We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exactly What I Needed”
Review of Oak Hill Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Oak Hill Inn
Ranked #7 of 11 Julian B&B and Inns
Reviewed November 26, 2013

This place was great. Affordable and comfortable. Great location, you can walk right into the center of town in about five minutes. Wonderful hosts, and a great secluded patio area (at least in the room I got). The place is cozy and a bit well used, but that means that a lot of folks have stayed there which is a good sign. Everything was well maintained and worked fine, and there were some nice touches like the fresh bread and OJ in the breakfast nook in your room. All in all, it made me feel like I was staying at a friend's house...very comfy. I will be staying again.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank redvisorman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (26)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

14 - 20 of 26 reviews

Reviewed October 27, 2013

First let me say that this B&B is very clean and well maintained, as was our room. The owner Bill, is very friendly and courteous. We stayed in room # 1, and let me tell you right off the bat, the bed really needs replacing. Between that and the fact that it is very hard to maintain a comfortable temperature in the room during the night for sleeping made it a tough couple of night's sleep. I think if he could replace that bed and put some kind of a thermostat in the room, I would then bump my rating to 5 stars. It was also a good price for the stay.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank liketotravel2565
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gina B, Owner at Oak Hill Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 17, 2014

Thanks for the nice comments...the mattress has been replaced with a new Posturpedic. I will put a note indicating the heater thermostat control is located behind the stove.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2013

We really enjoyed our stay at the Oak Hill Farm. The rooms are very clean with a little kitchen.You have a coffee maker,muffins and a tiny fridge that has yogurt and orange juice for your breakfast. You can walk to the town of Julian with lots of small shops and restaurants.
There is a small pool if you like to swim.The owners are so nice and built the inn with their own hands. It's a lovely secluded place.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank diane o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2013

Second time at Oak Hill. Love the rooms with country decorating. Great value at a good price, walking distance from Julian-a delightful small town at 4,000 ft. and lots of local charm. Our own small private patio. Coffee and continental breakfast items were great. Though near the road, quiet at night.

Room Tip: Liked both of the rooms we have had equally well. Parking is close.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JonDrury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2013

The room was just the right size and the price was very good. It was a 5 minute walk to downtown Julian, which is nice. Our room was a detached unit from the house, which was nice also. The little pool was a nice little added bonus. Wish there was a hot tub though.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Charles B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2013

We really enjoyed our stay at Oak Hill Farm. The room was very clean, quiet and private with our own entrance and a beautiful patio shaded by a tree. We only saw the owners to check in and out which was perfect. They were available if we had needed anything but gave us complete privacy. The room was cute, clean and functional with all the basics and a nice little fix-your own breakfast included in the room. Easy access to the charming little town of Julian. We would love to come back again.
-Claire Warren

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 45Claire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2012

We stayed two days before a wedding held in Julian. It was clean affordable and very comfortable. I liked the privacy of our patio right outside our room. The nearby road was not a problem at all. We enjoyed the Dudley's Bakery bread and juice as well as the small kitchenette. Comfortable bed and clean bathroom. We would stay there again. Bill was very nice.

Room Tip: Go to Candy Apple for breakfast or lunch, we forgot to but it's right across the street up a blo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank llstarr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Julian
18.4 mi away
La Casa del Zorro Resort & Spa
La Casa del Zorro Resort & Spa
#1 of 3 in Borrego Springs
487 reviews
0.3 mi away
Julian Gold Rush Hotel
Julian Gold Rush Hotel
#2 of 11 in Julian
261 reviews
0.4 mi away
Eaglenest Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Apple Tree Inn
Apple Tree Inn
#3 of 4 in Julian
47 reviews
1.8 mi away
Tucker Peak Lodge
Tucker Peak Lodge
#10 of 11 in Julian
85 reviews
0.1 mi away
Julian Country Inn
Julian Country Inn
#8 of 11 in Julian
12 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oak Hill Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oak Hill Inn

Address: 2333 Sunset View Drive, Julian, CA 92036
Location: United States > California > Julian
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Julian
Price Range: $111 - $135 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located within a five minute stroll to the center of the historic town-site of Julian, California, Oak Hill Inn is considered by many to be the best value for an enjoyable weekend or weekday get-away to Julian. Oak Hill Inn provides rustic charm with modern comforts within easy walking distance to downtown Julian. Close to town, yet just far enough to avoid the hustle and bustle of Main Street to provide for a relaxing getaway. Julian lies in the center of some of Southern California's most striking scenery. It's just an hour's beautiful drive east of San Diego... And a world away from the city. Visit for a day or longer to discover its charms. There's lot to do, plenty of hiking, wineries, dining options or perhaps visit a real gold mine or take in the views of Lake Cuyamaca. Oak Hill Inn is one of the few accommodations in Julian that offers the luxury of relaxing beside a private guests-only swimming pool (in season). Some of the other amenities our guests enjoy are spacious rooms with private bathrooms, flat screen tvs with cable, mini refrigerators, private patios and private entrances. Plus, Oak Hill Inn has been family owned and operated for over 25 years! Come stay with us! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Oak Hill Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing