We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellence and Comfort in the Most Hospitable Hotel in Joshua Tree area...I know because I tried all of them!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Safari Motor Inn - Joshua Tree
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Joshua Tree
Reviewed December 7, 2012

I have travelled 22,000 miles within the U.S. Since April and have thorough knowledge and experience in staying in hotels of all levels. I will tell you that the Safari, although retro, provides EXCELLENT quality beds, absolutely wonderful water pressure for hot showers and a perfect studio apartment sized room, complete with fridge, microwave and coffee pot. I never went without and the owners live on site and provide a wonderful SECURE home away from home. They have security cameras throughout the property and this affords an even better sense of security in these economic times. They monitor the cameras continually and as soon as you leave your room, it gets serviced! Amazing!

You might get fancier accomodations elsewhere for over $100 more per night, but I slept better here and had better wifi and all around service than I did down the road at Marriott.

I stayed repeatedly and will do so again. The service and hospitality is unparralelled and the location is the closest to Joshua Tree National Park and walking distance to fun galleries, shops, restaurants and fun!
This is not a boutique hotel but is the best, clean, down-to-earth, COMFORTABLE home away from home. I have endured numerous spinal surgeries and find their beds quite good. Five star rating for its corresponding affordable cost!

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bionicwonder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (137)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

61 - 67 of 137 reviews

Reviewed November 6, 2012

We stayed here one night in July when it was disgustingly hot. The owner greeted us with cold bottles of water! The rooms are dated, but clean and comfortable. We walked to the visitor's center and cafe for breakfast. It would be tough finding a hotel closer to the park! We'd probably stay here again, if only because the host was so nice and knowledgeable.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NEPAjtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

We stayed here for 3 nights in August 2012. it was very hot and we'd driven from Flagstaff. The owner said the pool wasn't available to use that day, which was very disappointing especially for the children who love swimming and it's a big pool! The next day it was still shut so my husband asked, the owner who was very sweet, cleaned it but it took ages and really should've been done earlier in the day. Our room was OK but the bathroom was dirty, and the air con was slow to cool the room. Location was OK and the owners were very helpful but there were better locations up the road and the drive to Joshua Tree National Park was still further than we thought. Would I stay there again? No unlikely, there were better located accomodations, and the lack of availability of the pool was a real downside, really the owner should have offered a reduced rate if he didn't want that facility to be available, particularly as it's a huge part of the advertising, and indeed the above photo!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank taliababe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glaciermelting, General Manager at Safari Motor Inn - Joshua Tree, responded to this reviewResponded November 6, 2012

Hi every one, Most hard part is to satisfy every one but we try.When she checked- in desert was flooded thunder storm in area few days. This outdoor Large pool (apx.48 thousand gallons) Take days to clean and usable when storms . She may be do not know there is auto system cleans but I use special 2nd machine for them to clean they can swim and they did . I know children they wants pool but mother nature ? No body has any control.I appreciate to them writing great review
and staying .

appreciate to reading,Ravi..

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2012

Small, family-run motel run by friendly Indian couple. They provide valuable information aout the local area. Rooms are clean and comfortable, and smoke free so you can breath easy. Comfortable beds. Quiet. Nice courtyard area to enjoy coffee in the morning.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sue S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2012

Coming from Las Vegas and heading to San Diego through Joshua tree national park, this was a perfect stop.
A motel the old fashioned way, kind and helpful manager. Prices most reasonable.
The pool was great for our bunch of teenagers after crossing this portion of the Mojave Desert.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 6voyageurs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2012

Selected this place based on trip advisor reviews and we were not disappointed. The hotel is not fancy,but the room was very clean. Parking right in front of your room. The swimming pool looked good.
Good service at check in, the attendant gave us maps and brochure for Joshua tree national park.
Very good prices in summer and about $25 more in winter. I would stay there again as it is very convenient to Joshua tree national park and close to one of the visitor centers.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sarracenia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2012

Used this small, one-story vintage motel as a base for exploring Joshua Tree Natl. Park. As a previous reviewer noted, it's unasuming on the outside, but clean and comfortable. The room was surprisingly large, with microwave, fridge, coffe-maker, king bed, round table w/ 2 chairs, and small TV, which worked well. Internet is free and seemed fast. The furniture shows the motels age, but again, the room was very clean. A/C worked well and the bed was very firm, but comfortable, The pool is large and appeared clean and well-maintained. The rooms have front and back doors. The back doors open into a patio leading to the pool. Subway and a couple of other eating places short way down the road. Gas station across the road. Good place for the traveler on a budget and very close to visitors center for Joshua Tree Natl. Park.

Room Tip: Rooms back away for main road quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank texasrepublichistory
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Joshua Tree
11.9 mi away
Best Western Gardens Hotel at Joshua Tree National Park
Best Western Gardens Hotel at Jo...
#4 of 12 in Twentynine Palms
645 reviews
7.1 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn & Suites
6.9 mi away
Best Western Joshua Tree Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.3 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Twentynine Palms-Joshua Tree National Park
Fairfield Inn & Suites Twentynin...
#2 of 12 in Twentynine Palms
438 reviews
13.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Twentynine Palms- Joshua Tree
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Twe...
#5 of 12 in Twentynine Palms
313 reviews
15.0 mi away
Sunnyvale Garden Suites Hotel - Joshua Tree National Park
Sunnyvale Garden Suites Hotel - ...
#8 of 12 in Twentynine Palms
280 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Safari Motor Inn - Joshua Tree? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Safari Motor Inn - Joshua Tree

Address: 61959-29 Palms Highway, Joshua Tree, CA 92252
Location: United States > California > California Desert > Joshua Tree
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Joshua Tree
Price Range: $57 - $94 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Safari Motor Inn - Joshua Tree 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
NEAREST Motel to JOSHUA TREE National Park w. Entrance & visitor center,(Only 1 block)LARGE POOL (summer). All Rooms are ground floor.FREE coffee & wifi in rooms. Friendly service.Free local town map for restaurants.Open 6.A.M. To 11.30 P.M.Arrangement for guests late night arrivals.We have 8 restaurants in walking distance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Safari Motor Inn - Joshua Tree reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Safari Motor Hotel Joshua Tree
Safari Hotel Joshua Tree
Safari Motel Joshua Tree

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing