We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Wonderful!!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tucker Peak Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Tucker Peak Lodge
Ranked #10 of 12 Julian B&B and Inns
Rancho Santa Fe, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2012

This B & B is perfect. Linda was so nice and helpful. The views are incredible, the place is nice and clean and the rooms are very nicely decorated! It is in a very peaceful location but a close drive to the cute town of Julian. We would definitely go back!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank nancytab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    11
    6
    6
    10
See reviews for
19
40
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, CA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2012

Absolutely WONDERFUL! Have stayed here various times. All the rooms are great...especially love Rosewood and Tranquility. The view from the deck is great for having morning coffee to watch nature wake up and to watch sunset and the stars at night. Definitely a great week or weekend getaway. The peace and quiet is so refreshing you almost hate to have to leave and drive back down the mountain to the city. The Innkeeper is lovely and makes you feel so welcome. Overall truly a great experience. Will definitely be headed up again soon.

Room Tip: Tranquility has a great huge tub. Room is located off of the observation deck.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rose P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2012

We booked this B&B after considering the great reviews and online descriptions of the property. We booked Rosewood after being told it had its own private balcony. We were told that we could arrive early to check in before a wedding. It was very hot that day and were told after calling early for updates to check in time that the room would be ready about 2 hours before check in time. That was wonderful. We were told that the air would be turned on. After arriving we were shown the room at the top of the stairs between the garage and lodge. It was steaming hot! Took 2 hrs to begin to cool. Very annoying getting ready for the wedding while dripping in sweat. My husband is 6'4" and was unable to stand to use the toilet. Only a swinging door to toilet and shower. This room is a converted attic space. There is a nice fireplace but did not use, ha ha. There was no closet. There was one very small window to the parking lot and one at knee level to the view. Could not see out even sitting in the chair. When we went out to sit on the "private deck" the lights came on and they would not go out. No chance to see a star . The deck was the entry deck with a small metal loveseat. Not comfortable. The toiletries were used. The towels were musty. Did not shower because of this. The breakfast was to be coffee and pastries and we were told that we could have a brunch at Pine Hills Lodge. My husband was furious that this room was this expensive and we were misled. We have traveled a lot and have stayed at many different places but this was unexpected. I would have stayed elsewhere if I had known the size and quality of this room. I am sure the other rooms have much better value. Will not visit again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank K B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2012

Linda and her husband were really nice. We were given access to our room before the check-in time. My wife and I really liked their very friendly conversational nature. The lodge itself is beautiful. The room that we had was one of the smaller ones because we booked at the last minute. It really wasn't small but very clean and decorated nicely. Plenty large enough for the two of us and located where there was almost no noise from outside of the room. There was a small deck for us to sit and view the surrounding countryside. Our first night was cold but we were glad to have a fire place in the room as every room does. The lodge is located about 1 3/4 miles from downtown Julian with virtually no traffic.The only noise that we could hear was from the local wildlife. This stay was everything that we expected. I can't wait till we return. I wholeheartedly recommend Tucker Peak Lodge to anyone. That is rare coming from me.

Room Tip: All of the rooms are uniquely different. Ask about them before you book.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SDJohn60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Escondido, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2012

This is like an Irish B&B. The innkeeper is amazing. Linda did a great job of anticipating all of our needs. We were impressed with her helpful hints, tips for the area, and her approachable nature. My mom and I were able to each have our own room for a mother/daughter getaway at a reasonable price. The Continental breakfast was great. This would be a wonderful place for a couple, girls' weekend, family getaway, or group gathering. The views are incredible.

Room Tip: Just ask for Linda and tell her your specific needs and she will figure out which room is best for y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Joanie760
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inglewood, California
Level Contributor
22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2012

This is a great place to "get away from it all!" The lodge and accomodations are simply wonderful. The innkeepers are very kind and just a joy to be around. I wasn't sure if I would like the bed and breakfast setting but they made my stay well worth it. We were there for a mother/daughter get away, but this place would be great for a retreat for church groups or couples. I highly recommend a stay here!

Room Tip: The three rooms inside of the lodge allow you to take advantage of the livingroom area and the big s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank aclife2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newhall
Level Contributor
41 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2012

Unfortunately we were only able to stay overnight. We had one of the jacuzzi suites and it was more than ample with the most comfortable bed and pillows that we've ever encountered. Loved being right next to the observation deck and sitting in the sun with a nice toddy as the wildlife strolled by. The only shortcoming ws the lack of a coffee pot in the room and waiting until the innkeeper made some by 8:00 at which time we were out the door.

Room Tip: Choose Tranquility
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Duane H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Julian
17.4 mi away
Ayres Lodge Alpine
Ayres Lodge Alpine
#1 of 2 in Alpine
4.5 of 5 bubbles 723 reviews
20.1 mi away
La Casa del Zorro
La Casa del Zorro
#1 of 3 in Borrego Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 395 reviews
3.0 mi away
Apple Tree Inn
Apple Tree Inn
#3 of 4 in Julian
3.5 of 5 bubbles 42 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Oak Hill Inn
Oak Hill Inn
#6 of 12 in Julian
4.0 of 5 bubbles 24 reviews
2.9 mi away
Wikiup Bed and Breakfast
9.8 mi away
Riviera Oaks Resorts
Riviera Oaks Resorts
#2 of 3 in Ramona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tucker Peak Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tucker Peak Lodge

Property: Tucker Peak Lodge
Address: 3975 Eagle Peak Road, Julian, CA 92036
Location: United States > California > Julian
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Julian
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Tucker Peak Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucker Peak Lodge, A California Hideaway Whether you are looking for that perfect romantic getaway, quality family time of some much needed rest and relaxation, come enjoy natural, simple beauty in the tranquil mountain atmosphere of Julian, California. Surround yourself with the wonderful sights and sounds provided by nature. We invite you to leave behind the busy city noises and restore your sense of calm by enjoying a spectacular view of the countryside from 5 wooded hillside acres at Tucker Peak Lodge, nestled in the beautiful oak and pine covered mountains of Pine Hills. We are the perfect place to escape for a birthday, Girls Night Out, an anniversary of "Just Because." Enjoy the quaint, turn-of-the-century gold-mining town of Julian and begin the start of this charming adventure with your stay at Tucker Peak Lodge. Memories Are Made Here... Yours Awaits. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity and Booking.com so you can book your Tucker Peak Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tucker Peak Hotel Julian

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing