We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Unforgettably wonderful” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Wikiup Bed and Breakfast

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Wikiup Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #3 of 12 Julian B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Las Vegas, Nevada
1 review
“Unforgettably wonderful”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

Looking for a little privacy away from town at a reasonable price? Wikiup is that place. The property is pleasant (feed the llamas!), the room was nice (stayed at the Shady Lady...I recommend it...the wood-fired hot tub is fantastic.) The owners are so nice and friendly. The breakfast was scrumptious. Only 5 minutes north of Julian's downtown by car. Easy to find. If there were some trails close by to hike this would be the perfect get-away spot. Get over here!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bluezoo7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

127 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    121
    4
    0
    0
    2
See reviews for
7
107
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
West Hills. Ca
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2012

Don't think twice about staying at this B&B. Not only is this the cleanest room I have ever stayed in, but the gardens, patio's and breakfast area are just as immaculate and very pleasing to the eye. Breakfast without a doubt is the best you will find anywhere. (The french toast is ranked #1 according to my Husband). We will definitely be going back.

Room Tip: Stargazer room has skylight & private jacuzzi
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shirley H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2012

My husband and I spent a wonderful weekend in Julian for our 6th wedding anniversary at the Wikiup B&B, and we could not have possibly chosen a better place. Linda and Lee are warm and inviting hosts and go the extra mile to make you feel as though you're a member of their cozy family. They provide simple finishing touches that make you feel as though you are at home, from small tubes of toothpaste, to make-up removing wipes, or something as simple as a can opener all these seemingly trivial items just add to the overall experience of your visit. We stayed in the Stargazer room, a wonderfully private and whimsical space with it's own hot tub right outside the door! The property is lovely and serene, the llamas quirky and cute! Last but not least Linda's breakfasts are AMAZING! They kept us full until dinner, and excited for the next morning's gourmet fare! We look forward to returning soon, to spend another magical, restful, and romantic weekend at the Wikiup!

Room Tip: If you'd like the most privacy the Stargazer room is furthest from the main part of the house. T...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rebecca M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Costa Mesa, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2012

The Wikiup gave me everything I was looking for to create my own personal retreat. There were many intimate places for me to rest, relax and rejuvenate. I stayed in the Garrett’s StarGazer room and was pleasantly surprised to find a mattress that was a slice of heaven. There was a private Jacuzzi and I could watch the shooting stars while having a nice soak after a day exploring Julian. Both Linda and Lee were readily available to help me with whatever I needed. The breakfasts were a welcome treat to look forward to every morning and Linda prepared a wonderful table to have a meal and meet new people. I can hardly wait for my next visit as it has become my favorite place for that special getaway.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rowan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2012

My husband and I loved the Wikiup. We went there to celebrate our 7th anniversary. It was so peaceful, beautiful, and romantic. We stayed in the Willow Warren room, and it was magical. The bedroom was decorated like we were sleeping under a tree with stars above us. And we really enjoyed our jacuzzi tub. The room was sweet with no detail left undone. The owners are so friendly, kind, and conscientious. Great selection of music, books, and games available for each room. Wonderful areas outside to sit and enjoy the beautiful environment. Fresh, clean mountain air. The main room for breakfast is so warm and inviting. And the breakfasts were delicious. We loved it and will definitely be going back. We wish we could have stayed longer!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jolie V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2012

We had a wonderful, relaxing weekend at the Wikiup. The premises are rustic and serene, and you can feel your blood pressure drop as soon as you walk onto the property. Lee and Linda are gracious hosts. We loved chit chatting with Lee and tasting Linda's scrumptious breakfasts. The best part of the trip was falling in love with the 2 cats and the huge Newfie dog that run the place. The only thing we would have changed was adding a shower to the jacuzzi tub in the bathroom. After a long hike in Julian, a shower would have been a better alternative to a bath. But the Pueblo Dreamcatcher room was a delight and we will try to be coming back when it's snowing!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stickie29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lodgingnazi, Owner at Wikiup Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, August 28, 2012
We are so happy that these guests found the Wikiup a peaceful place to stay. We thank them for the kind and helpful remarks. We strive to provide all of the amenities that will make our guests stays as comfortable as possible. All of our rooms have bath tubs with showers, or spa tubs with european hand-held showers. All rooms have outdoor private hot tubs or jetted tubs as well for melting away the sore muscles acquired from a day of hiking. We look forward to having these wonderful guests return for a weekend of relaxation in our beautiful secluded mountain setting.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fullerton, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2012

The Wikiup Bed and Breakfast was such a special treat. We did the Rub, Tub, and Grub. It was amazing. We were treated to a carraige ride in town, then a very delicious and romantic meal at Jeremy's on the hill. Then we went to breakfast. Linda had set a beautiful table and her food was amazing. Linda is a amazing cook. Both Lee and Linda were great. They went out of their way to help my husband get flowers and cards (he forgot his) for me on our Anniversary. They really helped make it special. It truley was a amazing and relaxing trip. We plan on bringing our parents here soon. You will totally enjoy your stay here. All of the rooms are different. We plan on staying in each one of them. Thanks Linda & Lee for making our trip so wonderful.

Room Tip: They are all great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cindy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Julian
17.3 mi away
La Casa del Zorro
La Casa del Zorro
#1 of 3 in Borrego Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 409 reviews
20.3 mi away
Ayres Lodge Alpine
Ayres Lodge Alpine
#1 of 2 in Alpine
4.5 of 5 bubbles 736 reviews
3.1 mi away
Apple Tree Inn
Apple Tree Inn
#3 of 4 in Julian
3.5 of 5 bubbles 42 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Tucker Peak Lodge
Tucker Peak Lodge
#10 of 12 in Julian
4.0 of 5 bubbles 78 reviews
1.1 mi away
Oak Hill Inn
Oak Hill Inn
#6 of 12 in Julian
4.0 of 5 bubbles 25 reviews
17.2 mi away
Borrego Springs Resort
Borrego Springs Resort
#3 of 3 in Borrego Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 35 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wikiup Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wikiup Bed and Breakfast

Property: Wikiup Bed and Breakfast
Address: 1645 Whispering Pines Drive, Julian, CA 92036
Location: United States > California > Julian
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Julian
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Julian, California's very romantic and secluded Wikiup Bed and Breakfast is located on four wooded hillside acres in a relaxed, rural setting. While at the B&B, enjoy the country life, only a mile from the historic mining town of Julian. However, the bustling city of San Diego is only an hour and 20 minutes away.Five wonderful guest rooms include all the amenities of a fine hotel, including large in-room spas or private out door hot tubs. Full and delicious breakfasts are your innkeeper's specialty. Awaken to scrumptious "country gourmet" feasts and enjoy a different creation every morning. Afternoon desserts are made available in the common area daily. Enjoy the breezes and shade covered decks by day, or unwind in the comfort of your hot tub or spa under the star-filled night skies. Walking paths, a restful swing, as well as fountains and a pond, encourage you to linger on the grounds and relax. The beautiful mountain atmosphere is perfect place to relax and forget about your busy life and hectic schedule. Llama feeding, swings, and the dreamy silence of the forest night make the Wikiup a favorite vacation getaway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Wikiup Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing