We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rustic should not be disgusting”
Review of Pine Hills Lodge

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Julian
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Pine Hills Lodge
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Julian
Dallas, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Rustic should not be disgusting”
Reviewed May 29, 2011

We arrived for a wedding in the beautiful, rustic setting. While we were not expecting a luxurious experience, we also were not expecting filth. There were rings in all of the toilets - who knows the last time they were cleaned. Did I mention that the bathrooms in the lodge are communal? Further, they did not even provide shampoo. Our bedroom had not been vacuumed. There was nothing but a sheer curtain for a room facing east. Needless to say, we were up by 6 am. While there was a thermostat in the room, there was only a thin quilt and no extra blankets. The place was extremely understaffed, and as a result the service was straight up surly and rude. All of these things might have been acceptable if we hadn't been paying $100/night.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sharkdaughter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    8
    3
    15
    17
See reviews for
21
19
Solo
0
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2011

I had made phone reservations for 3 adults about a month in advance for the Pine Hills Lodge Mother's Day Brunch. We did not stay at the lodge, but stayed nearby. When we arrived, our brunch reservation could not be found. The lady abruptly said she was the one who takes the reservations and that's all that was said. She quickly remedied the situation and got us a table by the window. The friendliness from the reservations lady & the rest of the staff was fine after this uncomfortable initial response. The buffet was fair, the Eggs Benedict was good. There was a fair selection of food, but nothing stood out as really good or of high quality - not much seemed homemade or extra special. There was no indication if any of their food was locally grown/produced or organic which is a big thing for Julian area restaurants. The assortment of food was mostly for looks & quantity, not taste especially evident in the assortment of bagels & muffins, We walked around the quaint lodge grounds after brunch. We did enjoy the casual atmosphere, and the old fashioned lodge dining room - nothing fancy but it fits the back woods location. We might try this place again, but won't go out of our way to do so.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LALanie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
80 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed May 9, 2011

We stayed for one night in a party of four. Hannah had told us she only had one bedroom available. So she charged the same cost as the one applicable to peak season (and she collected on arrival before we could see the rooms). The lodge was musty smelling. We were led to believe that all lodges were occupied. This turned out to not be true, out of the 4 lodges in the block we stayed in, 2 were not used. Yet we ended up in accommodation that was very small for our party. The floor hardly had any space for my children “roller beds” (in reality they were just very thin foams). Even though they were not cheap to have, we had to prepare them.
A heavy sales job was also attempted on us - to get us to buy the Sunday brunch. By then, we had got a good picture of what we had got ourselves in. It was good that we had seen lovely Julian town before we went there, we could see how easy it was to walk into a restaurant, thereby avoiding “concierge” charges at the Lodge. When we came back, we tried to enjoy the main building (there was a wedding before so we had not been able to see it). We were immediately asked if we wanted drinks – the bar was closing.
The quality of the accommodation was fairly poor, the bathroom was dated and rusty and the shower curtains were also not what you would expect for these “luxury lodges”.
The room was clean, including the bedding, but I would not recommend these lodges to any friend.

Room Tip: Make sure you ask when the rooms were last refurb
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank fct1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Julian hotels

San Diego, California
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed December 20, 2010

Pine Hills Lodge has an old fashioned legacy in time to a romantic hideaway. The innkeeper and his wife were perfect hosts and their staff provided us with gracious service. Santa greeted us upon our arrival and we briefly waited near the lobby fireplace before being seated for our reservation. The buffet was American traditional breakfast fare with hearty offerings.

The lodge location is atop a pine crested hilltop with views of surrounding mountains and valleys. The quaint cabins provide a perfect setting for a weekend get-a-way. And only seven miles south of San Diego's famous pioneer town of Julian.

Happy Holidays to all

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JonLe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
66 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed November 27, 2010

We came for the Thanksgiving special dinner which had three seatings and you had to reserve in advance. The price was $40 per person which would be reasonable if they hadn't run out of turkey, mashed potatoes yams and whipped cream for the pie. We were at the last seating and they must have known this was going to be a problem and they should have offered a discount or free cocktail or something but nope, they kept their mouth shut and we felt ripped off.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
Helpful?
3 Thank lofa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Segundo
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2010

Nestled up in the hills away from the main highway, yet near historic Julian, Pine Hills Lodge is the perfect place to unwind and relax. It is rustic, yet charming, and our cabin had a claw foot bathtub! We had deer and wild turkeys roaming outside of our cabin and the air was fresh and clean. Sunday brunch was delectable. We sat outside under the cedar trees and dined on salmon, Cajun shrimp, garlic green beans, and all the usual breakfast fare, but somehow it just tastes better up there. The staff at the lodge were friendly and helpful, which made our stay all the more enjoyable.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jdcd5487
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertfordshire
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2010

We came to Pine Hills for a wedding in May and thought it very expensive for what was being offered. This was a joyous occasion but the owner was extremely rude, never once smiled ----- strange as the whole lodge was booked by wedding guests and he was obviously making plenty of money, and the same went for the barman. Our cabin was OK but some other guests had problems with lack of cleanliness and bad smells. Even though they knew all the cabins were booked you would think they would take the trouble to air them. The morning after the wedding we were promised a fab brunch ----- it wasn't great at all and he wanted $20 each for the privilege. A definite rip off.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank anneeliza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Julian
20.3 mi away
La Casa del Zorro
La Casa del Zorro
#1 of 3 in Borrego Springs
470 reviews
17.1 mi away
Ayres Lodge Alpine
Ayres Lodge Alpine
#1 of 2 in Alpine
792 reviews
3.3 mi away
Apple Tree Inn
Apple Tree Inn
#3 of 4 in Julian
46 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Tucker Peak Lodge
Tucker Peak Lodge
#9 of 11 in Julian
84 reviews
2.3 mi away
Julian Gold Rush Hotel
Julian Gold Rush Hotel
#2 of 11 in Julian
245 reviews
9.6 mi away
Riviera Oaks Resorts
Riviera Oaks Resorts
#2 of 3 in Ramona
120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pine Hills Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pine Hills Lodge

Property: Pine Hills Lodge
Address: 2960 La Posada Way, Julian, CA 92036
Location: United States > California > Julian
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Julian
Number of rooms: 273
Also Known As:
Pine Hills Hotel Julian
Pine Hills Julian

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing