We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Really nice apartment near Joshua Tree N.P.”
other travelers have booked this property
Full 2nd story apartment with amazing desert views.  Your home away from homell
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Full 2nd story apartment with amazing desert views.  Your home away from homell
Your private sundeck awaits you.  Great for sunning during the day and stargazing at night. Northern view from deck
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
27 reviews
Full 2nd story apartment with amazing desert views.  Your home away from homell
Your private sundeck awaits you.  Great for sunning during the day and stargazing at night.
Northern view from deck
Southern view from deck
Comfortable queen size bed
Bedroom window faces south for views of JTNP
Two futon couches in living room fold out to double beds
Flat screen TV,  Dish network, DVD player, WIFI, movies, and books for your entertainment
Dining with a view seats 5 comfortably but 6 can fit
Full kitchen if you don't want to dine out
half bath upstairs
Ful bath downstairs with different colored towels so each guest can identify their towels
Guests park in covered parking under sundeck
The views are amazing.
Watching the sunset from the front yard
'Lois' our resident Desert Tortoise shows up in the Spring
The Cactus Patch
Cacti blooming
Sit around the firepit if it's not too windy for a fire
We have a beehive on the property, far from apartment and has a sign
Your hosts: Gayle and Tom
Without makeup
Just pull the BBQ outside and grill your dinner
We provide water bottles.  Just leave them on the sink and I clean and refill for next guest
Our home is next door to the apartment
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Joshua Tree, California

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 27 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
Adventure...
2 reviews
“Really nice apartment near Joshua Tree N.P.”
Reviewed December 28, 2017 for a stay in December 2017

This private apartment was a great place to stay while visiting Joshua Tree N.P. The love the owners have for their home clearly comes through. If you want to stay in a comfortable and clean place, without the unnecessary frills and extra costs of most vacation rentals, the Cactus Patch is for you.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Dec 29, 2017
Thank you so much for taking the time to write this review. We really appreciate that you felt the “love” that we want each guest to experience.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmen B
1 review
“Pleasant, Cozy and Welcoming”
Reviewed October 11, 2017 for a stay in August 2017

I am so happy we stayed at The Cactus Patch this summer on our trip to Joshua Tree. The views were breathtaking, and the room were cozy and welcoming. We got welcomed by cute little bunnies that hung around the Cactus Patch. Near by there were so many cute vintage shops and restaurants that we visited during our stay. Overall our stay was pleasant and I will definitely be visiting again very soon!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 12, 2017
Thank you Carmen! We really appreciate you taking the time to write a review. Looking forward to hosting you again!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yuxi H
1 review
“Great place !!!”
Reviewed May 30, 2017 for a stay in May 2017

Spend memorial weekend there, 5 of us passed joyful time. BBQ under sunset, super convenient location. We all love it :)

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 31, 2017
Thank you for choosing us for your JT stay!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kendall G
1 review
“Very Nice - VERY VERY clean.”
Reviewed February 21, 2017 for a stay in February 2017

Very Nice - VERY VERY clean. Great deck for watching the night sky!! I will stay here again during future visits to the ares.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 31, 2017
Thank you for choosing us for your JT stay. We look forward to hosting you again!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trek66934...
1 review
“Convenient desert hideaway”
Reviewed January 15, 2017 for a stay in November 2016

We spent Thanksgiving staying at the Cactus Patch and absolutely loved it. The owners set us up for a great stay, complete with a baggie of dried fruit from the property. The location can't be beat and Gayle and Tom were friendly, hospitable local hosts. Be sure to look for the hiking trail up the street that ventures into Joshua Tree National Park.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 16, 2017
Thank you so much for taking the time to write this review! We really enjoyed hosting you and are so happy that you enjoyed your stay.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
climbingp...
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect place to stay for our rock climbing holiday”
Reviewed January 4, 2017 for a stay in December 2016

The Cactus Patch is an easy drive (about 20 mins) to the Joshua Tree Entrance of the National Park (and to the wide range of climbing). Joshua Tree has a great number of local eateries - Pie for the People and Siam Thai were both enjoyable.

The Cactus Patch was the perfect base for our rock climbing holiday. We spent most of the time cooking for ourselves and the kitchen was stocked with what we needed to make a great meal. The little touches Gayle and Tom add make such a difference - providing water canisters ready filled in the fridge, a variety of tea bags, coffee and hot chocolate were much appreciated. Being able to use the washer/dryer was good too as it helped reduce the amount of clothes we need to pack (as our equipment took up a lot of space).

The views from the property are stunning - you can't wait to get into the park each morning. At night the sky is so clear you can see all the constellations.

We recommend the Cactus Patch for a stay in Joshua Tree - we miss being there!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 7, 2017
Thank you so much for choosing us for your JT experience! We absolutely loved hosting you and would love to see you both again!!!!!!!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David H
Los Angeles, California
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“Will definitely go back”
Reviewed November 1, 2016 for a stay in November 2016

The host was great, very nice, but also gave us space. The place is very clean and has all of the comforts of home! We went on a great hike close by. We had a great experience and will highly recommend it!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: clean and peaceful
Liked least: nothing
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 2, 2016
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We really appreciate feedback to help us ensure that our guests have the best possible experience here in Joshua Tree.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing