We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Loved the area”
Review of Joshua Tree Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Joshua Tree
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Joshua Tree Inn
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Joshua Tree
Certificate of Excellence
Scotland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Loved the area”
Reviewed August 2, 2007

I am a great fan of Gram Parsons and have wanted to stay at the Joshua Tree Inn for a long time, I enjoyed my stay in room 8 and the area around it especially the desert and the National park, will return some day.
Only negative I thought was that the perhaps the owners should maintain the place a little and have postcards/photographs etc of Gram to sell, since he is the reason for many peoples visits. I have rated above average purely because of the Gram Parsons connection.

  • Stayed May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gramparsons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

207 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    99
    58
    25
    15
    10
See reviews for
35
100
13
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Southern California
Level Contributor
29 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2007

We stayed at the Joshua Tree Inn for my birthday week-end. We booked the immacuately clean as a whistle John Barrymore Suite. Comfy bed and sofa! Perfectly acceptable kitchen with refrig, microwave, and old stove. Plates, glasses, and even teas in cupboards. Nice corner table in nook. Air Conditioning in the living room. Bathroom sundries abound. We loved the colorful tiles in the shower and sink. Plenty of room for clothes in closet and drawers. Outstanding private patio to lounge around in and look at the stars. The staff was very attentive and friendly. Nice pool. Great scenic views. Quite and peaceful. You just can't beat the tribute in front of the Gram Parson's room. We also loved the lobby pictures and posters of Gram, U2, and other rock posters. Would definitely come back and stay again!

Stayed July 2007
Helpful?
Thank craigandstef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Springs, California
Level Contributor
44 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed December 27, 2006

We overnighted at Joshua Tree Inn so that we could get up at dawn to visit the National Park. The husband and wife managers had only recently taken over (four days earlier), so the defects mentioned below will hopefully be repaired by the time you visit. By the way, both times we passed through the lobby, the husband was sprawled back on the couch watching TV while his wife was working.

Our room was decent enough, large and somewhat rustic. Wi-Fi enabled. The room heater was very useful the cold night we visited. To be fixed: the room light switch didn't work; the clothes rack in the closet was broken so we couldn't hang any clothes there, the heater in the bathroom was non-working.

The grounds of the Inn were charming with a large California-style motel pool that must be great in the summer. Lot's of artful folky touches around the property left by, one assumes, other guests. A couple of cats roam freely and scratch at the door in the morning hoping to find a warm welcome.

Breakfast was fine, although served too late considering many guests may want to get going to the park before 8am.

Decor is mostly dedicated to The Byrds rocker Gram Parsons who checked in here looking for UFOs in 1973 and never checked out.

  • Liked — Funky and unpretentious
  • Stayed December 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank noooby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra
Level Contributor
137 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 211 helpful votes
Reviewed December 25, 2006

we decided to stay in a hotel when we found Joshua Tree too cold to camp out. So the great ring around began. must admit we found other places booked out - but this place almost empty! Anyway - if you have a car, it is a reasonable location - near to the park and shops, and only a few minutes drive back to Yucca Valley - the major shopping centre. All the rooms are different - we stayed in Room 9 - with the "antique" furniture - we choose this room cause the check in reckoned it had the best bed! TV, fridge, limited toiletries, basic towels etc reverse cycle air conditiioner provided heating. reasonable sized room, clean, quiet. Continental brekkie was included - cereal, tea (amazing range of herbals) coffee, toast / muffins. Obviously an old place that they tart up every now and again and provide a decent stay

  • Liked — comfy bed, clean room
  • Disliked — heater not really efficient - noisy and drying
  • Tips/Secrets — pay extra for a more comfy room
  • Stayed December 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank DownunderSugarglider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed March 10, 2006

we like places with charm and character -- Joshua Tree Inn has both. It is old - not for someone who loves a shiney new holiday cookie cutter inn -- but the rooms are clean, unique, nicely decorated and quiet. our junior suite had a bar with stools, king bed with good quality pillows and linens, lovely painted tile in the tiny bathroom (they really made them small when this place was built -- but it was fine -- shower was good and the toiletries were excellent) and a small private patio - my daughter and SIL's room was smaller, but also nice with queen bed and both rooms had microwave and refrigerator. owner was friendly and accomodating, the breakfast room was nice and the breakfast excellent. we loved it -- it was just what we were looking for -- only sorry it was too cold to enjoy the pool.

  • Stayed March 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 8, 2005

First of all, let me preface this review by saying that if you are looking for luxury, neither the Yucca Valley California desert region nor the Joshua Tree Inn is the place for you . I recently stayed here for one night , and found my visit to be completely delightful. Is the JT Inn a bit rough around the edges ? Indeed it is . Is the place steeped in American western rock heritage? Of course. That said, my friend and I couldn't have had a better time during our stay. Dan, the owner , went out of his way to make sure that we had a relaxing visit by extending our check-out time (without charge ) to allow us to linger by the pool and enjoy the warm desert morning and afternoon. The complimentary continental breakfast was plentiful, and the folklore from the days of Gram Parsons, Emmylou Harris, & others was fascinating. The staff was friendly & accomodating, and I will definitely return to this odd and delightful place.

  • Stayed May 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank toeside
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed March 29, 2005

In spite of what we had visualized as a special place, we found a has-been motel whose claim to fame is based on what it once was. What it is now is a rundown motel, sorely in need of renovation: -- tiles missing, creaky old beds, faded, thin sheets, an ugly heating system that is roughly framed into the walls, dusty, broken blinds etc.

On the positive side, there are some nice plants on the property and three beautiful Joshua trees. Also, the continental breakfast was more than adequate and very pleasant.

Our biggest beef was that, without our knowledge, the room had been charged to our VISA card at the time we reserved (more than a month before our visit)! We believe this is unacceptable and puts the unsuspecting traveller at a disadvantage.

All in all, not the best value for the money. If we go again, we're sure we can find a more comfortable and less expensive place among the many newer motels in the area.

  • Stayed March 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Joshua Tree
6.0 mi away
Best Western Joshua Tree Hotel & Suites
12.8 mi away
Best Western Gardens Hotel at Joshua Tree National Park
Best Western Gardens Hotel at Jo...
#4 of 12 in Twentynine Palms
4.0 of 5 bubbles 561 reviews
6.3 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.1 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Twentynine Palms-Joshua Tree National Park
Fairfield Inn & Suites Twentynin...
#2 of 12 in Twentynine Palms
4.5 of 5 bubbles 411 reviews
9.7 mi away
Pioneertown Motel
Pioneertown Motel
#1 of 1 in Pioneertown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 74 reviews
14.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Twentynine Palms- Joshua Tree
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Twe...
#6 of 12 in Twentynine Palms
4.5 of 5 bubbles 301 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Joshua Tree Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Joshua Tree Inn

Property: Joshua Tree Inn
Address: 61259 Twentynine Palms Highway, Joshua Tree, CA 92252
Location: United States > California > California Desert > Joshua Tree
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Joshua Tree
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Joshua Tree Inn, built in 1950, is a Hacienda Style inn conveniently located just six miles from the grandeur of Joshua Tree National Park. The Inn has long been known for the warmth, charm, and comfortable lodging it provides for guests visiting California's extraordinary Mojave Desert. The Inn is laid out in a square horseshoe that provides privacy for all of our guests. All of our eleven rooms are on ground level, facing our desert courtyard and large pool. Our decor is eccentrically eclectic. The Inn is the site of the legendary Gram Parsons Room, where the beloved and respected musician/songwriter spent his last hours. Room 8 still offers a quintessential "Cosmic American Experience" to fans of the father of Alt-country rock. On the peach colored wall hangs the same mirror and picture that hung in the room back in 1973. The Joshua Tree Inn features a large swimming pool, as well as our peaceful zen courtyard & koi pond, plus dining room access & gift shop. We also provide complimentary coffee, tea, & morning snacks for our guests.All of our charming rooms include: Private Patios ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Joshua Tree Hotel Joshua Tree

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing