We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a place with character”
Review of Joshua Tree Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Joshua Tree
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Joshua Tree Inn
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Joshua Tree
Certificate of Excellence
A TripAdvisor Member
Nashville, TN
12
Reviewed March 10, 2006

we like places with charm and character -- Joshua Tree Inn has both. It is old - not for someone who loves a shiney new holiday cookie cutter inn -- but the rooms are clean, unique, nicely decorated and quiet. our junior suite had a bar with stools, king bed with good quality pillows and linens, lovely painted tile in the tiny bathroom (they really made them small when this place was built -- but it was fine -- shower was good and the toiletries were excellent) and a small private patio - my daughter and SIL's room was smaller, but also nice with queen bed and both rooms had microwave and refrigerator. owner was friendly and accomodating, the breakfast room was nice and the breakfast excellent. we loved it -- it was just what we were looking for -- only sorry it was too cold to enjoy the pool.

  • Stayed: March 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (224)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

207 - 213 of 224 reviews

Reviewed May 8, 2005

First of all, let me preface this review by saying that if you are looking for luxury, neither the Yucca Valley California desert region nor the Joshua Tree Inn is the place for you . I recently stayed here for one night , and found my visit to be completely delightful. Is the JT Inn a bit rough around the edges ? Indeed it is . Is the place steeped in American western rock heritage? Of course. That said, my friend and I couldn't have had a better time during our stay. Dan, the owner , went out of his way to make sure that we had a relaxing visit by extending our check-out time (without charge ) to allow us to linger by the pool and enjoy the warm desert morning and afternoon. The complimentary continental breakfast was plentiful, and the folklore from the days of Gram Parsons, Emmylou Harris, & others was fascinating. The staff was friendly & accomodating, and I will definitely return to this odd and delightful place.

  • Stayed: May 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank toeside
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Vancouver, BC
18
Reviewed March 29, 2005

In spite of what we had visualized as a special place, we found a has-been motel whose claim to fame is based on what it once was. What it is now is a rundown motel, sorely in need of renovation: -- tiles missing, creaky old beds, faded, thin sheets, an ugly heating system that is roughly framed into the walls, dusty, broken blinds etc.

On the positive side, there are some nice plants on the property and three beautiful Joshua trees. Also, the continental breakfast was more than adequate and very pleasant.

Our biggest beef was that, without our knowledge, the room had been charged to our VISA card at the time we reserved (more than a month before our visit)! We believe this is unacceptable and puts the unsuspecting traveller at a disadvantage.

All in all, not the best value for the money. If we go again, we're sure we can find a more comfortable and less expensive place among the many newer motels in the area.

  • Stayed: March 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
New York
13
Reviewed January 5, 2005

Joshua Tree Inn with its lovely courtyard and original Spanish Colonial design was a welcome relief from the usual corporate cookie-cutter places. Not only were the prices reasonable ($75 including a nice breakfast by the huge desert rock fireplace) but the Inn is steeped in country/rock music history! This historic inn was the first building erected in Joshua Tree and legendary cult icons from John Wayne to Keith Richards and Gram Parsons were regulars. A great place to stay for the unconventional traveler.

3  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2004

I stayed at this small, humble but venerable establishment back in early March of 2003. Being somewhat of a Gram Parsons fan, but a rock and roll fan nonetheless, I was attracted to the history of this place tucked way away in the strange knarled Joshua tree desert of the Mojave. This place doesn't stand out upon first searching for it on the long stretch of highway that leads to the Twentynine Palms Marine Corps Base. The 10 room establishment is where Gram Parsons met his ultimate fate, death back on September 17, 1973, from a drug toxicity due to multiple days of drug use. Parsons died in room #8. I had the privilege of staying in this room and each person who does, gets a room key with the number on it upon departing the place. The room is virtually the same as it was when he passed away and even the bed doesn't seem like it's been changed since then either. There is a mirror on the wall that has been there for thirty plus years and it is said that people have seen his ghost in this mirror's reflections. I saw no ghost, but found the room fairly comfortable, although don't expect top-notch room service nor perfect climatisation in the room; it's not that kind of hotel. The door in the rear that leads to the parking space was tough to lock, a little creepy at night, but I felt very lucky to have gotten to share a piece of history in rock at this motel. Don't know if I'd stay again, but for Parsons fans, this would be a must. Interesting place and very nice owner who is all too eager to talk about the late Mr. Parsons. The Flying Burrito Brothers and Gram's memory live on!

11  Thank cjennt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: November 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank Aldo M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: November 2016, traveled solo
Thank JimmieMI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Joshua Tree
6 mi away
Best Western Joshua Tree Hotel & Suites
9.7 mi away
Pioneertown Motel
Pioneertown Motel
#1 of 1 in Pioneertown
86 reviews
12.8 mi away
Best Western Gardens Hotel at Joshua Tree National Park
Best Western Gardens Hotel at Jo...
#3 of 12 in Twentynine Palms
693 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Twentynine Palms- Joshua Tree
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Twe...
#6 of 12 in Twentynine Palms
328 reviews
13.1 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Twentynine Palms-Joshua Tree National Park
Fairfield Inn & Suites Twentynin...
#2 of 12 in Twentynine Palms
460 reviews
6.3 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Joshua Tree Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Joshua Tree Inn

Address: 61259 Twentynine Palms Highway, Joshua Tree, CA 92252
Location: United States > California > California Desert > Joshua Tree
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Joshua Tree
Price Range: $85 - $175 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Joshua Tree Inn, built in 1950, is a Hacienda Style inn conveniently located just six miles from the grandeur of Joshua Tree National Park. The Inn has long been known for the warmth, charm, and comfortable lodging it provides for guests visiting California's extraordinary Mojave Desert. The Inn is laid out in a square horseshoe that provides privacy for all of our guests. All of our eleven rooms are on ground level, facing our desert courtyard and large pool. Our decor is eccentrically eclectic. The Inn is the site of the legendary Gram Parsons Room, where the beloved and respected musician/songwriter spent his last hours. Room 8 still offers a quintessential "Cosmic American Experience" to fans of the father of Alt-country rock. On the peach colored wall hangs the same mirror and picture that hung in the room back in 1973. The Joshua Tree Inn features a large swimming pool, as well as our peaceful zen courtyard & koi pond, plus dining room access & gift shop. We also provide complimentary coffee, tea, & morning snacks for our guests.All of our charming rooms include: Private Patios ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Joshua Tree Hotel Joshua Tree

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing