We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Little bit of Heaven”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Wikiup Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #3 of 11 Julian B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
San Diego, California
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Little bit of Heaven”
Reviewed November 13, 2013 via mobile

Cesar and I came out for our anniversary. It was great! The place is not far from the town. But far enough away for peace and quiet. Very nice at night with all the lights. Loved our Old school Jacuzzi tub. Don't worry about heating it, they have a fire fairy who comes and heats it for you. Food was FANTASTIC. Linda and Lee are very nice and do a FAB job on making this place what it is. We felt like we were visiting family. We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MichCez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

138 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    132
    4
    0
    0
    2
See reviews for
7
115
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
San Diego
Level 6 Contributor
133 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2013

Of the several B&B's I've stayed at in Julian, this is the best. Much of the credit goes to Linda's and Lee's ability to be hospitable but at the same time real. No saccharine or pretend charm. Just friendly and honest people, which is quite refreshing. The property is beautiful with a gorgeous dining and common area. The grounds are very pretty and secluded with fountains and walkways that are lit up like a fairyland at night. Most of the rooms have private entrances and from what the other guests were saying they were as happy with their rooms as I was with mine. Nicely appointed with all the amenities; microwave, fridge, coffee maker, big fluffy towels, etc. The breakfasts were excellent. Really. Good fresh ingredients and delicious recipes. Fresh fruit, juices, pastries and proteins all beautifully presented. In the evening there are rich desserts to have with coffee or tea. I will be back!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Albizia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2013

Matt and I came out to Julian for our 6th anniversary and Wikiup helped us celebrate. Linda and Lee are the warm and friendly owners that made this possible. They cooked amazing breakfasts (the fritata-ta and the caramel french toast were my favs) and we stayed in the Klondike Kate's shady lady. Im probably biased, as I didnt see any of the other rooms, but I think it was one of the better rooms. It was decorated beautifully with a lot of love and it was on the same floor as the main common room - so no stairs to take your suticases down. It has a private deck, with a private hot tub (wood burning, so it gets finicky sometimes but let them know and they'll do their best to get it to where you want). They have a sweet large black Newfy girl named Drifter (drifty) and cute fatty cat named Kimo and two llamas - one named Wellington and Im not sure what the other one's name was, but they are really fun to go feed w/the pellets kindly provided in the common room.
Overall, best experience I could have hoped for - beautiful scenery, nice ppl, good food, unplugged from the world (lol, no choice when you're so far from a big city). Really lovely and relaxing vacation - can't wait 'till we can go again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mchoonhaurai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
1 review
Reviewed October 13, 2013

I surprised my GF with a romance and roses package for her birthday and it was an amazing getaway. This was our first time staying in B&B and I wasn't completely sure what to expect even after reading all the positive reviews. Well, the reviews were spot on, this place is awesome. From the initial welcome by Drifty the Newfie, we couldn't have had a better time. The Pueblo Dreamcatcher room was so comfortable and clean and we loved the southwest décor. Linda was a wonderful hostess who made us feel very welcome in her home. She had a beautiful basket of goodies waiting in the room and arranged for an excellent dinner at Jeremy's as part of the package. We enjoyed lounging about in the warm and inviting common area (and playing with Kemo the cat) and walking the grounds watching the hummingbirds and taking pictures of the Llamas. Breakfast was superb, delicious French toast with fresh cream and berries and a most unique and tasty egg dish. We were the only guests that morning and it felt like family as we ate and talked with Linda. Only wish we had stayed a second night, I wanted more French toast!!

Julian is a great place to unwind from the usual chaos of the work week for those of us 'down the hill' and this was a fabulous place to spend a special couple of days while recharging our emotional batteries. We can't wait for another visit.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank david k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Segundo, California, United States
1 review
Reviewed October 8, 2013

Our room was very tastefully decorated and very comfortable. The common area (dining/living room) was large, beautifully maintained. My wife and I were the only guests for the three days that we stayed.Our timing was perfect as we had the entire place to ourselves as we celebrated our one year anniversary.
Linda and Lee were outstanding hosts. Linda prepared one mouth watering dish after another for breakfast. I took photos and sent them to our friends who were all very impressed.
I had no idea what to expect going there, as Julian is a very small town in the middle of..nowhere. As it turned out, it was the perfect get away with very friendly shopkeepers and our accomidations were perfect.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tyrone D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victorville, California, United States
1 review
Reviewed September 8, 2013

we just got back from staying five days with linda and lee, it was a perfect stay. We just needed to get away and found the perfect spot, there no words to discibe the amazing breakfasts,the room we were in (willow room) and the way lee and linda made us feel. We will never forget just how relaxing and wonderful everything was,we will be going back, thats for sure.

Room Tip: The willow room, it was very private
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Guy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Imperial, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 31, 2013

My wife and I were wanting to celebrate our 23rd anniversary and do something a little different. We had never stayed at a B&B before, even though we had been to Julian several times. Well, this well-manicured place was perfect. Everything from our room, to the fabulous hot tub, to the delicious breakfast, was excellent! Linda and Lee are great people who love what they do and it shows. We will definitely be back and I hope Lee and Linda will be there.

Room Tip: The, "Rose's Secret," is very romantic and has a private hot tub.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeff M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Julian
17.3 mi away
La Casa del Zorro Resort & Spa
La Casa del Zorro Resort & Spa
#1 of 3 in Borrego Springs
476 reviews
3.0 mi away
Tucker Peak Lodge
Tucker Peak Lodge
#10 of 11 in Julian
85 reviews
0.9 mi away
Eaglenest Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Apple Tree Inn
Apple Tree Inn
#3 of 4 in Julian
47 reviews
17.1 mi away
Borrego Springs Resort & Golf Club, BW Premier Collection
Borrego Springs Resort & Golf Cl...
#2 of 3 in Borrego Springs
83 reviews
12.4 mi away
Riviera Oaks Resorts
Riviera Oaks Resorts
#2 of 3 in Ramona
123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wikiup Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wikiup Bed and Breakfast

Property: Wikiup Bed and Breakfast
Address: 1645 Whispering Pines Drive, Julian, CA 92036
Location: United States > California > Julian
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Julian
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Julian, California's very romantic and secluded Wikiup Bed and Breakfast is located on four wooded hillside acres in a relaxed, rural setting. While at the B&B, enjoy the country life, only a mile from the historic mining town of Julian. However, the bustling city of San Diego is only an hour and 20 minutes away.Five wonderful guest rooms include all the amenities of a fine hotel, including large in-room spas or private out door hot tubs. Full and delicious breakfasts are your innkeeper's specialty. Awaken to scrumptious "country gourmet" feasts and enjoy a different creation every morning. Afternoon desserts are made available in the common area daily. Enjoy the breezes and shade covered decks by day, or unwind in the comfort of your hot tub or spa under the star-filled night skies. Walking paths, a restful swing, as well as fountains and a pond, encourage you to linger on the grounds and relax. The beautiful mountain atmosphere is perfect place to relax and forget about your busy life and hectic schedule. Llama feeding, swings, and the dreamy silence of the forest night make the Wikiup a favorite vacation getaway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Wikiup Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing