We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good night's sleep”
Review of Julian Lodge

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Julian
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Julian Lodge
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Julian
Certificate of Excellence
Midwest City, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
69 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Good night's sleep”
Reviewed March 25, 2013

This hotel had nice big rooms and a very good continental breakfast. Staff was friendly and arranged for my late check-in. My only complaint is that the carpets seemed like they could use a cleaning. Great value and location though.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank oobleckclyde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    47
    49
    18
    6
    6
See reviews for
31
65
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Manning, Iowa
Level Contributor
249 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2013

I hesitate to add the positives this hotel deserves for fear that my next visit might find the "no vacancy" sign swinging in the air. However the Lodge offers a quiet stay at a fair price in a super clean surrounding with a friendly staff and that covers the bottom line.  Location, location, location, one half block off the main street shields the traffic noise and allows the parking of the car for the entire stay. A warning, numerous opportunities to sample temptings pies, a true struggle.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank augustleroy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malmo, Sweden
Level Contributor
107 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed February 27, 2013

In the small mountain town of Julian, this hotel is very central. The room was very fresh, furnished with old furniture that seemed genuine but still functional. The room was quite small with a comfortable Queen size bed. The bathroom was modern and functional. The room had WI-FI and a good TV. Coffee and biscuits were offered in the afternoon and the breakfast was plentiful and good.
A compressor (?) that stood outside was making some noise at night.
It snowed during the night and the city was very beautifull to wake up to.

Room Tip: I would choose a room on the second floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank folo18939
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 22, 2013

I had such a great stay at The Julian Lodge! The rooms, the owners, and the free breakfast were fantastic! I will definitely stay here again! Thank you so much for everything! The rooms are so cute and nicely decorated and it's centrally located so that you don't have to drive anywhere. The owners Roni and Seth were so nice and very knowledgeable about what to do and where to eat while we were in town! I adore this place and am looking forward to going back!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sssstacy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Level Contributor
76 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed December 27, 2012

We booked our room several months in advance due to our planned on Christmas Eve. Having several stops to make prior to our stay. We stopped in late in the day to check in and pick up a key to our room. We didn't return until very late only to find our key would not work and the room occupied. At the office we were greeted by the manager who was very apologetic and offered us an upgraded room and even to carry our bags for us. The room was very comfortable, clean, and peaceful. We slept wonderfully and awoke fully rested. Upon check out, Seth the manager again apologized and handed us our receipt for a full refund. We explained that we would be happy to pay since he went out of his way to be sure we were satisfied and would have nothing to do with charging us. Nice place to stay, nice rooms, and very nice people to deal with. We'll be back for sure.

Room Tip: Second floor rooms on the back side are larger and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Commodore2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 17, 2012

Confession: Our first choice was a room at the Julian Gold Rush Hotel, but they were full up and suggested the Julian Lodge. We reluctantly made a reservation, but were not at all disappointed. This place was great! We got a warm welcome on arrival and loved our second floor room--quiet, clean, comfortable. Our only complaint: the overwhelming smell of air freshener, which we fixed by encasing the culprit (when we found it above the wardrobe) in a ziploc bag and airing out the room a bit. Breakfast was just right for us light eaters: serve yourself, nice quality options. No protein other than yogurt and milk, but sufficient. Would definitely stay here again. P.S. If you like a soft pillow, bring your own.

Room Tip: Second floor rooms have nobody tromping around upstairs, but first floor rooms slightly more accessi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nansfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
julian, ca
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2012

My son and I stayed at the Julian Lodge for two nights this week to celebrate his birthday. It is perfectly located - about a half block off Main Street - which made it very easy to walk to all the shops, points of interest, and restaurants. The hotel has undergone a lot of upgrades since our last visit, and the new managers are so nice! Our room was very clean and newly redecorated, and the beds were extremely comfortable. The free wireless worked great, parking was plentiful, and the air conditioner in our room was quiet enough to keep on all night long. The complimentary breakfast was great, the breakfast room is charming, and the lady at the front desk was friendly, helpful and informative. The lending library in the lobby was the icing on the cake. Definitely my kind of place! We loved our stay at the Julian Lodge!

Room Tip: Soups & such is right across the street, and they have the best quiche!!! Their Thai chicken sou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank springtimeinch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Julian
18.2 mi away
La Casa del Zorro
La Casa del Zorro
#1 of 3 in Borrego Springs
470 reviews
19.4 mi away
Ayres Lodge Alpine
Ayres Lodge Alpine
#1 of 2 in Alpine
792 reviews
2.9 mi away
Apple Tree Inn
Apple Tree Inn
#3 of 4 in Julian
46 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Julian Gold Rush Hotel
Julian Gold Rush Hotel
#2 of 11 in Julian
245 reviews
2.0 mi away
Tucker Peak Lodge
Tucker Peak Lodge
#9 of 11 in Julian
84 reviews
18.1 mi away
Borrego Springs Resort & Golf Club, BW Premier Collection
Borrego Springs Resort & Golf Cl...
#2 of 3 in Borrego Springs
76 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Julian Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Julian Lodge

Property: Julian Lodge
Address: 2720 C Street, Julian, CA 92036
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Julian
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Julian
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 23
Also Known As:
Julian Hotel Julian

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing