We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Save
Review Highlights
Couldn't have asked for a better time climbing in Joshua Tree with Zack!

Zack was an amazing guide! He has incredible knowledge of the park and was able to show us some of... read more

Reviewed 4 weeks ago
X7437OFalexb
Great experience with a great guide!

It was great! As a climber in a previous life it meant a lot for me to get my two boys up on a... read more

Reviewed December 22, 2020
bradr571
,
Bremerton, Washington
Read all 79 reviews
  
Reviews (79)
Filter reviews
79 results
Traveler rating
79
0
0
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveler rating
79
0
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews great guide climbing adventure real rock palm springs nelson anchor zack level blast ropes harness helmets transition challenges crag shoes
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
17 - 22 of 79 reviews
Reviewed April 4, 2018

Joshua Tree is a Rock Climbing Haven ... Perfect place for all levels. The Climbing Guides are simply the best. Nelson and his team was super encouraging and kept us safe and laughing. We were challenged and had the best day with them. I highly recommend.

Date of experience: March 2018
Thank Lisa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2018

We have worked with The Climbing Life Guides for 3 years in a row because they are so awesome! Nelson is really patient, thorough and clearly knows his stuff! This year, the weather was cloudy and rain was in the forecast so The Climbing Life Guides brought an easy-up tent for our participants to sit under while they waited for their turn to climb which obviously was so thoughtful and nice! I would definitely recommend them if you're looking to climb in Joshua tree!

Date of experience: March 2018
1  Thank brookebarry2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2018

Super organized and helpful! I found them very easy to book with and organize and they were super accommodating. Molly was our guide and she was awesome. As an old climber I was super impressed and had so much fun getting on the rock again. My girls were inspired and had a great time.

Date of experience: January 2018
Thank taosmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2018

It was my first trip to Joshua Tree park and a friend suggested I do rock climbing there. Turns out Joshua Tree Park is the perfect place to do rock climbing, so I highly recommend to do rock climbing on your next trip to JT. The Climbing Life Guides and Nelson were very accommodating and friendly. Nelson helped me not only to get down the basics, but also coached me through some challenging climbs which I never imagined could be climbed and which made me want to take up rock climbing on a regular basis. I suggest doing rock climbing with Climbing Guides on your next trip to JT park

Date of experience: December 2017
Thank Maxim N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2017

Our family had a great time with The Climbing Life Guides in Joshua Tree this week. Although we consider ourselves to be somewhat adventurous, we had never rock climbed before and knew this was the thing to do in Joshua Tree. We searched Tripadvisor for a reputable company with great reviews and found Nelson and The Climbing Life Guides. The online booking process was easy and professional. On the morning of our excursion, we met our guide, Stephen, at Nelson’s house near the West entrance to Joshua Tree. He has converted part of his house/garage into a shop where his tours begin from. We were fitted with our hiking shoes, helmets, and harnesses. Then we loaded up and drove into the park. We opted to drive separately so that we could spend more time in the park when we are done. What I really liked about this tour was that Stephen completely catered the climb to our interests and experience. He listened to our desires and concerns and planned out a day that fit our family perfectly. Our boys are 11 and 14 and he was excellent with them. It’s hard to explain, but it was the perfect combination of positive encouragement and pushing a little to go just a bit further outside of our comfort zone. He was patient, funny and an all-around likable guy. As a mom who is a little afraid of heights, I felt like my family was in good hands and safe the entire time. We ended up in three different climbing spots, each different and interesting. Stephen also provided information about the desert, plants, and local habitat. I would highly recommend the Climbing Life Guides for your families rock climbing adventure in Joshua Tree.

Date of experience: November 2017
Thank OurEdventures
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews