We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, comfortable, and friendly”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Safari Motor Inn - Joshua Tree
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Joshua Tree
Reviewed November 4, 2012

Small, family-run motel run by friendly Indian couple. They provide valuable information aout the local area. Rooms are clean and comfortable, and smoke free so you can breath easy. Comfortable beds. Quiet. Nice courtyard area to enjoy coffee in the morning.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sue S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (137)
There are newer reviews for Safari Motor Inn - Joshua Tree
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

64 - 70 of 137 reviews

Reviewed September 25, 2012

Coming from Las Vegas and heading to San Diego through Joshua tree national park, this was a perfect stop.
A motel the old fashioned way, kind and helpful manager. Prices most reasonable.
The pool was great for our bunch of teenagers after crossing this portion of the Mojave Desert.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 6voyageurs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2012

Selected this place based on trip advisor reviews and we were not disappointed. The hotel is not fancy,but the room was very clean. Parking right in front of your room. The swimming pool looked good.
Good service at check in, the attendant gave us maps and brochure for Joshua tree national park.
Very good prices in summer and about $25 more in winter. I would stay there again as it is very convenient to Joshua tree national park and close to one of the visitor centers.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sarracenia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2012

Used this small, one-story vintage motel as a base for exploring Joshua Tree Natl. Park. As a previous reviewer noted, it's unasuming on the outside, but clean and comfortable. The room was surprisingly large, with microwave, fridge, coffe-maker, king bed, round table w/ 2 chairs, and small TV, which worked well. Internet is free and seemed fast. The furniture shows the motels age, but again, the room was very clean. A/C worked well and the bed was very firm, but comfortable, The pool is large and appeared clean and well-maintained. The rooms have front and back doors. The back doors open into a patio leading to the pool. Subway and a couple of other eating places short way down the road. Gas station across the road. Good place for the traveler on a budget and very close to visitors center for Joshua Tree Natl. Park.

Room Tip: Rooms back away for main road quieter.
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank texasrepublichistory
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2012

I stayed at the Safari Motor Inn for 2 nights to visit the Joshua Tree National Park. What stood out for me was the wonderful customer service by the Manager. I was offered a bottle of cold water on my arrival which was great as it was a hot day in Joshua Tree. He recommended many restaurants, helped me find a car wash and went out of his way to assist me. What was most helpful was that I had to drive to Los Angeles Airport when I left there and he printed out maps for me and suggested the best route and gave me one of his maps. (Thank you).
The room was very comfortable. It is not luxurious, but the bed is good and there is a fridge which is great. I didn't have a swim in the pool. From the outside the place doesn't look like much but I found it very good value and would stay here again. Very close to the entrance to Joshua Tree National Park.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RangerAmy111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2012

Booked this place last minute. It was in a perfect location right next to the Joshua Tree entrance, within the heart of the small town. You could walk to nearby restaurant and saloon. The room was nice with a fridge, microwave and cable TV. The air conditioning worked well (a definite plus). Although I didn't use the pool, it looked clean to me. Ravi the owner/manager was very accommodating and gave us free bottled water upon our entry! He was very nice and gave us tips on visiting the area. He even took our picture, and i'll be curious to see what he does with it when I visit back. I will definitely recommend this motel to anyone visiting Joshua Tree.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank j s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2012

Stayed here for 3 nights while hiking in Joshua Tree National Park. The room was basic, but clean and comfortable. The owner, Ravi, was so nice and helpful. He set us up with maps, restaurant suggestions, and extra pillows when we asked. He was even nice enough to call after we had checked out to let us know we had left a phone charger in the room. You can't beat the price or the location (right by the west entrance to the park). I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank boscovs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Joshua Tree
11.9 mi away
Best Western Gardens Hotel at Joshua Tree National Park
Best Western Gardens Hotel at Jo...
#4 of 12 in Twentynine Palms
632 reviews
6.9 mi away
Best Western Joshua Tree Hotel & Suites
7.1 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.3 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Twentynine Palms-Joshua Tree National Park
Fairfield Inn & Suites Twentynin...
#2 of 12 in Twentynine Palms
433 reviews
15.0 mi away
Sunnyvale Garden Suites Hotel - Joshua Tree National Park
Sunnyvale Garden Suites Hotel - ...
#8 of 12 in Twentynine Palms
279 reviews
10.5 mi away
Pioneertown Motel
Pioneertown Motel
#1 of 1 in Pioneertown
79 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Safari Motor Inn - Joshua Tree? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Safari Motor Inn - Joshua Tree

Address: 61959-29 Palms Highway, Joshua Tree, CA 92252
Location: United States > California > California Desert > Joshua Tree
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Joshua Tree
Price Range: $56 - $94 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Safari Motor Inn - Joshua Tree 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
NEAREST Motel to JOSHUA TREE National Park w. Entrance & visitor center,(Only 1 block)LARGE POOL (summer). All Rooms are ground floor.FREE coffee & wifi in rooms. Friendly service.Free local town map for restaurants.Open 6.A.M. To 11.30 P.M.Arrangement for guests late night arrivals.We have 8 restaurants in walking distance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Safari Motor Inn - Joshua Tree reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Safari Motor Hotel Joshua Tree
Safari Hotel Joshua Tree
Safari Motel Joshua Tree

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing