We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Fun last minute trip!” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Julian Lodge

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Julian
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Julian Lodge
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Julian
Certificate of Excellence
la quinta, ca
Level Contributor
73 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Fun last minute trip!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2012

My husband and I decided to do a last minute trip to Julian so I went on the computer and did a crash course on the area. First thing I looked for was the local watering hole. I found it "Bailey's BBQ and Tavern" Well we left midday and we found the perfect parking spot under a big shade tree. We walked to Bailey's which only took 5 minutes if that and went into the tavern and sat up at the bar. We ordered a late lunch and a cold drink and began to soak up the local culture, and what a friendly culture it is! We started talking to everyone as if they were our friends and found out that a band from Oceanside was playing that night and the clincher was that Greg Douglas a guitarist from Steve Miller Band was going to be there. I was sold and so was the hubby, we then asked around for the hotel that the locals recommend. The Julian Lodge was on everyones lips and the bartender said if we mentioned Bailey's we would receive a 10% discount on our room. Well I called the lodge from the bar and spoke to the nicest woman she had one room left we took it. I asked her if she needed a credit card to hold it and she said no! That is amazing. We showed up at the lodge an hour later I walked in while the clerk was telling a woman that they had no rooms available I was nervous thinking she might have given my room away, to my suprise it was waiting for us! Anyway to make this long story a little short the room was clean and comfortable it is small but charming. They served a continental breakfast that was nice. Yes we did get the 10% off. Make sure you stop off at the honey shop. We will be going back!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vino4me
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    43
    16
    6
    5
See reviews for
26
55
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Port Hadlock, Washington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2012

We stayed two nights while visiting family/friends and found the lodge to be a perfect place to stay when in the Julian area. The staff is friendly and helpful and the location is perfect. It’s close to the main street but far enough off that traffic noise minimal. The lodge has covered decks up front with several benches which made it pleasant to sit and relax during the afternoon without overheating. The room we had was very clean and comfortable which made our visit even more memorable.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gordontamura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Imperial, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2012

We booked this hotel for a wedding we were attending in Julian. It was in a great area and easy to find location. Its close to all Julian has to offer..restaurants, gift shops, etc. If we ever needed to stay in Julian again we would stay at this hotel again. Nice staff and very clean!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank irsula w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
42 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2012

The Julian Lodge B&B is a good place for a week-end. We stayed over the Memorial week-end to visit with friends, it was a reasonable price for a place in town. The Lodge is across the street from the Julian Hotel, and next to the bank, it's downtown and within walking distance to everything. They have a really nice breakfast every morning with a lot of options, french toast, waffles, cereals, yogurts and fresh fruits, not the normal continental breakfast of just rolls and coffe or juice. The staff is wonderful and willing to do anything you need. It was clean and cute, but I wouldn't want to stay a long period of time as the place is older, rooms are small and the beds are not new, but for a few days it was definitely worth it.

Room Tip: There are only 23 rooms and none are completely floor level. Most have a few steps
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dchick_2012_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2012

Okay, so here it is. We booked a room with a queen bed because that is all they had left for the date we were looking to stay. Nonehteless, the manager Nicole stated that she would put two roll aways in the room at no charge which was great. Upon arrival, there were no rollaways in the room. The female desk attendant stated that she would have to bring them her self and that she would have to get on her housekeeping staff for not doing it. She did bring them but it was raining heavily, so the beds were a little wet. Not really a problem. The issue was the room was so small that I had to move the queen bed in order to fit bot the rollaways in the room. I asked the attendant if that would be okay, she said no problem. So here we are four people in this tiny tiny room with our two small dogs. We made the best of it since we were there primarily to play in th e snow.

Overall, I can not say that the hotel was a bad experience, this is Julian and the hotel was literally the definition of quaint. The furniture was way outdated including the TV, but they did have cable. I was also told that the room had a fridge in it but there was not. I do like their pet policy though which was putting up $100.00 cash up front, at check out if there is no dog damage (which there was'nt), you get your cash back whcih I did.

The breakfast was ok, the seating/dining area was nicely done. The outside of the building looks rennovated, but the inside - the rooms are very much dated and the price was a little steep - having said that I understand that this is Julian and the price of all lodgings in the area are relative. This B&B is good because you are smack in the middle of downtown Julian and close to everything as compared to the Apple Tree Inn whci is a short distance out of town. When I return to Julian, I will probably stay here again - primarily because of their pet policy.

P.S. As stated in other review there are no phones in the room or shampoo (the wife did not particularly like that). A funny not on the phone issue is that in the room they have the state mandated emergency exit plan posted on the waal which stated that if you have a emergency, call 911 - and that there is a payphone close to the office (ha, ha). We found that funny!!

Room Tip: The beds are very hard. Bring your own shampoo and a cell phone.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Neil B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nantes, France
Level Contributor
607 reviews
169 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 250 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2012

Lovely hotel serving free high tea late in the afternoon. The rooms upstairs are comfortable and cosily decorated although smallish. Very quiet on the back of the hotel. Excellent service and breakfast. Comfortable lounge with good reading and traditional games to play. Average prices for the area but definitely worth it. We enjoyed it a lot after a long drive from Palm Springs. Magnificent area definitely worth visiting.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JFLR187198
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2011

We arrived Christmas day. Nicole had upgraded us for Christmas and made sure we had everything we needed. The whole staff was great

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Terimelfa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Julian
18.2 mi away
La Casa del Zorro
La Casa del Zorro
#1 of 3 in Borrego Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 395 reviews
19.4 mi away
Ayres Lodge Alpine
Ayres Lodge Alpine
#1 of 2 in Alpine
4.5 of 5 bubbles 723 reviews
2.9 mi away
Apple Tree Inn
Apple Tree Inn
#3 of 4 in Julian
3.5 of 5 bubbles 42 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Tucker Peak Lodge
Tucker Peak Lodge
#11 of 14 in Julian
4.0 of 5 bubbles 77 reviews
0.9 mi away
Wikiup Bed and Breakfast
0.3 mi away
Oak Hill Inn
Oak Hill Inn
#6 of 14 in Julian
4.0 of 5 bubbles 24 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Julian Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Julian Lodge

Property: Julian Lodge
Address: 2720 C Street, Julian, CA 92036
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Julian
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Julian
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 23
Also Known As:
Julian Hotel Julian

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing