We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We LOVED this place!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Wikiup Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #3 of 11 Julian B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 14, 2008

We stayed here for a night in October...it was a last-minute getaway, and we had SUCH a nice time. We stayed in the Shady Lady room (Bordello-themed!) and the room and bathroom were spotless, warm, and comfortable. The room also had a private deck, with a private hot tub. Fabulous.

The owners are so friendly and helpful, and every detail of the entire place is so thoughtful and loving. Breakfast was delicious, and the animals were fun to play with! When we chatted with the other guests at breakfast they all were having a great time at the Wikiup, and a few of them were repeat customers.

I highly, highly recommend this place...we can't wait to go back (and stay longer!).

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank erichs48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (138)
There are newer reviews for Wikiup Bed and Breakfast
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

133 - 138 of 138 reviews

Reviewed September 3, 2008

We checked in for a quick romantic getaway. We got Rose's Cottage, which is a Victorian styled room. Everything that can be rose themed, is. It had a small, two-person hot tub and a little cafe table on the tiny patio. The hot tub was nice, if a bit hard to get in to (you have to climb up a few narrow stairs that curve around). We took that room because it was the only one with a king sized bed (pretty much the only king sized bed in Julian!), but got the chance to peek into the other unoccupied rooms before we left on Monday afternoon. Each one is themed, and has slightly different amenities. Next time I want to stay in the Willow room, though I will miss the king sized bed, which was topped with a feather bed and VERY comfortable.

It's a pet friendly B&B. They have Newfies and Llamas that you can visit, a parrot in the common room and a couple of cats. So it's probably not a great place if you have severe allergies to animals, though I never saw fur nor smelled any animal smells in the rooms or the common areas.

The food was wonderful, and we enjoyed talking to the proprietor and the other guests over breakfast. Everyone was very friendly and accommodating.

I want to go back!

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank i_iambe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 18, 2007

Never have I known a bed and breakfast to be as accomodating and as beautiful as the Wikiup. The proprietors of this particular establishment were both generous and understanding. My lovely girlfriend and I had made a special booking of two sererate suites (one for each night we were there) several weeks in advance to commemorate our anniversary. You understand that this is a rather unique situation for our innkeepers for now they would have the unenviable task of preparing two rooms for one party. Not only did they do it , but the helpful staff made it as comfortable as possible to move from one room to the other and did it with gusto! They went through all the description and pleasantrys as they would if it were our first time at the Wikiup.
The beautiful mountain atmosphere is perfect place to relax and forget about your busy life and hectic schedual. Llama feeding, tree swings, horseshoes and the dreamy silence of the forrest night make the Wikiup for my new favorite vacation getaway. Relaxing in the hot tub was one of my personal favorite attractions to this place. The warm water was a nice contrast to the cold mountain air and made for ideal snuggling once back in the cabin. With the delicious country breakfast, cozy rooms, and friendly service, i would without a doubt refer everyone to this beautiful bed and breakfast.

  • Stayed: December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Mr_Cranky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2007

For our one year anniversary, Greg and I decided to go for an adventure not too far away from our own home. We decided to head to Julian and stayed at the WIkiup for 2 nights. Upon arrival, we were greeted by our charming and informative innkeeper, Linda Stanley. She gave us all the info on what was available, what we should holler for if we needed it, etc. She even went out of her way and put an extra bottle of apple cider in the room for Greg with a nice card. (At my special request)

The rooms were well-appointed and included a fridge, microwave, coffee, tea, gourmet creamers, and even a Torani Italian syrup. The bathroom came with an amazing jacuzzi tub for two and some bubble bath on the side. All the amenities you'd find at a four star hotel were available.

We wandered around outside. INCREDIBLE views surrounded us, including a well-mannered dog, some cats, wise llamas, and the beautiful local Manzanita tree. There was a pond, a jacuzzi on a wooden deck, a covered hammock chair for two, and at night, the most amazing view of the stars that one could ever wish for.

Bed was comfy, room was good, breakfast was divine. Linda really went all out and provided the best meal I'd ever had at a B&B. She really whizzes around in the kitchen along with her husband Lee. We had well-balanced meals that included all food groups in good proportion. The local fruit is to die for.

Sound was never an issue. Tempertature, either. The building, as she told us, is built into a hill, therefore falling in the subterranean category. It never gets too hot or too cold, as a result.

The best part about the stay was definitely the big tub, the food, the view, and the animals. We fed the llamas every morning and they were the most unexpected delight.

The worst part was that I didn't want to ever leave.

One note: If you're allergic to cats, take an anti-histamine before eating breakfast. I had to eat breakfast and get out for some fresh air soon afterwards because my nose started running both mornings. Nothing severe, but you can tell that the cats have carved out their little niche in the common area.

  • Stayed: September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank homerkimpson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 18, 2006

This Bed and Breakfast was relaxing, peaceful, and enjoyable. The owners were friendly and inviting. The property was beautiful, with pets that made it even more special than it already was. There are 4 rooms decorated with different themes. Two of the rooms have in room jacuzzi tubs big enough for 2 people. It is romanitic and would be wonderful for honeymoons or anniversaries. The gourmet homemade breakfast was absolutely delicious. I would definitely recommend this place to friends and family.

  • Stayed: December 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Ann42-trip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2006

Horrible, horrible. I'm in the process of filing complaints with all sorts of departments including the health department. We reserved the entire Labour Day weekend and we were kicked out on the street with no place to stay when their septic backed up into the jacuzzi and my boyfriend has since become ill. He is in the hospital right now, we are waiting on test results to see if it is dysentry but whatever the case may be he is very very ill. Most of all, the owner Linda didnt make any effort to find us any alternative accomodation except for telling us that this one hotel in Julian may or may not have a room depending on if the previous party cancels. There was faeces and waste in the jacuzzi tub which and the toilet was backed up and from the legal advice i have received so far it is illegal to kick us out and leave us homeless for the night. I am extremely distressed, I have never been kicked out of any accomodation before. I told here "we have nowhere to go" and "he is sick and cannot make the four hour trip home". This is absolutely unacceptable, especially for a place that markets itself as a fine getaway at $195 a night. Stay far away!!!

Stayed: September 2006
11  Thank readthiscomplaintnow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lodgingnazi, Lee & Linda Stanley / owners at Wikiup Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded March 8, 2008

We are sorry for the inconvenience our guests experienced. We attempted to unplug the toilet without success. We went to great lengths to get a professional plumber to come out immediately, however, it being a Saturday on a holiday weekend we received no response. We surmised it was an isolated issue as no other portion of the B&B facility was compromised.

Moving the guests to a different room was not an available option as our entire facility was occupied through Monday. Staying in the guest room without a functioning toilet was certainly not an option. Finding them alternative lodging was. Before the guests departed we booked (at our expense) alternate lodging for them at a bed & breakfast one mile from our location. Considering they were traveling with two dogs finding alternative lodging was challenging. They were given the information along with location details. They “no showed” the reservation.

As for the gentleman becoming ill, he was ill upon their arrival for check in the day before.

On Monday we had a plumber fix the problem. He extracted a large wad of disposable plastic backed pet pads from the drain vent located outside of the effected bathroom. These are large square pads used to potty train doggies. He concluded that they had been flushed down the toilet causing the blockage. There was no sewer backup.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Julian
17.3 mi away
La Casa del Zorro Resort & Spa
La Casa del Zorro Resort & Spa
#1 of 3 in Borrego Springs
482 reviews
0.9 mi away
Julian Gold Rush Hotel
Julian Gold Rush Hotel
#2 of 11 in Julian
259 reviews
0.9 mi away
Eaglenest Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Tucker Peak Lodge
Tucker Peak Lodge
#10 of 11 in Julian
85 reviews
3.2 mi away
Apple Tree Inn
Apple Tree Inn
#3 of 4 in Julian
47 reviews
1.2 mi away
Oak Hill Inn
Oak Hill Inn
#7 of 11 in Julian
26 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wikiup Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wikiup Bed and Breakfast

Address: 1645 Whispering Pines Drive, Julian, CA 92036
Location: United States > California > Julian
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Julian
Price Range: $177 - $232 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Julian, California's very romantic and secluded Wikiup Bed and Breakfast is located on four wooded hillside acres in a relaxed, rural setting. While at the B&B, enjoy the country life, only a mile from the historic mining town of Julian. However, the bustling city of San Diego is only an hour and 20 minutes away.Five wonderful guest rooms include all the amenities of a fine hotel, including large in-room spas or private out door hot tubs. Full and delicious breakfasts are your innkeeper's specialty. Awaken to scrumptious "country gourmet" feasts and enjoy a different creation every morning. Afternoon desserts are made available in the common area daily. Enjoy the breezes and shade covered decks by day, or unwind in the comfort of your hot tub or spa under the star-filled night skies. Walking paths, a restful swing, as well as fountains and a pond, encourage you to linger on the grounds and relax. The beautiful mountain atmosphere is perfect place to relax and forget about your busy life and hectic schedule. Llama feeding, swings, and the dreamy silence of the forest night make the Wikiup a favorite vacation getaway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline so you can book your Wikiup Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing