We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Save
Review Highlights
Great experience with a great guide!

It was great! As a climber in a previous life it meant a lot for me to get my two boys up on a... read more

Reviewed 3 weeks ago
bradr571
,
Bremerton, Washington
Perfect Day in Joshua Tree!

Booking was easy and all questions were answered quickly and efficiently via email. We met our... read more

Reviewed November 24, 2020
reginabO10DL
,
Palm Desert, California
Read all 78 reviews
  
Reviews (78)
Filter reviews
78 results
Traveler rating
78
0
0
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveler rating
78
0
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews great guide climbing adventure real rock palm springs nelson anchor zack level blast ropes harness helmets transition challenges crag shoes
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
18 - 23 of 78 reviews
Reviewed January 21, 2018

Super organized and helpful! I found them very easy to book with and organize and they were super accommodating. Molly was our guide and she was awesome. As an old climber I was super impressed and had so much fun getting on the rock again. My girls were inspired and had a great time.

Date of experience: January 2018
Thank taosmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2018

It was my first trip to Joshua Tree park and a friend suggested I do rock climbing there. Turns out Joshua Tree Park is the perfect place to do rock climbing, so I highly recommend to do rock climbing on your next trip to JT. The Climbing Life Guides and Nelson were very accommodating and friendly. Nelson helped me not only to get down the basics, but also coached me through some challenging climbs which I never imagined could be climbed and which made me want to take up rock climbing on a regular basis. I suggest doing rock climbing with Climbing Guides on your next trip to JT park

Date of experience: December 2017
Thank Maxim N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2017

Our family had a great time with The Climbing Life Guides in Joshua Tree this week. Although we consider ourselves to be somewhat adventurous, we had never rock climbed before and knew this was the thing to do in Joshua Tree. We searched Tripadvisor for a reputable company with great reviews and found Nelson and The Climbing Life Guides. The online booking process was easy and professional. On the morning of our excursion, we met our guide, Stephen, at Nelson’s house near the West entrance to Joshua Tree. He has converted part of his house/garage into a shop where his tours begin from. We were fitted with our hiking shoes, helmets, and harnesses. Then we loaded up and drove into the park. We opted to drive separately so that we could spend more time in the park when we are done. What I really liked about this tour was that Stephen completely catered the climb to our interests and experience. He listened to our desires and concerns and planned out a day that fit our family perfectly. Our boys are 11 and 14 and he was excellent with them. It’s hard to explain, but it was the perfect combination of positive encouragement and pushing a little to go just a bit further outside of our comfort zone. He was patient, funny and an all-around likable guy. As a mom who is a little afraid of heights, I felt like my family was in good hands and safe the entire time. We ended up in three different climbing spots, each different and interesting. Stephen also provided information about the desert, plants, and local habitat. I would highly recommend the Climbing Life Guides for your families rock climbing adventure in Joshua Tree.

Date of experience: November 2017
Thank OurEdventures
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2017

I hired the climbing life guides for 2 weeks of rock climbing in Joshua tree and it was an amazing experience!! Everything from the communication to our day out felt organized. My guides were all very experienced and I felt really safe with them. I even got to do some more challenging climbs which were great. Each day the guide took into account my energy level and the types of climbs I was liking and tailored the days climbing to it.

The guides were dependable and always showed up at our appointed start time. The owner Nelson answered all my questions quickly and took the time to walk me through more complex stuff. The company has insurance which I later found out NOT ALL companies in Jtree have that. I think that's pretty important given the sport.

I had an amazing time and would recommend them to anyone looking to have an amazing rock climbing adventure!

Date of experience: October 2017
Thank Stephanie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2017

Nelson is so professional and very experienced. My friend and I hired him for a half day of climbing and he found us a great spot and set up ropes for us to do 4 different routes. He was giving us tips throughout on our climbing and belaying, even basic stuff that we never realized we were doing wrong. In addition, at the end, I requested some teaching on self-rescue techniques and he went through a bunch of handy maneuvers.

Date of experience: October 2017
Thank Kristie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews