We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I just left... and I'm already getting ready to go back!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Julian
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Butterfield Ranch Resort
Ranked #7 of 13 Specialty Lodging in Julian
Reviewed January 2, 2010

My friend and I stayed at Butterfield Ranch Resort for 5 days between Christmas and New Years. It was an incredible experience! The staff were especially hospitable and welcoming, always ready and able to go out of their way to accommodate any request. We chose to stay in a mobile home / cabin that was very comfortable and had everything we needed. The pools and hot tub were oh, so relaxing. I went for a walk every morning and evening, and saw wildlife, cool rocks, and soaked up the solitude of the desert. I highly recommend Butterfield Ranch for your next solo or family adventure.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank melthehiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (41)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

27 - 33 of 41 reviews

Reviewed December 1, 2009

Had a great time. The mangement was wonderful and fun!!!! The camp ground is VERY clean and the families who were staying there were all friendly.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bennieSoCalif_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
desertcoyote, Manager at Butterfield Ranch Resort, responded to this reviewResponded December 10, 2009

Thank You for your review. We are so happy you all had FUN here at the ranch, we enjoy our guests and your experience here means a lot to us. We want you to come back, time after time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2009

My wife Dona and I always enjoy our stays at Butterfield Ranch. It's a wonderful location to explore and get away from the hustle and bustle of everyday life. The staff is always friendly and go out of their way to accomodate our needs. We pull in usually on a Friday evening and feel very comfortable just finding a spot and taking care of business in the morning with no hassels. We feel like this place is our own little piece of heaven for both of us, our children and grandchildren. The grandkids have wonderful memories already and look forward to traveling with us.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ARJLakesideCa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
desertcoyote, Manager at Butterfield Ranch Resort, responded to this reviewResponded December 10, 2009

Thank you for taking the time to write a nice review for the ranch! I'm glad to see generations coming back and making it a repeat family destination.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2009

My boyfriend and I decided to drive out to Julian and down to Butterfield Ranch Resort to re-visit (for me) and introduce to Mike and new get-away from the city life.

Seeing the Resort after being away for 10years, I found the campsite was still there and in great condition for camping. Sheila allowed us to check out the various camp sites, cedar cabins and other rentals and we were impressed. She was so helpful and friendly and made us feel welcome. We are definitely going to make reservations to come back and stay there and invite our friends to join us.

Butterfield Ranch is an oasis away from it all with the comfort of home. Only hours away from downtown San Diego, you can enjoy the beautiful peacefullness, desert mountain skies, fresh air, and relax and see the clear night stars....

A great stress release, week-end get-away!

Corinne & MIke
downtown San Diego

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank runrgirlcorny1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
desertcoyote, Manager at Butterfield Ranch Resort, responded to this reviewResponded December 10, 2009

Thank You for the wonderful review and from someone who has been coming to Butterfield Ranch for a long time. Just to let you know we will be having LIVE MUSIC twice a month and Star Gazing Parties as well, come on out.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2009

Our Lazy Daze RV Club enjoy Butterfield Ranch and we stay here sometimes twice a year for 4/5 day stays. Shiela, the campground host is friendly, helpful and a pure joy to be around. She took a group of our RV club members on a easy hike in the mountains and she educated us on the history of the Kumeyaay Indians, plants and animals. Anza Borrego is a short drive away and there are many other interesting places to see. If you like the desert like we do, Butterfield Ranch is a must place to stay at. There is a nice General Store, pool, cabins for rent, RV park and friendly management.

  • Stayed: October 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dglaporte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2009

We tent camped with 3 other families. The kids rode bikes, hiked and had a great time. Staff is friendly and helpful. Church services are available on Sundays close by.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JCH90802
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
desertcoyote, Manager at Butterfield Ranch Resort, responded to this reviewResponded December 10, 2009

I love having family groups here, you really know how to camp and have quality time together. Thank You so much for the review. Your always welcome to have your own services here.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2009

I would highly recommend this campground. You feel welcome from the moment you arrive. We needed to get away and relax.......this was the perfect place for relaxation and adventure!!!!

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank girlsrulex3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Julian hotels
14.6 mi away
Apple Tree Inn
Apple Tree Inn
#2 of 3 in Julian
50 reviews
11.9 mi away
Julian Country Inn
Julian Country Inn
#8 of 11 in Julian
12 reviews
12 mi away
Tucker Peak Lodge
Tucker Peak Lodge
#10 of 11 in Julian
92 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.8 mi away
Oak Hill Inn
Oak Hill Inn
#6 of 11 in Julian
26 reviews
11.6 mi away
Julian Lodge
Julian Lodge
#1 of 3 in Julian
139 reviews
11.6 mi away
Julian Gold Rush Hotel
Julian Gold Rush Hotel
#2 of 11 in Julian
277 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Butterfield Ranch Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Butterfield Ranch Resort

Address: 14925 Great Sthrn Overland Stg Rt, Julian, CA 92036-9308
Location: United States > California > Julian
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 13 Specialty Lodging in Julian
Price Range: $20 - $125 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Take a break from life, come to Butterfield Ranch Resort where the stars are brighter and the sky is so blue. The perfect get away! We're a short drive away from the town of Julian and Borrego Springs. Discover desert oasis or abandoned Indian villages. We offer sparkling pools, horseshoe pits, hiking trails, fully contained cabins, RV & tent camping and so much more..... Check us out! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Butterfield Ranch Hotel Julian

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing