We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Highly Recommended” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Wikiup Bed and Breakfast

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Wikiup Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #3 of 14 Julian B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
San Diego
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Highly Recommended”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

An excellent B&B. Beautiful, peaceful location, very friendly and accommodating staff. When the hostess learned I was going to miss the usual breakfast time, she made sure hand-delivered a muffin, juice, and fruit the night before.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gkogut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    110
    4
    0
    0
    2
See reviews for
6
98
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
La Mesa, California, United States
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

We very much enjoyed our visit and stay!! Our room was Kate's Shady Lady for two nights. We were comfortable with the room and location. The view from the room and outdoor porch area is very nice. Loved the wood-fired hot tub too! The main room next door is warm and lovely. Lee and Linda are wonderful hosts!! Linda had little candy dishes out, which I liked.. I do the same at home. She also put out a variety of sweets/desserts in the main room, which were yummy. Breakfast both mornings was unique and wonderful :). The table delightful :). We warmed right up to their pets on the property. They have one dog... wait til you meet Drifty!! There are two kitties and three llamas... we enjoyed them all!! Their property is beautiful. It was nice to visit with Linda and Lee during our stay.. felt most comfortable around them!! We want to visit and stay again.. :))

Room Tip: All (5) rooms are different and unique! Make sure to check them out online before confirming your r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dian_Cath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brea
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Wikiup B&B over Veteran's Day weekend to celebrate our birthdays. Our stay was wonderful! If you've never visited Julian before, GO - the town is quaint and charming and the countryside is just beautiful. We chose the Wikiup because of its location and rave reviews on Yelp and TripAdvisor. We were glad we did! It's about a mile or so outside of the main town - a very quick drive. Main street gets very busy and we felt like we had our own private retreat in the woods, far away from city noises.

The grounds are so peaceful and beautiful complete with a couple of resident kitties, a newfoundland, and a few llamas which you can feed and pet. Lee and Linda were very warm and welcoming. We stayed in "Klondike Kate's Shady Lady" and loved it. It isn't the most private room as the deck is right next to the main house entrance, but you can pull down the deck shades and poof - it's private. Or try the Stargazer - it's probably the most private room and it too has a hot tub on its deck. The hot tub on our deck was really nice on a cold night and had wonderful views of the property, and the fireplace in the room really kept things toasty! Hopefully you'll wake up with an appetite...breakfast is to die for! On day 1 we enjoyed caramel french toast and frittata, and on day 2 it was "inside out caramel apple" with egg souffle and an assortment of freshly made breads.

We'll be back for another visit!

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Brina C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Looking for a little privacy away from town at a reasonable price? Wikiup is that place. The property is pleasant (feed the llamas!), the room was nice (stayed at the Shady Lady...I recommend it...the wood-fired hot tub is fantastic.) The owners are so nice and friendly. The breakfast was scrumptious. Only 5 minutes north of Julian's downtown by car. Easy to find. If there were some trails close by to hike this would be the perfect get-away spot. Get over here!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bluezoo7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Hills. Ca
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

Don't think twice about staying at this B&B. Not only is this the cleanest room I have ever stayed in, but the gardens, patio's and breakfast area are just as immaculate and very pleasing to the eye. Breakfast without a doubt is the best you will find anywhere. (The french toast is ranked #1 according to my Husband). We will definitely be going back.

Room Tip: Stargazer room has skylight & private jacuzzi
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shirley H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

My husband and I spent a wonderful weekend in Julian for our 6th wedding anniversary at the Wikiup B&B, and we could not have possibly chosen a better place. Linda and Lee are warm and inviting hosts and go the extra mile to make you feel as though you're a member of their cozy family. They provide simple finishing touches that make you feel as though you are at home, from small tubes of toothpaste, to make-up removing wipes, or something as simple as a can opener all these seemingly trivial items just add to the overall experience of your visit. We stayed in the Stargazer room, a wonderfully private and whimsical space with it's own hot tub right outside the door! The property is lovely and serene, the llamas quirky and cute! Last but not least Linda's breakfasts are AMAZING! They kept us full until dinner, and excited for the next morning's gourmet fare! We look forward to returning soon, to spend another magical, restful, and romantic weekend at the Wikiup!

Room Tip: If you'd like the most privacy the Stargazer room is furthest from the main part of the house. T...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rebecca M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Costa Mesa, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

The Wikiup gave me everything I was looking for to create my own personal retreat. There were many intimate places for me to rest, relax and rejuvenate. I stayed in the Garrett’s StarGazer room and was pleasantly surprised to find a mattress that was a slice of heaven. There was a private Jacuzzi and I could watch the shooting stars while having a nice soak after a day exploring Julian. Both Linda and Lee were readily available to help me with whatever I needed. The breakfasts were a welcome treat to look forward to every morning and Linda prepared a wonderful table to have a meal and meet new people. I can hardly wait for my next visit as it has become my favorite place for that special getaway.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rowan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Julian
17.3 mi away
La Casa del Zorro
La Casa del Zorro
#1 of 3 in Borrego Springs
4.5 of 5 stars 376 reviews
20.3 mi away
Ayres Lodge Alpine
Ayres Lodge Alpine
#1 of 2 in Alpine
4.5 of 5 stars 694 reviews
2.9 mi away
Tucker Peak Lodge
Tucker Peak Lodge
#10 of 14 in Julian
4.0 of 5 stars 74 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Apple Tree Inn
Apple Tree Inn
#3 of 4 in Julian
3.5 of 5 stars 38 reviews
1.1 mi away
Oak Hill Inn
Oak Hill Inn
#6 of 14 in Julian
4.5 of 5 stars 23 reviews
12.5 mi away
Riviera Oaks Resorts
Riviera Oaks Resorts
#2 of 3 in Ramona
4.0 of 5 stars 96 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wikiup Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wikiup Bed and Breakfast

Property: Wikiup Bed and Breakfast
Address: 1645 Whispering Pines Drive, Julian, CA 92036
Location: United States > California > Julian
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Julian
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Julian, California's very romantic and secluded Wikiup Bed and Breakfast is located on four wooded hillside acres in a relaxed, rural setting. While at the B&B, enjoy the country life, only a mile from the historic mining town of Julian. However, the bustling city of San Diego is only an hour and 20 minutes away.Five wonderful guest rooms include all the amenities of a fine hotel, including large in-room spas or private out door hot tubs. Full and delicious breakfasts are your innkeeper's specialty. Awaken to scrumptious "country gourmet" feasts and enjoy a different creation every morning. Afternoon desserts are made available in the common area daily. Enjoy the breezes and shade covered decks by day, or unwind in the comfort of your hot tub or spa under the star-filled night skies. Walking paths, a restful swing, as well as fountains and a pond, encourage you to linger on the grounds and relax. The beautiful mountain atmosphere is perfect place to relax and forget about your busy life and hectic schedule. Llama feeding, swings, and the dreamy silence of the forest night make the Wikiup a favorite vacation getaway. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing