are looking for that perfect romantic getaway, quality family time of some much needed rest and relaxation, come enjoy natural, simple beauty in the tranquil mountain atmosphere of Julian, California. Surround yourself with the wonderful sights and sounds provided by nature. We invite you to leave behind the busy city noises and restore your sense of calm by enjoying a spectacular view of the countryside from 5 wooded hillside acres at Tucker Peak Lodge, nestled in the beautiful oak and pine covered mountains of Pine Hills. We are the perfect place to escape for a birthday, Girls Night Out, an anniversary of "Just Because." Enjoy the quaint, turn-of-the-century gold-mining town of Julian and begin the start of this charming adventure with your stay at Tucker Peak Lodge. Memories Are Made Here... Yours Awaits. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Tucker Peak Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tucker Peak Hotel Julian

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing