We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“When melted time .......”
Review of Julian Lodge

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Julian
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Julian Lodge
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Julian
Certificate of Excellence
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“When melted time .......”
Reviewed April 28, 2014

After a while we came to this place. It's nice to come to this place and find this hotel still so beautiful in your world. Furniture and equipment of the hotel evoke the atmosphere of the last century. After a quiet night you go to a small reception for breakfast and you feel like you're visiting her aunt, who ran for just a moment. Take your morning drink tea and go into the surrounding countryside. We also recommend a walk the main street and insight into local shops. A beautiful place where time does not fly but only follows his beautiful ease. Just make it last even so the next hundred years. Many thanks and come again even if it is from Europe piece of hand.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Quetina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    47
    49
    18
    6
    6
See reviews for
31
65
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
sonoma county
Level Contributor
72 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed March 28, 2014

This is probably one of the best b&Bs /small motel I've stayed in over my 60 years. Our room was right by the ice machine, so I was worried but we never heard any noise. Strong shower which seems rare in California motels/inns/high end hotels. Good toiletries. Friendly and responsive hosts for check in. Great assortment of good food for breakfasts. Great coffee. Wolfgang coffee in the room and most importantly ...flavored cream in the rooms with the coffee pot!!!! None of that crappy powdered stuff! Management should provide coasters for people to put glasses down on their wonderful wood furniture.

Room Tip: I didn't see any bad ones.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank rottenreba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westchester, California, USA
Level Contributor
27 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2014

Stayed for 1 night only, over the New Year holiday. Very quiet and quaint little B&B. We had the suite room #114, and it was tremendously huge. The bed was very comfortable as well. Great location and nice staff. Breakfast was a little lighter than what I would have expected, but the cost of the room was so reasonable and the location was so good, you can't complain. The town itself was very small, quiet and not much to do.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank LovedaCaribbean2920
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Level Contributor
76 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed December 26, 2013

This was our third visit to the Julian Lodge. Parking is free and well located for visiting historic Julian as well as the one night stay and back to the highway. The rooms on the back side are just a bit more quiet. But the front room offer views of Julian. Roni and Seth were very helpful and offered a late check in with an envelope on the front door of the office with our key and receipt. The room had fresh paint and showed little wear. Expect the furniture to be period, antique, and fits well with the feel of Julian. The room was comfortable and warm. The price is right, the most economical stay for the area. If you are looking for a full B&B, go ahead and pay double or even triple the price. The breakfast does have a lot breads and pastries but there are some hot choices and a fruit tray if you desire plenty to "fill the void". With our parents in the Julian area, and the house full, we are happy to stay here and plan to in in the future.

Room Tip: Rooms on the back side are a bit more quite but do not offer a view of Julian. Corner rooms upstairs...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Commodore2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
82 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed December 24, 2013

It's all about expectations. This is a nice but old-fashioned hotel, clearly re-done and updated but still with small rooms, and an outside passage to the breakfast room. It was chilly in the mountains in December, but we enjoyed walking around the small downtown. The young couple who manage the place are friendly too.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank christine k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Bernardino, California
Level Contributor
82 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed November 28, 2013

I booked my reservations last July for November Wedding Anniversary and got a better rate than if I had waited to the last minute. We went up on Veteran 's weekend & when we got there on Saturday all rooms were sold out. It was a very busy time of year & it was crowded wherever we went which was not a huge problem since we were enjoying the scenery & walking around the town. Our room at the lodge was clean & cute but very musky smelling & when I opened the window for air, it got too cold; also, I was told they offered a "full breakfast " which was really coffee, juice, bread & sweets...no eggs, bacon, sausage. Bring your own pillows, theirs tend to be small & flat.

Room Tip: Ask for room with a refrigerator on first floor. No elevators and you have to climb stairs on the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank 1rmcbrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed November 28, 2013

My husband and I stayed here last weekend and this place is so clean and cozy. The staff is very friendly and helpful. The bed was very comfortable, a nice warm heater kept the room very comfortable. The breakfast buffet was perfect with lots of choices and flowing coffee. I definitely recommend this lodge to anyone who wants a relaxing welcoming place to stay in Julian.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dlcmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Julian
18.2 mi away
La Casa del Zorro
La Casa del Zorro
#1 of 3 in Borrego Springs
470 reviews
19.4 mi away
Ayres Lodge Alpine
Ayres Lodge Alpine
#1 of 2 in Alpine
794 reviews
2.9 mi away
Apple Tree Inn
Apple Tree Inn
#3 of 4 in Julian
47 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Julian Gold Rush Hotel
Julian Gold Rush Hotel
#2 of 11 in Julian
245 reviews
2.0 mi away
Tucker Peak Lodge
Tucker Peak Lodge
#9 of 11 in Julian
84 reviews
18.1 mi away
Borrego Springs Resort & Golf Club, BW Premier Collection
Borrego Springs Resort & Golf Cl...
#2 of 3 in Borrego Springs
78 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Julian Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Julian Lodge

Property: Julian Lodge
Address: 2720 C Street, Julian, CA 92036
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Julian
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Julian
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 23
Also Known As:
Julian Hotel Julian

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing