We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Safari Motor Inn - Joshua Tree
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Joshua Tree
Certificate of Excellence
Rockford, Illinois
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“great location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2012

I stayed there for over a week and had a good clean room very close to the park. fantastic value. owners very nice and friendly. Steve S.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank steve s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    54
    21
    5
    8
See reviews for
17
48
27
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Centennial, Colorado
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2012

We stayed in January to hike in the park. Very welcoming management with good restaurant information. Room was basic but very clean and great bed/shower. Slept well. Would definitely recommend and return ourselves.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Honda, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2012

All the motels in 29 Palms were "No Vacancy" the first time I stayed at the Safari. This was May of 2K10. But, I have stayed at inns in 29 Palms before. Totally overpriced and full of Marines in party mode. The Safari was not that way at all. I'm sure, however, that campers to Joshua Tree Park do show up by the van load and try to rent one room where they can all take a shower and only pay for one or two people. GET REAL !! This is a lovely, quiet place to stay with the best beds in the world. It has everything you need, including WiFi, and the nicest hosts ever at a very reasonable price. And, they will use any excuse to give you a discount. The only reason I did not give it the very top "excellent" review is because the first time I stayed there I got a kidney stone attack in the middle of the night. There was no phone in my room so I called an ambulance from my cell phone. I had to find my receipt in my papers to get the address!! But then, dut to the nature of the layout of the building, the ambulance was able to pull up right in front of my room. I certainly appreciated THAT !! Then, later when I had to take the bus back from the hospital emergency room in Yucca Valley, it stopped for me right across the street. Last year, Feb-March 2K11, when I stopped to stay for only one or two nights, I ended up staying for a week. And, enjoyed every minute of my stay.

Room Tip: The office only rents out every other room as they fill up so I have never had anyone on either side...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vicky B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxfordshire
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2012

We stayed here passing through Joshua Tree and found it to be a great stopover. Rooms clean and functional. Owner was really friendly and helpful, telling us where local eateries were. The cameras mentioned elsewhere are to keep parking area secure and are not in any way obtrusive. Good value too.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chris_cheese
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tujunga, CA
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2012

Basic accommodations but great location by the park entrance. We have visited twice and found the owner very helpful and considerate. We noticed this time it was freshly painted and our room had slightly unfashionable but clean furniture, serviceable appliances, somewhat noisy AC unit, but everything up to standards. It was actually nicer than I remembered and an excellent value. I went to move my car so the person parked next to me would have plenty of room to open their door - it turned out to be the owner's vehicle and he rushed out to move it to give ME lots of room. He seems to anticipate travelers' needs, providing maps to local restaurants and any info you need, so you don't feel isolated or weird staying on the highway. Joshua Tree can seem kind of windswept and lonely, but Safari Motor Inn helps you feel safe and in good hands.

Room Tip: We chose a room with two beds - it helps us to spread our stuff out, and noticed it was closer to th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SoCalRambler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Augusta, Maine
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2012

Our stay at the Safari Motor Inn exceeded our expectations and was a highlight of our visit to Joshua Tree National Park. The room was plain, but clean—and had a refrigerator and microwave. That was nice. The back door of our room opened onto a desert garden. Best of all was the warm hospitality of the owner, Ravi. We also enjoyed short walks to welcoming restaurants and shops—especially a great (and reasonably priced) Thai restaurant. We hope to come back in the spring to stay again and see the desert blooming.
Sally and Bob from Maine

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sally B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 23, 2011

I recently solo traveled to Joshua Tree National Park and with the hassles of flying these days, didn't want to bring all my camping equipment along for the ride. So I needed an inexpensive motel for just myself. My hope was for something safe, comfortable, clean, and with a modern-day convenience or two.

The Safari Motor Inn was just that. Located at the turn for the West Entrance to the park, the Inn was great for rushing off to morning photo shoots and coming back late after the sun had set. The room had everything I needed: free wifi with no additional fees or hang-ups, full TV cable and even a nice couch to kick back on in the evening with a book or a snack.

The owner, Ravi is a real gentleman who's happy to share information about the National Park as well as tips on where to food shop, dine, for find out about other activities within the small community of Joshua Tree. Ravi is extremely friendly and accommodating, which adds to the lure of this locally-owned, non-chain establishment. What the Safari Motor lacks in its exterior appearance it more than makes up for with friendly service and it's connection to the community, which I am sure you will not find in the nearby 'chains'. As a side I would also recommend the Thai and Indian restaurants in town. I never expected to eat anything other than fast food while down there. I was so happy to NOT see any fast food places and to be brave enough to try these other establishments - fantastic meals and service all around.

Leave the Best Western behind. Don't skimp on taking a Motel 6. Support local business and enjoy the conveniences of the Safari Motor Inn. I did and I have no regrets!

Jason Tand
Portland, Oregon

Room Tip: Ask for the couch / extra chair rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank scudderslane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Joshua Tree
6.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN Joshua Tree Hotel & Suites
11.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN Gardens Hotel at Joshua Tree National Park
BEST WESTERN Gardens Hotel at Jo...
#3 of 11 in Twentynine Palms
4.0 of 5 bubbles 545 reviews
7.1 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.3 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Twentynine Palms-Joshua Tree National Park
Fairfield Inn & Suites Twentynin...
#1 of 11 in Twentynine Palms
4.5 of 5 bubbles 404 reviews
14.1 mi away
9 Palms Inn
9 Palms Inn
#9 of 11 in Twentynine Palms
4.0 of 5 bubbles 101 reviews
10.5 mi away
Pioneertown Motel
Pioneertown Motel
#1 of 1 in Pioneertown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 71 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Safari Motor Inn - Joshua Tree? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Safari Motor Inn - Joshua Tree

Property: Safari Motor Inn - Joshua Tree
Address: 61959-29 Palms Highway, Joshua Tree, CA 92252
Location: United States > California > California Desert > Joshua Tree
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Joshua Tree
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
NEAREST Motel to JOSHUA TREE National Park w. Entrance & visitor center,(Only 1 block)LARGE POOL (summer). All Rooms are ground floor.FREE coffee & wifi in rooms. Friendly service.Free local town map for restaurants.Open 6.A.M. To 11.30 P.M.Arrangement for guests late night arrivals.We have 8 restaurants in walking distance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Safari Motor Inn - Joshua Tree reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Safari Motor Hotel Joshua Tree
Safari Hotel Joshua Tree
Safari Motel Joshua Tree

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing