We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Who is Graham Parson's??”
Review of Joshua Tree Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Joshua Tree
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Joshua Tree Inn
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Joshua Tree
Certificate of Excellence
Noblesville, Indiana
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Who is Graham Parson's??”
Reviewed July 29, 2012

Don't know who he is and don't care. My husband does and that is how we first ended up staying here for the 1st time 2 years ago. If you want to stay in a sterile, boring motel with predictable service, this is not the place for you. However, if you want to stay in a place that is peaceful, calm, and zen, the Joshua Tree Inn is your paradise. When we stayed 2 years ago, it was up for sale and definitely needed some work. When we stayed this past June, the "for sale sign" was gone and many improvements were being made on the property. I have seen reviews where the beds were terrible- we must have lucked out. Our bed had a new mattress and I have never slept better. The pool and grounds were clean. The pool furniture needs to be replaced, but with all the remodeling going on, I would hope that would be on their agenda. The pool furniture was comfortable, it was just old. Also, when it says check in is 3:00, that means 3:00. No one will be there before then. The inn has coffee, tea and granola bars set out for breakfast everyday. It's nice to get a cup of coffee and sit outside your room and enjoy the view. The Crossroad's restaurant is a couple blocks away and has a wonderful food for breakfast, lunch and dinner. If you want a relaxing time and pretend you are in 1950's California- this is your place!

Room Tip: Just go online and look at the rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
4 Thank Hikermom1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

209 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    101
    58
    25
    15
    10
See reviews for
35
101
14
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
SW USA
Level 6 Contributor
303 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2012

A funky (wine stains on sheets, weird green paint on wall, ultra small bathroom, coffee/tea and granola bar for breakfast) and hippy-dippy motel that I would expect to be a mecca for Gram Parson's fans and sorta dumpy for those who are not. Small closet has small fridge and microwave which is nice. Staff are nice. Free wifi in rooms. A few miles from one of the entrances to the National Park which is worth it. Looks better on the website than in person. About $85.00 per night. If you do want to stay here call the motel directly, do not use a service as they would charge extra. Would not stay here again.

Room Tip: Get a room further from the front. Number 8 (where Gram Parsons died), 9, 10 ,11 would be good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelNowSwUsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2012

70's country rock icon Gram Parsons died here, and 30 years later people still come here to leave mementoes at his shrine. It was once a getaway for the stars but now it appears to be a stop for the cheap and/or younger rocker traveler. However, we don't fit that profile, and still found it charming. It's totally bare bones: cynder-block walls, tiny shower with cracked tiles, and the lighting in the closet cubby was a table lamp sitting on top of the ancient dorm fridge. It's rundown by most standards but still there's something to the place that will have me coming back again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room farther away from the front entrance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank roadie2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
86 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed May 24, 2012

The Joshua Tree Inn has such potential but always when we have stayed has a run down look because of lack of care.
The pool in particular was very worrying as it looked as if it had not been cleaned & maintained as it should be for health & hygiene. The water level was about 2 inches lower than it should for the filtration system to work and there was a considerable amount of old debris in the channels. I did see someone once run a small net around the edge of the pool and some feathers etc were in he net, doing this does not clean a pool and none of the debris was removed from the channel. When we stayed there before there was a pool cleaner came to professionally clean it which is absolutely essential to maintain it to the standard required for health & safety.
The bedroom was fine the maid did her job and the current manager is very pleasant, I do think this place has the potential to be good but due to lack of maintenance it definately has a long way to go and the cost per night is high for what is there & I won't even mention the Granola bar for breakfast.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sango61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jtinn, Guest Relations Manager at Joshua Tree Inn, responded to this review, June 2, 2012
Hello and thank you for your many visits to the JT Inn!
We can assure you 100% that the pool is clean and at the proper ph level at all times. We maintain a Professional Pool Service. They have been with us for many years and tend to our pool 2-3 times a week. In between the innkeeper skims the surface and tops of the water level (which evaporates quickly in the desert sun). We have a brand new state-of-the art pool pump and filtration system.
Our county Health Dept. reports have consistently been excellent for over 10 years!
The only time the water does not appear crystal clear is after high winds,which blow sand,pine needles and leaves into the pool.
On another note,we have not been a B&B for 3 years,but we do offer complimentary granola bars,Yerba Mate and Coffee to get your morning started.
We wish you happy trails wherever they may take you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 12, 2012

Knowing this was a historic inn, I didn't expect everything to be up-to-date. That was part of the charm. But for 90 bucks a night, this is what we got:

Forget "complimentary breakfast." I browsed it early one morning and it looked as though there was something like half a jug of milk and some old bagels put out.

The beds. Oh. My. Where on EARTH did they get these brick hard, SQUEAKY mattresses from? Good Will? The squeaking was so loud with even the slightest move, that BF and I couldn't even hear each other speak or even the television. I had to get one of the blankets from the closet, roll it up and use it as extra padding so I didn't have springs digging into my hips! Not relaxing at all when you've spent a day trekking out in the park.

Be prepared to hear everything, and I mean EVERYTHING that your neighbors do.

What appear to be single paned windows do not keep drafts or heat out. Can be hard to regulate temperature in the rooms. The owners could invest a little extra in that, in my opinion.

Bathroom lighting awful. Rooms are very, very dark. This would be a rather easy fix, IMO.

Good points: Showers had nice pressure. The landscaping with the fragrant lilacs is very nice. The folks that run the place (are they the owners, too? not sure) seem friendly.

Overall, though, this place needs a serious facelift. Either that, or lower the rates to customers, because I think I would have slept better in a tent.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank NatureTrvlr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jtinn, Manager at Joshua Tree Inn, responded to this review, May 14, 2012
Mistaken identity. Review is not of the Joshua Tree Inn. We do not have bagels or jugs of milk,or lilacs,or noisey beds There is no Holiday Inn Express down the road. Nor have we had a couple from Atlanta,Ga. in April.or anytime this year.
Clearly you have confused us with an inn in 29 Palms.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san luis obispo
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed May 3, 2012

A must for fans of Gram Parsons or those interested in one of the most bizarre episodes in rock history. Conveniently located near the JT park entrance and a very good Thai restaurant. Stayed in #9, Emmylou's room. No ghosts reported.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank u-roy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 1, 2012

This is THEE place to stay if you are touring through & playing at Pappy & Harriet’s or anywhere else in the desert for that matter .
Three Chord Justice always stays here when we are gigging at P&H & we just LOVE it!
Grams room is always our first choice but we recently stayed in the Emmy Lou room & it’s beautiful!
Also, check out the other super hip pads they rent out on the property closer to the park.
The entire band can stay at these places & that makes it affordable.
JTI ROCKS!
See you later this year!

Room Tip: Must love music!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ludwig26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Joshua Tree
6.0 mi away
Best Western Joshua Tree Hotel & Suites
12.8 mi away
Best Western Gardens Hotel at Joshua Tree National Park
Best Western Gardens Hotel at Jo...
#4 of 12 in Twentynine Palms
613 reviews
6.3 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.7 mi away
Pioneertown Motel
Pioneertown Motel
#1 of 1 in Pioneertown
77 reviews
13.1 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Twentynine Palms-Joshua Tree National Park
Fairfield Inn & Suites Twentynin...
#2 of 12 in Twentynine Palms
423 reviews
8.1 mi away
Travelodge Inn and Suites Yucca Valley/Joshua Tree Nat'l Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Joshua Tree Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Joshua Tree Inn

Property: Joshua Tree Inn
Address: 61259 Twentynine Palms Highway, Joshua Tree, CA 92252
Location: United States > California > California Desert > Joshua Tree
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Joshua Tree
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Joshua Tree Inn, built in 1950, is a Hacienda Style inn conveniently located just six miles from the grandeur of Joshua Tree National Park. The Inn has long been known for the warmth, charm, and comfortable lodging it provides for guests visiting California's extraordinary Mojave Desert. The Inn is laid out in a square horseshoe that provides privacy for all of our guests. All of our eleven rooms are on ground level, facing our desert courtyard and large pool. Our decor is eccentrically eclectic. The Inn is the site of the legendary Gram Parsons Room, where the beloved and respected musician/songwriter spent his last hours. Room 8 still offers a quintessential "Cosmic American Experience" to fans of the father of Alt-country rock. On the peach colored wall hangs the same mirror and picture that hung in the room back in 1973. The Joshua Tree Inn features a large swimming pool, as well as our peaceful zen courtyard & koi pond, plus dining room access & gift shop. We also provide complimentary coffee, tea, & morning snacks for our guests.All of our charming rooms include: Private Patios ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Joshua Tree Hotel Joshua Tree

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing