We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Joshua Tree Inn
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation but we can search other options in Joshua Tree
See available hotels
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sands View Motel(Yucca Valley)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
Pioneertown Motel(Pioneertown)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Free Internet
Harmony Motel(Twentynine Palms)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (228)
Filter reviews
228 results
Traveler rating
109
65
27
16
11
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
109
65
27
16
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgram parsonskoi pondfire pitprivate patiogranola barsbeautiful poolnational parkcharm and charactergrounds are well maintainedlaid backchain hotelcookie cutterdown the roadenjoyed my staysmall fridge and microwavecomfortable roomother guests
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
208 - 213 of 228 reviews
Reviewed December 27, 2006

We overnighted at Joshua Tree Inn so that we could get up at dawn to visit the National Park. The husband and wife managers had only recently taken over (four days earlier), so the defects mentioned below will hopefully be repaired by the time you visit. By the way, both times we passed through the lobby, the husband was sprawled back on the couch watching TV while his wife was working.

Our room was decent enough, large and somewhat rustic. Wi-Fi enabled. The room heater was very useful the cold night we visited. To be fixed: the room light switch didn't work; the clothes rack in the closet was broken so we couldn't hang any clothes there, the heater in the bathroom was non-working.

The grounds of the Inn were charming with a large California-style motel pool that must be great in the summer. Lot's of artful folky touches around the property left by, one assumes, other guests. A couple of cats roam freely and scratch at the door in the morning hoping to find a warm welcome.

Breakfast was fine, although served too late considering many guests may want to get going to the park before 8am.

Decor is mostly dedicated to The Byrds rocker Gram Parsons who checked in here looking for UFOs in 1973 and never checked out.

  • Stayed: December 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank noooby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 25, 2006

we decided to stay in a hotel when we found Joshua Tree too cold to camp out. So the great ring around began. must admit we found other places booked out - but this place almost empty! Anyway - if you have a car, it is a reasonable location - near to the park and shops, and only a few minutes drive back to Yucca Valley - the major shopping centre. All the rooms are different - we stayed in Room 9 - with the "antique" furniture - we choose this room cause the check in reckoned it had the best bed! TV, fridge, limited toiletries, basic towels etc reverse cycle air conditiioner provided heating. reasonable sized room, clean, quiet. Continental brekkie was included - cereal, tea (amazing range of herbals) coffee, toast / muffins. Obviously an old place that they tart up every now and again and provide a decent stay

  • Stayed: December 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank DownunderSugarglider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Nashville, TN
12
Reviewed March 10, 2006

we like places with charm and character -- Joshua Tree Inn has both. It is old - not for someone who loves a shiney new holiday cookie cutter inn -- but the rooms are clean, unique, nicely decorated and quiet. our junior suite had a bar with stools, king bed with good quality pillows and linens, lovely painted tile in the tiny bathroom (they really made them small when this place was built -- but it was fine -- shower was good and the toiletries were excellent) and a small private patio - my daughter and SIL's room was smaller, but also nice with queen bed and both rooms had microwave and refrigerator. owner was friendly and accomodating, the breakfast room was nice and the breakfast excellent. we loved it -- it was just what we were looking for -- only sorry it was too cold to enjoy the pool.

  • Stayed: March 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2005

First of all, let me preface this review by saying that if you are looking for luxury, neither the Yucca Valley California desert region nor the Joshua Tree Inn is the place for you . I recently stayed here for one night , and found my visit to be completely delightful. Is the JT Inn a bit rough around the edges ? Indeed it is . Is the place steeped in American western rock heritage? Of course. That said, my friend and I couldn't have had a better time during our stay. Dan, the owner , went out of his way to make sure that we had a relaxing visit by extending our check-out time (without charge ) to allow us to linger by the pool and enjoy the warm desert morning and afternoon. The complimentary continental breakfast was plentiful, and the folklore from the days of Gram Parsons, Emmylou Harris, & others was fascinating. The staff was friendly & accomodating, and I will definitely return to this odd and delightful place.

  • Stayed: May 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank toeside
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Vancouver, BC
18
Reviewed March 29, 2005

In spite of what we had visualized as a special place, we found a has-been motel whose claim to fame is based on what it once was. What it is now is a rundown motel, sorely in need of renovation: -- tiles missing, creaky old beds, faded, thin sheets, an ugly heating system that is roughly framed into the walls, dusty, broken blinds etc.

On the positive side, there are some nice plants on the property and three beautiful Joshua trees. Also, the continental breakfast was more than adequate and very pleasant.

Our biggest beef was that, without our knowledge, the room had been charged to our VISA card at the time we reserved (more than a month before our visit)! We believe this is unacceptable and puts the unsuspecting traveller at a disadvantage.

All in all, not the best value for the money. If we go again, we're sure we can find a more comfortable and less expensive place among the many newer motels in the area.

  • Stayed: March 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews