We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Nice”
Review of Oak Hill Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Oak Hill Inn
Ranked #6 of 11 Julian B&B and Inns
Newport Beach, California
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Very Nice”
Reviewed July 22, 2013

The room was just the right size and the price was very good. It was a 5 minute walk to downtown Julian, which is nice. Our room was a detached unit from the house, which was nice also. The little pool was a nice little added bonus. Wish there was a hot tub though.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Charles B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    8
    4
    0
    1
See reviews for
1
16
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Boulder Creek, Ca
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 26, 2013

We really enjoyed our stay at Oak Hill Farm. The room was very clean, quiet and private with our own entrance and a beautiful patio shaded by a tree. We only saw the owners to check in and out which was perfect. They were available if we had needed anything but gave us complete privacy. The room was cute, clean and functional with all the basics and a nice little fix-your own breakfast included in the room. Easy access to the charming little town of Julian. We would love to come back again.
-Claire Warren

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 45Claire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2012

We stayed two days before a wedding held in Julian. It was clean affordable and very comfortable. I liked the privacy of our patio right outside our room. The nearby road was not a problem at all. We enjoyed the Dudley's Bakery bread and juice as well as the small kitchenette. Comfortable bed and clean bathroom. We would stay there again. Bill was very nice.

Room Tip: Go to Candy Apple for breakfast or lunch, we forgot to but it's right across the street up a blo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank llstarr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Altadena, California
Level Contributor
40 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed March 26, 2012

I had email William Beckman, talked to Gina their daughter and wife Marsha, so I contacted several times, don't know how much I could have done but they lost my booking. I got there on a Friday night around 9pm and there were no more rooms. They did not even have me in there books. However, they did call around and found me a room at the Apple Tree Inn. So he was very helpful at helping me out. So word of caution, make sure you call the week off to verify that they still have your booking, it was very scary that night with no place to stay.

I am giving them one star because the lost my booking after contacting them in email and talking to every member of the family!

Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
6 Thank Hockey_Tish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
William B, Owner at Oak Hill Inn, responded to this review, March 28, 2012
We try our best to make every guests stay at Oak Hill Farm a pleasant one and take full responsibility for any problems our guests may encounter, regardless of cause or fault. As stated on our website a credit card number must be provided to confirm a reservation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2011

This was really nice and a good value. The room was pretty, relaxing and very clean, the location beautiful, the proprietor friendly and accommodating, the continental breakfast absolutely fine. We had no problems at all and would love to go back.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ginastera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
State College, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2011

We stayed one night as we were passing through Julian. The value here is excellent. Our room was spotlessly clean and comfortable. There was a small "kitchenette" with a sink and toaster, and the host supplied breakfast bread, jam, butter, cream cheese, yogurt and OJ for us.

Though as one reviewer pointed out, it is a bit close to the highway, though it didn't bother us at all. We fell asleep to frogs chirping, as the highway traffic all but disappeared by late evening.

All in all, a very nice, comfortable place to stay, in walking distance from downtown Julian.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank drfaust206
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2010

A short break for me while visiting San Diego - the drive north to Julian on Highway 79 is delightful. Plenty of parking space by Oak Hill Farm and I got a friendly welcome there; my spacious room was excellent, very comfortable bed and there was a small kitchen/diner area. Spent a very restful night and there was juice and a fruit loaf provided for breakfast.

Five minutes walk from the town centre and I was able to wander round town in the early morning taking photos while the streets were empty

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BereniceUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Julian
18.4 mi away
La Casa del Zorro
La Casa del Zorro
#1 of 3 in Borrego Springs
470 reviews
1.8 mi away
Tucker Peak Lodge
Tucker Peak Lodge
#9 of 11 in Julian
84 reviews
0.3 mi away
Julian Gold Rush Hotel
Julian Gold Rush Hotel
#2 of 11 in Julian
245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Apple Tree Inn
Apple Tree Inn
#3 of 4 in Julian
47 reviews
0.1 mi away
Julian Country Inn
Julian Country Inn
#8 of 11 in Julian
12 reviews
1.2 mi away
Wikiup Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oak Hill Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oak Hill Inn

Property: Oak Hill Inn
Address: 2333 Sunset View Drive, Julian, CA 92036
Location: United States > California > Julian
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Julian
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located within a five minute stroll to the center of the historic town-site of Julian, California, Oak Hill Inn is considered by many to be the best value for an enjoyable weekend or weekday get-away to Julian. Oak Hill Inn provides rustic charm with modern comforts within easy walking distance to downtown Julian. Close to town, yet just far enough to avoid the hustle and bustle of Main Street to provide for a relaxing getaway. Julian lies in the center of some of Southern California's most striking scenery. It's just an hour's beautiful drive east of San Diego... And a world away from the city. Visit for a day or longer to discover its charms. There's lot to do, plenty of hiking, wineries, dining options or perhaps visit a real gold mine or take in the views of Lake Cuyamaca. Oak Hill Inn is one of the few accommodations in Julian that offers the luxury of relaxing beside a private guests-only swimming pool (in season). Some of the other amenities our guests enjoy are spacious rooms with private bathrooms, flat screen tvs with cable, mini refrigerators, private patios and private entrances. Plus, Oak Hill Inn has been family owned and operated for over 25 years! Come stay with us! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Oak Hill Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing