We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Amazing views and hospitality!”
other travelers have booked this property
Full 2nd story apartment with amazing desert views.  Your home away from homell
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Full 2nd story apartment with amazing desert views.  Your home away from homell
Your private sundeck awaits you.  Great for sunning during the day and stargazing at night. Northern view from deck
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
26 reviews
Full 2nd story apartment with amazing desert views.  Your home away from homell
Your private sundeck awaits you.  Great for sunning during the day and stargazing at night.
Northern view from deck
Southern view from deck
Comfortable queen size bed
Bedroom window faces south for views of JTNP
Two futon couches in living room fold out to double beds
Flat screen TV,  Dish network, DVD player, WIFI, movies, and books for your entertainment
Dining with a view seats 5 comfortably but 6 can fit
Full kitchen if you don't want to dine out
half bath upstairs
Ful bath downstairs with different colored towels so each guest can identify their towels
Guests park in covered parking under sundeck
The views are amazing.
Watching the sunset from the front yard
'Lois' our resident Desert Tortoise shows up in the Spring
The Cactus Patch
Cacti blooming
Sit around the firepit if it's not too windy for a fire
We have a beehive on the property, far from apartment and has a sign
Your hosts: Gayle and Tom
Without makeup
Just pull the BBQ outside and grill your dinner
We provide water bottles.  Just leave them on the sink and I clean and refill for next guest
Our home is next door to the apartment
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Joshua Tree, California

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 26 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
zoyadixon
Irvine, California
1 review
“Amazing views and hospitality!”
Reviewed May 1, 2016 for a stay in April 2016

My hubby and I, along with our 8-month old baby and miniature poodle, had an awesome getaway at the Cactus Patch! Gayle and Tom were lovely and hospitable. Location was amazing as it was a quick drive into Joshua Tree. The apartment had incredible views and while the clouds didn't allow for much star gazing last night, we still had a great time hanging out on the patio and enjoying the desert. Would absolutely recommend and would love to be back!

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 4, 2016
We thoroughly enjoyed hosting your family and would love to do it again!
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review and letting us know that you had a great experience. Happy Trails
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BoomerLad...
Richmond, California
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“One of the Most Welcoming Places We’re Ever Stayed”
Reviewed March 13, 2016 for a stay in March 2016

Tom and Gayle really love where they live and obviously want their guests to have a great experience, too. They have gone the whole nine yards to provide just about everything you could want or need. The apartment has a full kitchen stocked with an amazing array of condiments, lots of cooking equipment, nice dishes, glassware! Bed and futon are very comfy. In the living room there’s a large screen TV, movies and books. There are also guides to Joshua Tree National Park – and if you need info or suggestions, Tom and Gayle know the area well. Hiking sticks and umbrellas for shade. One and a half bathrooms with lots of towels, including beach towels if you want to lay out on the unit’s deck. BTW, the view from the private deck is wonderful – a great place to have breakfast and afternoon drinks, and do some serious stargazing. There were even air mattresses and blankets to keep us warm while we watched Jupiter rise. These two should get an award as Hosts of the Year. Did I mention they are also very nice folks? Thanks Tom and Gayle for giving us a real home for three days in your beautiful desert!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The Cactus Patch feels more like being in your own home than a rental. It's also quiet and very private!
Liked least: I liked everything! Just FYI, there are a number of stairs up to the apartment as well as two stairs between the living room and kitchen, so if you have trouble with stairs, this would not be the place for you unfortunately.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 15, 2016
Thank you so so much for taking the time to review The Cactus Patch. You let us know that we are right on track with our goal of ensuring that all of our guests have the best experience possible while staying with us. It makes my heart sing to hear that guests enjoy our amazing property. We loved hosting you and would love to see you again!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naomi E
1 review
“A wonderful place to stay!”
Reviewed January 21, 2016 for a stay in January 2016

The apartment was warm and welcoming as was the host. We loved the fully equipped kitchen, the outdoor grill and fire pit, and use of the washer/dryer. We took advantage of them all. It's a lovely property and super convenient to Joshua Tree National Park.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The fully equipped kitchen.
Liked least: Wifi connection not the best. Having to go downstairs to the full bath to shower.
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 17, 2016
Naomi, thank you so much for taking the time to review The Cactus Patch! We love it when our guests are a perfect match to our property and do our best to make their stay memorable. Hope to host you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kismet201...
Huntington Beach, California
1 review
“Great place ... Great Owners”
Reviewed October 3, 2015 for a stay in September 2015

We had an excellent 3 day stay at the Cactus Patch. The owners Tom and Gayle were fantastic hosts ... I would recommend this place to all.

How easy was it to book the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The owners
Liked least: All was good
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 4, 2015
Thank you so much for taking the time to post a review! We really enjoyed hosting y'all and would love to host you again. We especially enjoyed getting to know you and hearing some of your fascinating stories. Happy Trails.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JTK_SD
San Diego, California
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Great Stay in Joshua Tree”
Reviewed May 14, 2015 for a stay in May 2015

My husband and I had a great stay at the Cactus Patch in Joshua Tree. The owners were fantastic and so welcoming and their property is beautiful! The rental is very clean and really has everything you need for a successful and relaxing trip. The tips for things to do/see, hikes, and places to eat were spot on. The patio is also a great location for stargazing and setting up a telescope.

I definitely recommend the Cactus Patch and stay again if I am out that way again!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 22, 2015
Thank you so much for taking the time to write this lovely review! It let's us know that we are on track with giving our guests what they want in a vacation rental. Also, thank you for mentioning the telescope viewing on the deck. We really enjoyed you sharing that experience with us! We look forward to seeing you again!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TealMouse...
Downey, California
1 review
“The Best Patch in the Desert”
Reviewed March 30, 2015 for a stay in January 2015

We stayed back in January but I never got the chance to fill out a review online (I did leave comments in the guestbook though!). Loved this place to its core. As a soda fanatic, the Cactus Patch definitely hit a soft spot as soon I entered. The entire place is scenic and built to fit the preferences of any guest. If you are looking for a place to both relax and entertain underneath the desert stars, this is by far THE place to stay at.

As to our particular night, it couldn't have gone better. Gayle and Tom weren't in that night, but we certainly felt like we were still accommodated by the most gracious of hosts. The rooms are spacious, well decorated, clean, and filled with knick-knacks that provide comfort indoors and outdoors. I totally appreciated the binoculars, walking sticks, water bottles, and trail books provided. For the more "indoorsy" guests, there is a nice TV with a bunch of DVDs stacked next to it, comfy couches, and an adorable 50s-esque kitchen with modern sensibilities. Plus, there's a Monopoly board if you're looking for a reason to start an argument over your fellow guests.

In short, stay here. This place has everything you need.

Almost forgot to mention the dog outside. So cute and friendly!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The gear provided for those next day adventures
Liked least: There was nothing I did NOT like
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 18-24
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 9, 2015
Thank you, thank you, thank you! I am blown away when guests take the time to write a review of this caliber. Letting future guests know what to expect and what you liked about the property is priceless! We are so glad that you had a great experience at The Cactus Patch, as it let's us know that we are doing our job as hosts to make your vacation stay as carefree and enjoyable as possible. Thank you so much, Gayle and Tom
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sara V
Edmonds
2 reviews
“Great Accommodations and Hospitality”
Reviewed February 3, 2015 for a stay in January 2015

We stayed at the Cactus Patch for 3 days while doing a photo trip of Joshua Tree.
There were 3 of us and it was a comfortable size!
The place was extremely clean and cozy! it was fully stocked with towels, all the kitchenware we needed, blankets, pillows, coffee, and even fresh lemonade and dried fruits from Tom and Gayle's fruit trees.
Tom and Gayle were great. Tom recommended great places for food ,hiking and photo opps. They are very down to earth and great people!
We even got to have a nice fire in their fire pit while looking at the stars.
I would recommend the Cactus Patch to friends and we'll definitely stay there again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Tom and Gayle
Liked least: Older building, but great!
Traveling group: Friends
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 4, 2015
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review for us. It really does help us with making sure that we are meeting our guest's needs. We loved hosting y'all and definitely look forward to hosting you again!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing