We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (238)
Filter reviews
238 results
Traveler rating
119
65
27
16
11
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
119
65
27
16
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgram parsonskoi pondfire pitprivate patiogranola barsbeautiful poolcharm and characternational parkgrounds are well maintainedlaid backchain hotelcookie cutterdown the roadmorning coffeesmall fridge and microwaveother guestsa great place to stay
Filter
Updating list...
178 - 183 of 238 reviews
Reviewed October 30, 2010

Only stayed one night and wish it could have been more in this gorgeous, relaxing hideaway. Eclectic & atmospheric, the rather less than perfect aspects- e.g. creaky sunbeds, gate to the pool kept slipping off it's hinges etc. seemed to suit the idiosyncratic nature of this B&B.

We loved the large pool where I could have a proper swim. We appreciated the layout of the rooms which gave a sense of intimacy & seclusion as there are only a few rooms arranged on one floor with overhanging vines over the front doors. We made the most of the little back yard with loungers which was an unexpected bonus and just great to view the night sky in this desert location.

There was a TV, microwave, fridge, a good shower and soft towels. Beds were comfortable and bedding clean. I did not like the nylon style bed covers- a natural fibre covering would have been a great improvement as in the hot weather just making contact with nylon I find unpleasant.

There was no coffee/tea maker and no breakfast but this as OK for one night and there were a few cafes near by. Staff that we saw were friendly and very laid back, Californian style.

We absolutely loved this place and I dream about returning as soon as I can. Lovely- thank you!

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank southlondonerSE27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2010

I stayed 3 days durring Bhakti fest it was great. The pool was very large and beautiful slightly cold. The place was old but kept very clean. I loved the room very old fashioned! The staff was very friendly. I will be back for another trip next year!

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pirate33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jtinn, Owner at Joshua Tree Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 24, 2010

Such a pleasure to have you as our guest!
Artistic,spiritual,relaxed travelers,such as yourself,truly appreciate the unique atmosphere that the Joshua Tree Inn offers. It's a special experience for special people. Thank you for 'getting' it.
We welcome you back.
Peace,
Joshua Tree Inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2010

Stayed for the night in the Joshua Tree Inn on our journey from LA through the Mojave Desert to Las Vegas. Glad we were only there for one night.
We were in the most basic room. Amenities as we expected although I am not convinced the sheets had been changed from the previous guests.
Air conditioning pretty poor and noisy, didn't equate to the best nights sleep.
Did have a fab meal though in a nearby town, Pioneertown (Pappy and Harriets) - worth putting up with the inn for this!
Would try a different hotel/motel if we planned to go to Joahua Tree again.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank gillards
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jtinn, General Manager at Joshua Tree Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 24, 2010

We can assure you 100% that the sheets were laundered.
We do not use starch or hash chemicals or an iron,so our sheets are soft.
Best Regards,
JT Inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2010

First time, Wow glad I didn't expect much, Glad we didn't arrive before 3pm as it is closed.
Great quirky Inn and you'll love it if you expect camping in a Motel environment.
Don't be surprised when asked to pay for your entire stay UP FRONT.
NO STAFF ANYWHERE!!!!! If you run out of towels (and you only get one per person) or toilet paper TO BAD, there is no one on property even the person who is manning the front office from 3pm -8pm isn't there if there are no reservations. Don't expect to just drop in and check in.
No phones, I didn't really mind but when you are the only guest and no staff it can get spooky especially when locals come and use the pool when every they want day or night.
No clocks, and you had better know the time because when you check in front desk person is quick to tell you 3 or 4 times CHECK OUT IS AT 11;00
The Inn is old and very rundown many things didn't work. We enjoyed the Quirkiness however. We were the only people there so we got to be as loud as we wanted and play our guitars till the wee hours of the night.
All I can say is DON'T EXPECT ANYTHING & JUST HAVE A GOOD TIME.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cabmerlo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jtinn, General Manager at Joshua Tree Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 24, 2010

We are a small,unique and well-loved legendary inn (not a corporate chain cookie-cutter motel)
We aim to provide our guests with a special high desert experience of peace, tranquility and comfort in a natural setting. In keeping with being a boutique motel,our office hours are 3pm to 8 pm daily. Housekeeping provides room service every morning.
Special arrangements are made with guests when needed. After hours phone numbers are posted at the front door.
All rooms have 3 towels + wash cloth per guest (1 bath towel,1pool towel,1 hand towel) Extras are available upon request.
We are sorry that our front desk hours did not meet your needs.

We are glad that you enjoyed hanging out on the porch and playing guitar by the zen garden.
(Now THAT is what we are about)
Wishing you Happy Trails,
JT Inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2010

It's not the Hilton, and its a lot less pretentious. If your looking for a quaint place to stay with friendly service that is laid back, the Joshua Tree Inn just might be your place. It is not attended at night, but during the day, everyone bends over backward to help you. We found the rooms clean and well kept.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pdxj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews