We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Weekend!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Eaglenest Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #4 of 11 Julian B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 29, 2012

My partner and I spent Memorial Weekend at Eaglenest B&B in Julian and it was a wonderful weekend! Jim and Julie truly thought of everything and work so hard to make our experience peaceful and relaxing. The rooms were spacious and comfortable with plush towels, soft rugs and cozy fire place. The room has coffee maker, wine glasses, DVD player, stereo, mini frig and even night light in the bathroom.There's a pantry full of drinks, popcorn, ice cream, hot chocolate with whip cream and movies. We were greeted with fresh baked pie, cookies and brownies. Breakfast was so awesome that our new line is "I wonder what Jim & Julie are making for breakfast today?" They helped us make reservations for the sky tour, wine tour and made recomendations for the Julian Tea House which was all fabulous! The B&B is close enough to walk around town but off the path so as to feel like your in the trees. I loved the dogs who greeted us in the morning at breakfast and were very friendly. We can't wait to come back again and maybe bring the kids and check out their cabin.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jennifer d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (149)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

100 - 106 of 149 reviews

Reviewed May 25, 2012

Just spent two wonderful nights at Julie and Jim's B & B (along with their Golden's, Will, Grace and Luke) in Julian to celebrate my wife's birthday.

Everything about the Eaglenest is 5 star quality. Julie and Jim are gracious and attentive hosts who make you feel right at home from the moment you enter the door. All the accommodations are immaculately clean and well kept. We stayed in the Spring Room, which has a gas fireplace and a large seating area, excellent. The B & B is located a very short walk from the main street of Julian, so the restaurants, pie shops and wine tasting rooms are within easy walking distance. Eaglenest has a pool and jacuzzi, so you can soak under the stars at night, a huge bonus. As other reviewers have stated, Jim cooks up a delicious and sumptuous breakfast every morning, while Julie serves and graces everyone with her loving and bubbly personality.

If you are thinking of spending time in Julian, the Eaglenest B & B is THE PLACE to stay!

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SDAlan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2012

From the moment we arrived, we were taken back by the beauty and charm of Eaglenest! Our stay was so relaxing! We really appreciated all of the little extras such as the candy and treats set out everywhere, the amazingly comfortable beds, and even the thick towels! The hot tub in the rain was spectacular and the views from the balcony in the morning were breath taking! I would highly recommend the full body massages in your room--totally worth every penny! The owners, Jim and Julie, were so friendly and welcoming, and the gorgeous retrievers were so fun and cuddley! We will definitely be back and have recommended Eaglenest to our friends! Posted some pictures on Facebook, and I already have people telling me that they are going to book a stay!

Room Tip: The Spring room is the best! Private and seperated from the other rooms--the only one on the second...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank AleciaAshcraft
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2012

My husband and I recently spent the weekend at Eaglenest B&B in Julian. Jim and Julie were very welcoming and we felt right at home. Eaglenest is located right in town so we could walk all around the town of Julian quite comfortably. We ate at the Julian Grille, nothing special but it was nice to walk to dinner. When we visit again we will try Jeremy's on the Hill, as it looks like a better place to eat. The room was quiet and comfy, we stayed in the Autumn room. Next time we will stay in the Spring room, as it is a two room suite with lots of windows. In the morning we were served a delicious breakfast. Last, but certainly not least in the morning we were greeted my Will and Grace, the beautiful golden retrievers who are the inn's ambassadors, priceless.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank MegBSanDiego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2012

My wife and I have never stayed at a B&B so we did not know what to expect. As a TV producer I am used to staying at high end hotels and wasn't sure a B&B would offer the luxury feel we are accustom to. To our pleasant surprise Eaglenest was an amazing getaway. The owners, Jim and Julie, were the most welcoming and accommodating hosts imaginable. I would trade staying at any high end L.A. hotel for Eaglenest any day. The home cooked breakfasts were better than restaurant meals and the Spring Room suite we stayed in was as comfortable as our home. Our hosts went above and beyond to make our stay relaxing and fun, booking private massages, an evening of star gazing and a horse drawn carriage ride for a romantic anniversary trip to Julian. Absolutely a very memorable and enjoyable trip. Don't miss this gem of a hideaway in Southern CA.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Multiple S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2012

My husband and I stayed two nights at the Eaglenest and wish it could have been longer. Jim and Julie are amazing inn keepers and did everything they could to make us feel at home. We really enjoyed the company of Luke, Will and Grace as well. We were able to get our "doggie fix" while on vacation, in fact my husband was wanting to see more of them! The breakfasts were absolutely wonderful and Jim made sure there were "diabetic friendly" options for my husband as well. The last night we had the whole house to ourselves and had a wonderful time sitting upstairs by the fire playing board games and indulging in the wonderful snacks provided all through the house. We look forward to returning with family and friends.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Autumn room which had it's own entrance and private patio which were awesome!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Carrie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2012

The host are great, welcome you as family. The home is wonderful (we stayed in the Spring Room) was warm and felt like home. Breakfast was outstanding, Jim is a great cook. If your looking for a place to staty look no further!!

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Richard P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Julian
0.1 mi away
Julian Lodge
Julian Lodge
#1 of 4 in Julian
133 reviews
19.4 mi away
Ayres Lodge Alpine
Ayres Lodge Alpine
#1 of 2 in Alpine
846 reviews
0.1 mi away
Julian Gold Rush Hotel
Julian Gold Rush Hotel
#2 of 11 in Julian
267 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Julian Country Inn
Julian Country Inn
#8 of 11 in Julian
12 reviews
0.9 mi away
Wikiup Bed and Breakfast
2.1 mi away
Tucker Peak Lodge
Tucker Peak Lodge
#10 of 11 in Julian
86 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eaglenest Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eaglenest Bed and Breakfast

Address: 2609 D Street, Julian, CA 92036
Location: United States > California > Julian
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Julian
Price Range: $188 - $210 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Your Victorian Bed & Breakfast home in the Historic Town Site of Julian, California, just one block up from Main St. Four Bedroom suites offer privacy and comfort, all with full baths, entertainment units, coffee and tea service, and comfortable seating. The rest of the home and property is yours to enjoy, the living room, dining rooms, decks with views, Pool and Hot Tub, and a number of wonderful outdoor spaces. A full country breakfast is served every day, and fresh baked desserts are provided during your stay also. Resident Golden Retrievers set the tone for a fabulous stay in Julian! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Eaglenest Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing